I know that stacking advantages (not literal advantage) is for the most part prohibited, but I'm curious, with rules as written, how this particular case would go...
I am playing a Warforged Barbarian Berserker, getting close to Relentless Rage capability, and I'm wondering how that would stack with the magic item the Docent, and its life support feature.
Suppose I don't make my constitution check for Relentless Rage, and go to zero hit points Would I then immediately get a chance to be stabilized by the Life Support feature? Here is the description:
Life Support. Whenever you end your turn with 0 hit points, the docent can make a Wisdom (Medicine) check with a +6 bonus. If this check succeeds, the docent stabilizes you.
I know the Docent doesn't get its own turn, whether this would sway the answer one way or the other.
This seems like a rare case where RAW, as far as I can tell, may not be clear-cut.
Thanks in advance, for any answers!
*edit* I am thinking this suggests you would get both chances: *Whenever you end your turn* with 0 hit points
So, as soon as you go to zero, at whatever point, you get the Relentless Rage check, and then when your turn ends, you would get the Docent's Life Support wisdom check. So maybe rules as written prevail again?! lol
I know that stacking advantages (not literal advantage) is for the most part prohibited, but I'm curious, with rules as written, how this particular case would go...
I am playing a Warforged Barbarian Berserker, getting close to Relentless Rage capability, and I'm wondering how that would stack with the magic item the Docent, and its life support feature.
Suppose I don't make my constitution check for Relentless Rage, and go to zero hit points Would I then immediately get a chance to be stabilized by the Life Support feature? Here is the description:
Life Support. Whenever you end your turn with 0 hit points, the docent can make a Wisdom (Medicine) check with a +6 bonus. If this check succeeds, the docent stabilizes you.
I know the Docent doesn't get its own turn, whether this would sway the answer one way or the other.
This seems like a rare case where RAW, as far as I can tell, may not be clear-cut.
Thanks in advance, for any answers!
*edit* I am thinking this suggests you would get both chances: *Whenever you end your turn* with 0 hit points
So, as soon as you go to zero, at whatever point, you get the Relentless Rage check, and then when your turn ends, you would get the Docent's Life Support wisdom check. So maybe rules as written prevail again?! lol
Please share any thoughts...
Both of these things could apply at (almost) the same time. Relentless Rage happens when you drop to 0 HP, and the Docent thing happens when you end your turn with 0 HP. Whether the Docent has a turn or not is not relevant, since its effect happens at the end of your turn.
So, it's going to depend on whether you make the save for Relentless Rage. If you fail, and you still have 0 HP by the time it's your turn again, then the Docent thing triggers at the end of your turn and potentially stabilizes you (note that "stabilized" means "still unconscious, but not making death saves", which is a less helpful effect than Relentless Rage). If you succeed on the save for Relentless Rage, and you make it to your next turn without getting knocked down again, then Docent won't trigger because you won't be at 0 HP anymore at the end of your turn. Note that you're more likely to get there with the 2024 version of Relentless Rage, since it gives you a lot more HP back than the old version.
Also: "I know that stacking advantages (not literal advantage) is for the most part prohibited." This is very much not true. There are many places in D&D rules where similar effects can stack, often explicitly by design.
The no stacking thing is for things that have the same name - they don't generally stack effects if the source has the same name but different source. For example, Extra Attack (x1) from Fighter does not stack with Extra Attack (x1) from Paladin.
These are from different names features from different sources, and so generally that stacks.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
So, as soon as you go to zero, at whatever point, you get the Relentless Rage check, and then when your turn ends, you would get the Docent's Life Support wisdom check. So maybe rules as written prevail again?! lol
This seems generally correct. The only time there might be a situation where both happen at the same time would be an effect that damages you at the end of your turn (if you were standing next to a wall of fire, for instance), and even then the guideline from XGtE would be to let the player choose which feature they wanted to kick in first. So you could still make your Relentless Rage check, and then use the Docent as a backup if that doesn't succeed in bumping your HP
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Also: "I know that stacking advantages (not literal advantage) is for the most part prohibited." This is very much not true. There are many places in D&D rules where similar effects can stack, often explicitly by design.
Thanks all you guys, for some definitive answers. Don't know why I said this lol I think I should've just stated that you can't stack advantage on D20 tests!
Thank you again...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I know that stacking advantages (not literal advantage) is for the most part prohibited, but I'm curious, with rules as written, how this particular case would go...
I am playing a Warforged Barbarian Berserker, getting close to Relentless Rage capability, and I'm wondering how that would stack with the magic item the Docent, and its life support feature.
Suppose I don't make my constitution check for Relentless Rage, and go to zero hit points Would I then immediately get a chance to be stabilized by the Life Support feature? Here is the description:
Life Support. Whenever you end your turn with 0 hit points, the docent can make a Wisdom (Medicine) check with a +6 bonus. If this check succeeds, the docent stabilizes you.
I know the Docent doesn't get its own turn, whether this would sway the answer one way or the other.
This seems like a rare case where RAW, as far as I can tell, may not be clear-cut.
Thanks in advance, for any answers!
*edit* I am thinking this suggests you would get both chances: *Whenever you end your turn* with 0 hit points
So, as soon as you go to zero, at whatever point, you get the Relentless Rage check, and then when your turn ends, you would get the Docent's Life Support wisdom check. So maybe rules as written prevail again?! lol
Please share any thoughts...
Both of these things could apply at (almost) the same time. Relentless Rage happens when you drop to 0 HP, and the Docent thing happens when you end your turn with 0 HP. Whether the Docent has a turn or not is not relevant, since its effect happens at the end of your turn.
So, it's going to depend on whether you make the save for Relentless Rage. If you fail, and you still have 0 HP by the time it's your turn again, then the Docent thing triggers at the end of your turn and potentially stabilizes you (note that "stabilized" means "still unconscious, but not making death saves", which is a less helpful effect than Relentless Rage). If you succeed on the save for Relentless Rage, and you make it to your next turn without getting knocked down again, then Docent won't trigger because you won't be at 0 HP anymore at the end of your turn. Note that you're more likely to get there with the 2024 version of Relentless Rage, since it gives you a lot more HP back than the old version.
Also: "I know that stacking advantages (not literal advantage) is for the most part prohibited." This is very much not true. There are many places in D&D rules where similar effects can stack, often explicitly by design.
pronouns: he/she/they
The no stacking thing is for things that have the same name - they don't generally stack effects if the source has the same name but different source. For example, Extra Attack (x1) from Fighter does not stack with Extra Attack (x1) from Paladin.
These are from different names features from different sources, and so generally that stacks.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
This seems generally correct. The only time there might be a situation where both happen at the same time would be an effect that damages you at the end of your turn (if you were standing next to a wall of fire, for instance), and even then the guideline from XGtE would be to let the player choose which feature they wanted to kick in first. So you could still make your Relentless Rage check, and then use the Docent as a backup if that doesn't succeed in bumping your HP
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Thanks all you guys, for some definitive answers. Don't know why I said this lol I think I should've just stated that you can't stack advantage on D20 tests!
Thank you again...