I can not find anything that says a familiar can or can't attune magic items provided it meets the attunement requirements. Anybody seen anything in the rules or an official answer anywhere. Here is the only rule I could find that addresses who can attune items. Seems like an intelligent familiar is a creature. Thoughts?
"Some magic items require a creature to form a bond—called Attunement—with them before the creature can use an item’s magical properties."
This is an ask your DM situation. There’s lots of ways to handle it, Yes and No being the most obvious, but I’ve also heard of yes, but it uses one of your attunement slots. Probably there’s others. I have my own opinion, but I also think it’s enough of a gray area that it’s worth getting a ruling for your table.
There’s also the question of what happens if you put it in the pocket dimension. By RAW, the ring would stay behind, but does it break the attunement is something else to discuss.
As a DM, if a player wanted to do this. I would say no to the Summoned creature, but I would do something different.
As long as the Summoned Creature was technically under the control of the PC (not the player but the PC) then anything the creature had on them would be in the Players inventory, and would have to be attuned by the player. Could the Summon Use it, maybe depends on what it is. As this question seems like a way to gain a mechanical advantage, beyond the intent of the rules.
So my way of dealing with this, the player would have to make a second character sheet this would be the sheet for the summons, it would count as it's own player character, and I would expect the player to Roleplay them separately, but with a master and servant dynamic.
I can not find anything that says a familiar can or can't attune magic items provided it meets the attunement requirements. Anybody seen anything in the rules or an official answer anywhere. Here is the only rule I could find that addresses who can attune items. Seems like an intelligent familiar is a creature. Thoughts?
"Some magic items require a creature to form a bond—called Attunement—with them before the creature can use an item’s magical properties."
Michael Pierce
This is an ask your DM situation. There’s lots of ways to handle it, Yes and No being the most obvious, but I’ve also heard of yes, but it uses one of your attunement slots. Probably there’s others. I have my own opinion, but I also think it’s enough of a gray area that it’s worth getting a ruling for your table.
There’s also the question of what happens if you put it in the pocket dimension. By RAW, the ring would stay behind, but does it break the attunement is something else to discuss.
Thanks I had not thought of the pocket dimension breaking the attunement.
Michael Pierce
As a DM, if a player wanted to do this. I would say no to the Summoned creature, but I would do something different.
As long as the Summoned Creature was technically under the control of the PC (not the player but the PC) then anything the creature had on them would be in the Players inventory, and would have to be attuned by the player. Could the Summon Use it, maybe depends on what it is. As this question seems like a way to gain a mechanical advantage, beyond the intent of the rules.
So my way of dealing with this, the player would have to make a second character sheet this would be the sheet for the summons, it would count as it's own player character, and I would expect the player to Roleplay them separately, but with a master and servant dynamic.
For an Imp, a Small Tiefling works well.