I am running a scenario where nilbogs are guarding a treasure. I am not making this a straight-up fight because, honestly, I don't think my guys could win.
The nilbogs have a reaction called "Reversal of Fortune" that allows them to "reduce the damage to 0 and recover 3 hit points." If this is a reaction that they can take...Aren't they invincible? How would one go about harming them if they can always reduce the damage to zero and heal? Either I don't understand the mechanics of a reaction, or nilbogs have to be killed in one shot so that they can't react, maybe.
This is just a theory question, but I am interested and want to make sure I understand the mechanic.
One PC hits it. Nilbog uses its reaction to reduce damage to 0 and heals 3 hp.
Second PC hits it. Nilbog goes ouch.
Though I would worry that (my) players would not work out what's going on and assume nilbogs are invulnerable unless I made it clear what was going on. So personally, after the first attack against a nilbog, i would say something "out of character" like: "The nilbog uses it's reaction to use it's Reversal of Fortune ability to negate the damage".
Of course, if the players decide to spread out and each attack one nilbog then they're going to be in trouble! Hopefully they will realise the whole reaction thing and change tactics.
Reactions are a special type of ability that can be used once per rourd, recharging at the beginning of that character’s or NPC’s turn. Because of the limited usage, this reaction can only be used to nullify damage once per round.
They are annoying to kill - they have a static trait that can remove someone’s ability to attack them via charm, inflict disadvantage, hide or disengage as a bonus action to avoid the party, and the nullification of damage allows them to further avoid harm if someone does manage to bypass those other two defenses. That said, they also have low HP, so all the party really needs is to get two people to land a hit in a single round.
I see! I thought reactions could be used each time someone landed a hit, but it is only once per round of initiative. That is a really important distinction. Thank you!
I get it. Yeah, I planned to use these guys as guards because they can cast Tasha's Hideous Laughter, disengage and hide, and otherwise just be a nuisance. My goal wasn't to create a situation where they have to be killed as much as outsmarted or nullified somehow. Thank you for your feedback!
I see! I thought reactions could be used each time someone landed a hit, but it is only once per round of initiative. That is a really important distinction. Thank you!
Strictly speaking, the way it works is that once you use your reaction, you can't use it again until the start of your next turn. This means that a Nilbog might get to use that reaction twice in a round if its turn falls between the turns of two players who both attack it. But it's not going to be able to use it on every single incoming attack ever.
It's also worth noting that every reaction ability is competing for that same resource, so for instance if they make an opportunity attack, they can't use that special reaction until the start of their next turn (because opportunity attacks also use a reaction).
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty. Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers; Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas. Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am running a scenario where nilbogs are guarding a treasure. I am not making this a straight-up fight because, honestly, I don't think my guys could win.
The nilbogs have a reaction called "Reversal of Fortune" that allows them to "reduce the damage to 0 and recover 3 hit points." If this is a reaction that they can take...Aren't they invincible? How would one go about harming them if they can always reduce the damage to zero and heal? Either I don't understand the mechanics of a reaction, or nilbogs have to be killed in one shot so that they can't react, maybe.
This is just a theory question, but I am interested and want to make sure I understand the mechanic.
Thanks!
You only get one reaction a round.
One PC hits it. Nilbog uses its reaction to reduce damage to 0 and heals 3 hp.
Second PC hits it. Nilbog goes ouch.
Though I would worry that (my) players would not work out what's going on and assume nilbogs are invulnerable unless I made it clear what was going on. So personally, after the first attack against a nilbog, i would say something "out of character" like: "The nilbog uses it's reaction to use it's Reversal of Fortune ability to negate the damage".
Of course, if the players decide to spread out and each attack one nilbog then they're going to be in trouble! Hopefully they will realise the whole reaction thing and change tactics.
Reactions are a special type of ability that can be used once per rourd, recharging at the beginning of that character’s or NPC’s turn. Because of the limited usage, this reaction can only be used to nullify damage once per round.
They are annoying to kill - they have a static trait that can remove someone’s ability to attack them via charm, inflict disadvantage, hide or disengage as a bonus action to avoid the party, and the nullification of damage allows them to further avoid harm if someone does manage to bypass those other two defenses. That said, they also have low HP, so all the party really needs is to get two people to land a hit in a single round.
I see! I thought reactions could be used each time someone landed a hit, but it is only once per round of initiative. That is a really important distinction. Thank you!
I get it. Yeah, I planned to use these guys as guards because they can cast Tasha's Hideous Laughter, disengage and hide, and otherwise just be a nuisance. My goal wasn't to create a situation where they have to be killed as much as outsmarted or nullified somehow. Thank you for your feedback!
Strictly speaking, the way it works is that once you use your reaction, you can't use it again until the start of your next turn. This means that a Nilbog might get to use that reaction twice in a round if its turn falls between the turns of two players who both attack it. But it's not going to be able to use it on every single incoming attack ever.
It's also worth noting that every reaction ability is competing for that same resource, so for instance if they make an opportunity attack, they can't use that special reaction until the start of their next turn (because opportunity attacks also use a reaction).
pronouns: he/she/they
Greetings MrPaynegames,
In case you wanted to see the actual description for a Reaction, I thought I'd link it :)
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dnd/phb-2024/rules-glossary#Reaction
Cheers!
Breathe, dragons; sing of the First World, forged out of chaos and painted with beauty.
Sing of Bahamut, the Platinum, molding the shape of the mountains and rivers;
Sing too of Chromatic Tiamat, painting all over the infinite canvas.
Partnered, they woke in the darkness; partnered, they labored in acts of creation.