Thrown property says you can draw the weapon as part of the attack. So handaxe (light,thrown) allows you to throw attack action. Light allows you to attack with a second light weapon (another handaxe) as a bonus action. Can you draw both and throw them in the same turn? Even though if using them as melee you can only draw one on a turn?
"If a weapon has the Thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack, and you can draw that weapon as part of the attack"
The thrown property says you can draw a weapon as part of making a ranged attack with it, so you can, no matter how many weapons you can throw in a turn. (With light weapons, nick mastery, and the dual wielder feat, a 20th-level fighter using an action surge can throw ten.)
However, you can draw more than one non-thrown weapon per turn. Your default object interaction allows you to draw or sheath one, but there's also the Attack Action, which says:
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
So each attack you make as part of the attack action gives you one weapon interaction. (Bonus action attacks do not.)
If you're wielding a light weapon to start, you can attack and also draw a second weapon, then use it to make the bonus acton attack.
If you have no weapons in hand, your default object interaction lets you draw one, and then the attack action lets you draw the other, ready for the bonus action attack.
If you're using the Nick mastery to make the Light attack, you can draw both as part of the Attack action, leaving your bonus action and default object interaction still free.
(There are more complicated things that are possible with this rule, but they tend toward the silly.)
There is nothing that prevents using a 2nd thrown weapon as the light bonus action and there is nothing that prevents it from benefiting from the Nick property either, of the four Nick weapons, two of them have the thrown property, Dagger and Light Hammer.
This then begs the question, can you also throw a weapon as part of Dual Wielder, it specifies that the attack must be made with a melee weapon but both Dagger and Light Hammer are melee weapons with the thrown property. This one could be ruled either way, does a thrown melee weapon still count as a melee weapon or does it now count as a ranged weapon? It's a bit unclear in the rules.
There is a distinction made between thrown melee weapons and thrown non-melee weapons in that the former uses the ability modifier of making a melee attack for the thrown weapon attack but this does not entirely answer the question.
A melee weapon is one used in melee, a ranged weapon is one used at range - regardless of how they were intended to be used. Throwing a table leg is a ranged attack with a ranged weapon (because you threw it).
Also, the ability to draw or sheathe ONE weapon as a part of the Attack Action does not mean you can draw or sheathe one weapon every time you make an attack. The Extra Attack ability allows you to attack more than once with an Attack Action, but it is still only one Attack Action.
A 5th level fighter can draw or sheathe ONE weapon as a part of their Attack Action (despite getting two attacks with that Attack Action). They can use their object interact to draw or sheathe a second if they want. The idea that one can draw/sheathe 3 weapons (11th level ftr) as a function of a single Attack Action is not correct. Other abilities do allow you to add more (thrown property allows you to draw as you throw each weapon), etc. But the Attack Action only allows you ONE per ACTION (not attack).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
This then begs the question, can you also throw a weapon as part of Dual Wielder, it specifies that the attack must be made with a melee weapon but both Dagger and Light Hammer are melee weapons with the thrown property. This one could be ruled either way, does a thrown melee weapon still count as a melee weapon or does it now count as a ranged weapon? It's a bit unclear in the rules.
There is a distinction made between thrown melee weapons and thrown non-melee weapons in that the former uses the ability modifier of making a melee attack for the thrown weapon attack but this does not entirely answer the question.
I admit I forgot that part of the feat, but I think it's clear that a thrown Melee weapon remains a Melee weapon. The thrown property says:
If the weapon is a Melee weapon, use the same ability modifier for the attack and damage rolls that you use for a melee attack with that weapon.
At the minimum, that pretty strongly implies that you're making a ranged attack with a Melee weapon, rather than the Melee weapon now being a Ranged weapon.
The requirement for a Melee weapon in DW excludes exactly one weapon: The hand crossbow. Would they add this requirement just to limit Crossbow Expert characters? Based on the amount of carefully constructed fussiness in the two-weapon combat rules, I have to say they would. (Especially since CE includes a damage bonus for the Light property attack, but not the DW attack.)
Also, the ability to draw or sheathe ONE weapon as a part of the Attack Action does not mean you can draw or sheathe one weapon every time you make an attack. The Extra Attack ability allows you to attack more than once with an Attack Action, but it is still only one Attack Action.
A 5th level fighter can draw or sheathe ONE weapon as a part of their Attack Action (despite getting two attacks with that Attack Action). They can use their object interact to draw or sheathe a second if they want. The idea that one can draw/sheathe 3 weapons (11th level ftr) as a function of a single Attack Action is not correct. Other abilities do allow you to add more (thrown property allows you to draw as you throw each weapon), etc. But the Attack Action only allows you ONE per ACTION (not attack).
That's not what the Attack action says:
You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action.
If you have extra attacks, "when you make an attack as part of this action" becomes true more than once. Therefore, you can get the weapon interaction more than once.
There is nothing that prevents using a 2nd thrown weapon as the light bonus action and there is nothing that prevents it from benefiting from the Nick property either, of the four Nick weapons, two of them have the thrown property, Dagger and Light Hammer.
This then begs the question, can you also throw a weapon as part of Dual Wielder, it specifies that the attack must be made with a melee weapon but both Dagger and Light Hammer are melee weapons with the thrown property. This one could be ruled either way, does a thrown melee weapon still count as a melee weapon or does it now count as a ranged weapon? It's a bit unclear in the rules.
There is a distinction made between thrown melee weapons and thrown non-melee weapons in that the former uses the ability modifier of making a melee attack for the thrown weapon attack but this does not entirely answer the question.
Reading as it is, it sounds like the other weapon, a melee weapon, is meant to be used as a melee weapon and not as a ranged weapon. Otherwise, why would the developer specifically use the word "melee"? 🤔
There is nothing that prevents using a 2nd thrown weapon as the light bonus action and there is nothing that prevents it from benefiting from the Nick property either, of the four Nick weapons, two of them have the thrown property, Dagger and Light Hammer.
This then begs the question, can you also throw a weapon as part of Dual Wielder, it specifies that the attack must be made with a melee weapon but both Dagger and Light Hammer are melee weapons with the thrown property. This one could be ruled either way, does a thrown melee weapon still count as a melee weapon or does it now count as a ranged weapon? It's a bit unclear in the rules.
There is a distinction made between thrown melee weapons and thrown non-melee weapons in that the former uses the ability modifier of making a melee attack for the thrown weapon attack but this does not entirely answer the question.
Reading as it is, it sounds like the other weapon, a melee weapon, is meant to be used as a melee weapon and not as a ranged weapon. Otherwise, why would the developer specifically use the word "melee"? 🤔
Quite likely to exclude the hand crossbow.
Melee vs ranged is a fixed weapon type. Your dagger isn't a Ranged weapon when you throw it. It's a Melee weapon that you're making a ranged attack with
There is nothing that prevents using a 2nd thrown weapon as the light bonus action and there is nothing that prevents it from benefiting from the Nick property either, of the four Nick weapons, two of them have the thrown property, Dagger and Light Hammer.
This then begs the question, can you also throw a weapon as part of Dual Wielder, it specifies that the attack must be made with a melee weapon but both Dagger and Light Hammer are melee weapons with the thrown property. This one could be ruled either way, does a thrown melee weapon still count as a melee weapon or does it now count as a ranged weapon? It's a bit unclear in the rules.
There is a distinction made between thrown melee weapons and thrown non-melee weapons in that the former uses the ability modifier of making a melee attack for the thrown weapon attack but this does not entirely answer the question.
Reading as it is, it sounds like the other weapon, a melee weapon, is meant to be used as a melee weapon and not as a ranged weapon. Otherwise, why would the developer specifically use the word "melee"? 🤔
Quite likely to exclude the hand crossbow.
Melee vs ranged is a fixed weapon type. Your dagger isn't a Ranged weapon when you throw it. It's a Melee weapon that you're making a ranged attack with
Yeah that's my point. That's just muddying the waters of something straightforward. I keep seeing stuff like this coming from Youtube. For example: People muddying the waters that Opportunity attacks can be used against friendlies (not as an attack but for some other purpose). There was another, but i can't remember off the bat. People just want to add in stuff that's not there.
Melee vs ranged is a fixed weapon type. Your dagger isn't a Ranged weapon when you throw it. It's a Melee weapon that you're making a ranged attack with
Yeah that's my point. That's just muddying the waters of something straightforward. I keep seeing stuff like this coming from Youtube. For example: People muddying the waters that Opportunity attacks can be used against friendlies (not as an attack but for some other purpose). There was another, but i can't remember off the bat. People just want to add in stuff that's not there.
The reason they want to use opportunity attacks on an ally is due to some class features that allow casting as part of or instead of an attack when making an opportunity attack.
Meaning, on your ally turn, they move past you, you trade your OA for a spell. Then cast a buff on them without having to use your own action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Thrown property says you can draw the weapon as part of the attack. So handaxe (light,thrown) allows you to throw attack action. Light allows you to attack with a second light weapon (another handaxe) as a bonus action. Can you draw both and throw them in the same turn? Even though if using them as melee you can only draw one on a turn?
"If a weapon has the Thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack, and you can draw that weapon as part of the attack"
The thrown property says you can draw a weapon as part of making a ranged attack with it, so you can, no matter how many weapons you can throw in a turn. (With light weapons, nick mastery, and the dual wielder feat, a 20th-level fighter using an action surge can throw ten.)
However, you can draw more than one non-thrown weapon per turn. Your default object interaction allows you to draw or sheath one, but there's also the Attack Action, which says:
So each attack you make as part of the attack action gives you one weapon interaction. (Bonus action attacks do not.)
If you're wielding a light weapon to start, you can attack and also draw a second weapon, then use it to make the bonus acton attack.
If you have no weapons in hand, your default object interaction lets you draw one, and then the attack action lets you draw the other, ready for the bonus action attack.
If you're using the Nick mastery to make the Light attack, you can draw both as part of the Attack action, leaving your bonus action and default object interaction still free.
(There are more complicated things that are possible with this rule, but they tend toward the silly.)
There is nothing that prevents using a 2nd thrown weapon as the light bonus action and there is nothing that prevents it from benefiting from the Nick property either, of the four Nick weapons, two of them have the thrown property, Dagger and Light Hammer.
This then begs the question, can you also throw a weapon as part of Dual Wielder, it specifies that the attack must be made with a melee weapon but both Dagger and Light Hammer are melee weapons with the thrown property. This one could be ruled either way, does a thrown melee weapon still count as a melee weapon or does it now count as a ranged weapon? It's a bit unclear in the rules.
There is a distinction made between thrown melee weapons and thrown non-melee weapons in that the former uses the ability modifier of making a melee attack for the thrown weapon attack but this does not entirely answer the question.
A melee weapon is one used in melee, a ranged weapon is one used at range - regardless of how they were intended to be used. Throwing a table leg is a ranged attack with a ranged weapon (because you threw it).
Also, the ability to draw or sheathe ONE weapon as a part of the Attack Action does not mean you can draw or sheathe one weapon every time you make an attack. The Extra Attack ability allows you to attack more than once with an Attack Action, but it is still only one Attack Action.
A 5th level fighter can draw or sheathe ONE weapon as a part of their Attack Action (despite getting two attacks with that Attack Action). They can use their object interact to draw or sheathe a second if they want. The idea that one can draw/sheathe 3 weapons (11th level ftr) as a function of a single Attack Action is not correct. Other abilities do allow you to add more (thrown property allows you to draw as you throw each weapon), etc. But the Attack Action only allows you ONE per ACTION (not attack).
Playing D&D since 1982
Have played every version of the game since Basic (Red Box Set), except that abomination sometimes called 4e.
I admit I forgot that part of the feat, but I think it's clear that a thrown Melee weapon remains a Melee weapon. The thrown property says:
At the minimum, that pretty strongly implies that you're making a ranged attack with a Melee weapon, rather than the Melee weapon now being a Ranged weapon.
The requirement for a Melee weapon in DW excludes exactly one weapon: The hand crossbow. Would they add this requirement just to limit Crossbow Expert characters? Based on the amount of carefully constructed fussiness in the two-weapon combat rules, I have to say they would. (Especially since CE includes a damage bonus for the Light property attack, but not the DW attack.)
That's not what the Attack action says:
If you have extra attacks, "when you make an attack as part of this action" becomes true more than once. Therefore, you can get the weapon interaction more than once.
If you really want to get into this, there are many threads where it's already been gone at in excruciating detail, and we should take it there.
Reading as it is, it sounds like the other weapon, a melee weapon, is meant to be used as a melee weapon and not as a ranged weapon. Otherwise, why would the developer specifically use the word "melee"? 🤔
Quite likely to exclude the hand crossbow.
Melee vs ranged is a fixed weapon type. Your dagger isn't a Ranged weapon when you throw it. It's a Melee weapon that you're making a ranged attack with
Yeah that's my point. That's just muddying the waters of something straightforward. I keep seeing stuff like this coming from Youtube. For example: People muddying the waters that Opportunity attacks can be used against friendlies (not as an attack but for some other purpose). There was another, but i can't remember off the bat. People just want to add in stuff that's not there.
The reason they want to use opportunity attacks on an ally is due to some class features that allow casting as part of or instead of an attack when making an opportunity attack.
Meaning, on your ally turn, they move past you, you trade your OA for a spell. Then cast a buff on them without having to use your own action.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale