I always liked Boomerangs since they are funny and have good utility, so of course when I started playing I wanted to see if there's any pre-existing guidelines for them.
From what I can tell, a regular boomerang is not a pre-existing weapon in any official book, a few sites have it listed, and here it seems to be a toned down version of the Storm Boomerang.
From the sites I read, some have the Light property on it some don't, so I wanted to ask if there's any specific balance reason why a boomerang wouldn't have the Light property ( to try and speak with the DM to homebrew it ).
Ah, so dual wielding a Hand Crossbow for example wouldn't be possible, despite it being listed as light?
(in the same vein, If a boomerang were to be light, you could not weild two )
You can wield two if you want, but you normally can’t attack with both in the same turn like you can with melee weapons. Specific rules might get around that, like a Fighter’s Action Surge, but otherwise it’s not allowed. The Two-Weapon Fighting rule specifically mentions melee weapons, and there is no ranged equivalent for TWF.
Thank you very much! That's pretty much all I needed to know! My only confusion was really from the thrown property mentioned in the description of Two-Weapon Fighting.
I wanted to do boomerangs as a weapon back in 2nd edition, so I looked them up. Basically the aborigines used 2 types - a lighter one to throw and return, to flush out the game, and a heavier one for the damage. IIRC the heavier one was not built to return. I would probably do a boomerang - light and a boomerang - heavy, and do 1d4 and 1d6 for damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I always liked Boomerangs since they are funny and have good utility, so of course when I started playing I wanted to see if there's any pre-existing guidelines for them.
From what I can tell, a regular boomerang is not a pre-existing weapon in any official book, a few sites have it listed, and here it seems to be a toned down version of the Storm Boomerang.
From the sites I read, some have the Light property on it some don't, so I wanted to ask if there's any specific balance reason why a boomerang wouldn't have the Light property ( to try and speak with the DM to homebrew it ).
The Light property is only relevant to melee weapons.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Beyond just has it listed as a simple range weapon blunt doing 1d4 and returning on a miss. I have no problem with this.
No Gaming is Better than Bad Gaming.
Ah, so dual wielding a Hand Crossbow for example wouldn't be possible, despite it being listed as light?
(in the same vein, If a boomerang were to be light, you could not weild two )
You can wield two if you want, but you normally can’t attack with both in the same turn like you can with melee weapons. Specific rules might get around that, like a Fighter’s Action Surge, but otherwise it’s not allowed. The Two-Weapon Fighting rule specifically mentions melee weapons, and there is no ranged equivalent for TWF.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Thank you very much! That's pretty much all I needed to know! My only confusion was really from the thrown property mentioned in the description of Two-Weapon Fighting.
I wanted to do boomerangs as a weapon back in 2nd edition, so I looked them up. Basically the aborigines used 2 types - a lighter one to throw and return, to flush out the game, and a heavier one for the damage. IIRC the heavier one was not built to return. I would probably do a boomerang - light and a boomerang - heavy, and do 1d4 and 1d6 for damage.