I am very concerned about this. I want to make sure I am doing this right and that I did not misundstand what the handbook says, but also to make sure that my DM either also misunderstood or purposely told that this is the right number of dice I roll for damage calculation. I currently play a Dwarf Barbarian multiclassed into a level two fighter following the path of the berserker and the protection option for fighter. I used Greataxe pretty much all the time for combat. I get a +8 to hit and says I roll one D12+5. Now my DM says when I roll for damage I am supposed to roll one D12 per Barbarian level for a total of 4D12+5. This is bugging me, because the handbook says 1D12 plus any bonuses or modifiers. Am I just missing something and not fully comprehending or is how my DM has me doing it correct? Help please.
Your DM is wrong as far as the rules are concerned, but they could be deliberately implementing some absolutely insane houserule. Ask them to show you where the rules say to roll damage like that.
So, you haven't told us what we need to know to give a precise answer, but I can give a generic one.
The damage for a single attack with a greataxe without any special effects is 1d12+StrMod.
So, let's say you have a Strength of 17. You get a StrMod of +3, so you'd normally get 1d12+3 per attack.
Now, there are modifications that your class abilities give that depend in your level. Specifically, if you Rage, you get a bonus to your attacks which increases with your level. So, for example, if you are a 4th level Barbarian, you get +2. With the previous example of a Barbarian, while raging, he would do 1d12+5, because he gets +3 from his Strength Modifier and +2 from his rage.
The only thing I can think of that is confusing the DM is Hit Dice, since you do get them at a rate of one per level (and you get different ones for different classes, so you'll have as many d12s as you do Barbarian levels, plus two d10s from your two levels in Fighter). However, contrary to what the name suggests, they have nothing to do with attacks. Instead, they are a resource that you get to use during short rests to restore health. You roll a Hit Die, add your Constitution Modifier to the result, and that's how many HPs you recover. You can do this for whatever combination of HDs you want. You get to use whichever HD you want, but you are limited to however many you've gained via levelling up, and you get up to half your maximum number back on a long rest. So, for example, your 4Barb/2Fighter would have 4d12 and 2d10. You can use any of those during short rests, and will recover upto 3 Hit Dice on a long rest. Additionally, when you take a level in a class, you roll that class's HD as if you were recovering health, but you add that result to your max HP instead.
Your DM seems to think that your Barbarian's Hit Dice adds to your damage, but contrary to how they're named (thanks once again WotC for your amazing clarity in your choice in naming), they don't. They're for calculating your HP and how much you recover in a short rest.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
It does. I really appreciate it. Your explanation just tells me things were misunderstood and I can now better address it with hum. Granted it doesn't mean he won't just do it as a homebrew thing for now, but otherwise you were extremely helpful. Thanks again.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am very concerned about this. I want to make sure I am doing this right and that I did not misundstand what the handbook says, but also to make sure that my DM either also misunderstood or purposely told that this is the right number of dice I roll for damage calculation. I currently play a Dwarf Barbarian multiclassed into a level two fighter following the path of the berserker and the protection option for fighter. I used Greataxe pretty much all the time for combat. I get a +8 to hit and says I roll one D12+5. Now my DM says when I roll for damage I am supposed to roll one D12 per Barbarian level for a total of 4D12+5. This is bugging me, because the handbook says 1D12 plus any bonuses or modifiers. Am I just missing something and not fully comprehending or is how my DM has me doing it correct? Help please.
Your DM is wrong as far as the rules are concerned, but they could be deliberately implementing some absolutely insane houserule. Ask them to show you where the rules say to roll damage like that.
So, you haven't told us what we need to know to give a precise answer, but I can give a generic one.
The damage for a single attack with a greataxe without any special effects is 1d12+StrMod.
So, let's say you have a Strength of 17. You get a StrMod of +3, so you'd normally get 1d12+3 per attack.
Now, there are modifications that your class abilities give that depend in your level. Specifically, if you Rage, you get a bonus to your attacks which increases with your level. So, for example, if you are a 4th level Barbarian, you get +2. With the previous example of a Barbarian, while raging, he would do 1d12+5, because he gets +3 from his Strength Modifier and +2 from his rage.
The only thing I can think of that is confusing the DM is Hit Dice, since you do get them at a rate of one per level (and you get different ones for different classes, so you'll have as many d12s as you do Barbarian levels, plus two d10s from your two levels in Fighter). However, contrary to what the name suggests, they have nothing to do with attacks. Instead, they are a resource that you get to use during short rests to restore health. You roll a Hit Die, add your Constitution Modifier to the result, and that's how many HPs you recover. You can do this for whatever combination of HDs you want. You get to use whichever HD you want, but you are limited to however many you've gained via levelling up, and you get up to half your maximum number back on a long rest. So, for example, your 4Barb/2Fighter would have 4d12 and 2d10. You can use any of those during short rests, and will recover upto 3 Hit Dice on a long rest. Additionally, when you take a level in a class, you roll that class's HD as if you were recovering health, but you add that result to your max HP instead.
Your DM seems to think that your Barbarian's Hit Dice adds to your damage, but contrary to how they're named (thanks once again WotC for your amazing clarity in your choice in naming), they don't. They're for calculating your HP and how much you recover in a short rest.
I hope that helps.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
It does. I really appreciate it. Your explanation just tells me things were misunderstood and I can now better address it with hum. Granted it doesn't mean he won't just do it as a homebrew thing for now, but otherwise you were extremely helpful. Thanks again.