Ok so i have a question regarding the haste spell and extra attack feature
"Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action. "
So what im understanding is that this spell states that the extra action can be used for the attack action but if you use the attack action and you are using a weapon to attack then it only grants one attack only
but lets say i have 2 attacks per action and i want to use my hasted action to do unarmed strikes since its not a weapon attack would i get 2 unarmed strikes from the hasted attack action , since the limitation only applies to weapon attacks?
RaW your unarmed strikes do fall under the same realm as a weapon attack, I recall seeing a post on this before. Our DM homebrews that hasted, taking the attack action, you get them all (so a Fighter at 11 gets 6!) So far it hasn't been an issue and I don't think it will, since our casters who can Haste someone have chosen the Monk or Barbarian (so no 6 attacks, 12 if he Action Surges) Means Hasted, my Monk is getting a total of 6 swipes at his foes, burning 1 Ki for FoB, or 5 simply using the regular BA unarmed strike.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Talk to your Players.Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
With haste, you can only make one attack if you use the hasted Attack action no matter if it’s a weapon or unarmed strike. It doesn’t matter how many attacks you normally get with an Attack action it is limited to one
Ok so i have a question regarding the haste spell and extra attack feature
"Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, the target’s speed is doubled, it gains a +2 bonus to AC, it has advantage on Dexterity saving throws, and it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action. "
So what im understanding is that this spell states that the extra action can be used for the attack action but if you use the attack action and you are using a weapon to attack then it only grants one attack only
but lets say i have 2 attacks per action and i want to use my hasted action to do unarmed strikes since its not a weapon attack would i get 2 unarmed strikes from the hasted attack action , since the limitation only applies to weapon attacks?
Fists are not weapons but Unarmed Strikes are Melee Weapon Attacks You would only get 1 attack using the hasted Attack action.
RaW your unarmed strikes do fall under the same realm as a weapon attack, I recall seeing a post on this before. Our DM homebrews that hasted, taking the attack action, you get them all (so a Fighter at 11 gets 6!) So far it hasn't been an issue and I don't think it will, since our casters who can Haste someone have chosen the Monk or Barbarian (so no 6 attacks, 12 if he Action Surges) Means Hasted, my Monk is getting a total of 6 swipes at his foes, burning 1 Ki for FoB, or 5 simply using the regular BA unarmed strike.
Talk to your Players. Talk to your DM. If more people used this advice, there would be 24.74% fewer threads on Tactics, Rules and DM discussions.
With haste, you can only make one attack if you use the hasted Attack action no matter if it’s a weapon or unarmed strike. It doesn’t matter how many attacks you normally get with an Attack action it is limited to one
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Fists are not weapons but Unarmed Strikes are Melee Weapon Attacks You would only get 1 attack using the hasted Attack action.