So just doing some theory crafting, messing around with builds and was looking at level 20 Open Hand Monk. So I was wondering if during a round of combat could a monk use both Quivering Palm, the Fist of the North Star thing where you hit an opponent, then having 20 days to activate the second part if they fail the con save they instantly die or take 10D10 necro damage if succeed but with Flurry of Blows do make them either fall prone, get pushed back 15ft or unable take reactions. So would doing both in a turn be OP if done in a single turn?
I am not 100% sure and if I am wrong please correct me.
There is no rule that prevents you from using different techniques in the same unarmed strike. In fact, you could even use Quivering palm + pusch (Open Hand T.) + pusch (Crusher feat) + stuning strike (5th lev. monk feature) in the same unarmed attack. The problem with Quivering palm (2014) is it can only be activated as an action in a following turn. Now that I think about it, in monk 2024 we can do a lot more combos with this system.
Stunning Strike
Starting at 5th level, you can interfere with the flow of ki in an opponent's body. When you hit another creature with a melee weapon attack, you can spend 1 ki point to attempt a stunning strike. The target must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or be stunned until the end of your next turn.
Open Hand Technique
Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can manipulate your enemy's ki when you harness your own. Whenever you hit a creature with one of the attacks granted by your Flurry of Blows, you can impose one of the following effects on that target:
It must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or be knocked prone.
It must make a Strength saving throw. If it fails, you can push it up to 15 feet away from you.
It can't take reactions until the end of your next turn.
Quivering Palm
At 17th level, you gain the ability to set up lethal vibrations in someone's body. When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike, you can spend 3 ki points to start these imperceptible vibrations, which last for a number of days equal to your monk level. The vibrations are harmless unless you use your action to end them. To do so, you and the target must be on the same plane of existence. When you use this action, the creature must make a Constitution saving throw. If it fails, it is reduced to 0 hit points. If it succeeds, it takes 10d10 necrotic damage. You can have only one creature under the effect of this feature at a time. You can choose to end the vibrations harmlessly without using an action.
Crusher
You are practiced in the art of crushing your enemies, granting you the following benefits:
Increase your Strength or Constitution by 1, to a maximum of 20.
Once per turn, when you hit a creature with an attack that deals bludgeoning damage, you can move it 5 feet to an unoccupied space, provided the target is no more than one size larger than you.
When you score a critical hit that deals bludgeoning damage to a creature, attack rolls against that creature are made with advantage until the start of your next turn.
You could also add a battle master maneuver to it.
So just doing some theory crafting, messing around with builds and was looking at level 20 Open Hand Monk. So I was wondering if during a round of combat could a monk use both Quivering Palm, the Fist of the North Star thing where you hit an opponent, then having 20 days to activate the second part if they fail the con save they instantly die or take 10D10 necro damage if succeed but with Flurry of Blows do make them either fall prone, get pushed back 15ft or unable take reactions. So would doing both in a turn be OP if done in a single turn?
As mentioned, there's nothing preventing a 20th-level Open Hand Monk from Initiating Quivering Palm, and Using a Flurry of Blows option in the same turn, save action order and Ki reserves. In fact, there's nothing preventing the Monk from using multiple applicable options in the same strike.
But to answer Anax's question: Can both the Initiation and Activation of Quivering Palm, and Open Hand Techniques all be performed during the Monk's Turn?
A 20th-level character who is a 2014 Open Hand Monk can do this in one turn...if two of his levels are in Fighter.
On the Monk's Turn:
Action:
Attack, if it hits, Spend 3 Ki points to Initiate Quivering Palm (Way of the Open Hand 17).
Extra Attack, use to initiate Quivering Palm if the first attack missed and this one hits.
Bonus Action: Spend 1 Ki point for Flurry of Blows (Monk 2).
Attack, if it hits, Use an Open Hand Technique (Way of the Open Hand 3) option.
Attack If it Hits, use an Open Hand Technique option, if desired.
Action Surge (Fighter 2):
Activate Quivering Palm.
A Single-classed 20th-level 2014 Open Hand Monk can do this as well, if under the effect of Haste
Haste-Granted Action
Attack with an Unarmed Strike (everybody gets one.)
Bonus Action: Spend 1 Ki point for Flurry of Blows (Allowed because the Monk has now taken the Attack Action.)
Attack, if it hits, Spend 3 Ki points to Initiate Quivering Palm, and Use an Open Hand Technique (Way of the Open Hand 3) option.
Attack If it Hits, initiate Quivering Palm if necessary, use an Open Hand Technique option, if desired.
Action:
Activate Quivering Palm.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
So just doing some theory crafting, messing around with builds and was looking at level 20 Open Hand Monk. So I was wondering if during a round of combat could a monk use both Quivering Palm, the Fist of the North Star thing where you hit an opponent, then having 20 days to activate the second part if they fail the con save they instantly die or take 10D10 necro damage if succeed but with Flurry of Blows do make them either fall prone, get pushed back 15ft or unable take reactions. So would doing both in a turn be OP if done in a single turn?
I am not 100% sure and if I am wrong please correct me.
There is no rule that prevents you from using different techniques in the same unarmed strike. In fact, you could even use Quivering palm + pusch (Open Hand T.) + pusch (Crusher feat) + stuning strike (5th lev. monk feature) in the same unarmed attack. The problem with Quivering palm (2014) is it can only be activated as an action in a following turn. Now that I think about it, in monk 2024 we can do a lot more combos with this system.
Stunning Strike
Starting at 5th level, you can interfere with the flow of ki in an opponent's body. When you hit another creature with a melee weapon attack, you can spend 1 ki point to attempt a stunning strike. The target must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or be stunned until the end of your next turn.
Open Hand Technique
Starting when you choose this tradition at 3rd level, you can manipulate your enemy's ki when you harness your own. Whenever you hit a creature with one of the attacks granted by your Flurry of Blows, you can impose one of the following effects on that target:
Quivering Palm
At 17th level, you gain the ability to set up lethal vibrations in someone's body. When you hit a creature with an unarmed strike, you can spend 3 ki points to start these imperceptible vibrations, which last for a number of days equal to your monk level. The vibrations are harmless unless you use your action to end them. To do so, you and the target must be on the same plane of existence. When you use this action, the creature must make a Constitution saving throw. If it fails, it is reduced to 0 hit points. If it succeeds, it takes 10d10 necrotic damage. You can have only one creature under the effect of this feature at a time. You can choose to end the vibrations harmlessly without using an action.
Crusher
You are practiced in the art of crushing your enemies, granting you the following benefits:
Increase your Strength or Constitution by 1, to a maximum of 20.When you score a critical hit that deals bludgeoning damage to a creature, attack rolls against that creature are made with advantage until the start of your next turn.You could also add a battle master maneuver to it.
As mentioned, there's nothing preventing a 20th-level Open Hand Monk from Initiating Quivering Palm, and Using a Flurry of Blows option in the same turn, save action order and Ki reserves. In fact, there's nothing preventing the Monk from using multiple applicable options in the same strike.
But to answer Anax's question: Can both the Initiation and Activation of Quivering Palm, and Open Hand Techniques all be performed during the Monk's Turn?
A 20th-level character who is a 2014 Open Hand Monk can do this in one turn...if two of his levels are in Fighter.
On the Monk's Turn:
Action:
Bonus Action: Spend 1 Ki point for Flurry of Blows (Monk 2).
Action Surge (Fighter 2):
A Single-classed 20th-level 2014 Open Hand Monk can do this as well, if under the effect of Haste
Haste-Granted Action
Bonus Action: Spend 1 Ki point for Flurry of Blows (Allowed because the Monk has now taken the Attack Action.)
Action:
🎵I'm on top of the world, looking down on creation, wreaking death and devastation with my mind.
As the power that I've found erupts freely from the ground, I will cackle from the top of the world.🎵
Charisma Saving Throw: DC 18, Failure: 20d6 Psychic Damage, Success: Half damage
Or just be a 2024 open hand monk.
Hey! I make (what I believe to be, could use some feedback) good homebrew!
Click here!
Please tell me what you think!