Totally up to DM but personally I would not allow it. You have the space of one action to remove and throw it before it explodes - adding the steps to remove it and tie to an arrow then notch arrow, aim and release... Too many complicated steps for timeframe before it goes boom. So... nope. I might make an allowance for the whole necklace, maybe, since it's a one-and-done thing and creative.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yeah, I'm with cyber on this, DM's call. Normally I would allow something like this since the player has come up with a unique way of using a item and should be awarded for thinking like that. BUT, this seems like something that could be easily abused, so I'd maybe allow it once or twice but as soon as they seem to use abusing this I'd say something like, it's too risky and if they'd want to continue using it in this manner they must do a raw Dex roll of lets say 15-17 and on fail the bead breaks. Then again there it only so many beads per necklace so that should also play a factor on the decision.
I would allow it, but only to extend the range (throwing the bead normally has a 60ft max range) at the cost of the projectile and the risk of not hitting your intended target. Because you are now shooting an arrow there is an attack roll required as well. If you roll <10 total (with your usual ranged weapon attack modifier) you fail to hit your intended square and the bead will explode behind it. And you do not get the arrow damage because it is disintegrated on impact by the fireball before it has the chance to do any physical damage. Rolling a total of 10 or higher but below the AC of the target (if your target is a creature) would not matter because the fireball explodes anyway and would require a dex save.
I always describe any attack roll with total <10 as a miss, between 10 and target AC as a hit but blocked by armor and target AC or higher as a hit that does damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Can my ranger tie a bead from necklace of fireballs behind his arrows arrowhead, and then fire his arrow detonating the bead on contact?
Roll high.
Partway through the quest for absolute truth.
Totally up to DM but personally I would not allow it. You have the space of one action to remove and throw it before it explodes - adding the steps to remove it and tie to an arrow then notch arrow, aim and release... Too many complicated steps for timeframe before it goes boom. So... nope. I might make an allowance for the whole necklace, maybe, since it's a one-and-done thing and creative.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yeah, I'm with cyber on this, DM's call. Normally I would allow something like this since the player has come up with a unique way of using a item and should be awarded for thinking like that. BUT, this seems like something that could be easily abused, so I'd maybe allow it once or twice but as soon as they seem to use abusing this I'd say something like, it's too risky and if they'd want to continue using it in this manner they must do a raw Dex roll of lets say 15-17 and on fail the bead breaks. Then again there it only so many beads per necklace so that should also play a factor on the decision.
My Homebrew | Background | Feats | Magic Items | Races | Spells | Subclass | Homebrewery
To see my more recent homebrew creations, please check out my content on Hombrewery.
It's a DM call.
I would allow it, but only to extend the range (throwing the bead normally has a 60ft max range) at the cost of the projectile and the risk of not hitting your intended target. Because you are now shooting an arrow there is an attack roll required as well. If you roll <10 total (with your usual ranged weapon attack modifier) you fail to hit your intended square and the bead will explode behind it. And you do not get the arrow damage because it is disintegrated on impact by the fireball before it has the chance to do any physical damage. Rolling a total of 10 or higher but below the AC of the target (if your target is a creature) would not matter because the fireball explodes anyway and would require a dex save.
I always describe any attack roll with total <10 as a miss, between 10 and target AC as a hit but blocked by armor and target AC or higher as a hit that does damage.