My apologies - I'm sure this has been addressed elsewhere.
I am told that if my Wizard / Sorceror / Bard casts Polymorph on the Big Nastie and turns him into a Turtle, and then i throw the Turtle in a Bag of Holding, the Bag of Holding will rip and be destroyed, and the Polymorph spell will end.
The turtle would die after 10 minutes in the bag. At that point, the turtle would turn back into the Big Nastie. What happens next depends on the size of the Big Nastie. If the Big Nastie can fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4 ft space, the Big Nastie will suffocate to death after 10 minutes. The bag of holding will still be in tact, but you may have trouble removing the Big Nastie from the bag of holding after it dies.
If the Big Nastie can't fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4ft space, then the bag will rupture depositing the Big Nastie into the Astral Plane.
I would argue that a medium or smaller creature would fit into a 4 ft x 4ft x 4ft space, huge or gargantuan creatures would rupture the bag immediately. I suspect large size creatures would also rupture the bag, but would be willing to listen to other arguments on that one.
The relevant wording from the description of a bag of holding is below:
"This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions, roughly 2 feet in diameter at the mouth and 4 feet deep. The bag can hold up to 500 pounds, not exceeding a volume of 64 cubic feet. The bag weighs 15 pounds, regardless of its contents. Retrieving an item from the bag requires an action.
If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane. If the bag is turned inside out, its contents spill forth, unharmed, but the bag must be put right before it can be used again. Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to suffocate."
The turtle would die after 10 minutes in the bag. At that point, the turtle would turn back into the Big Nastie. What happens next depends on the size of the Big Nastie. If the Big Nastie can fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4 ft space, the Big Nastie will suffocate to death after 10 minutes. The bag of holding will still be in tact, but you may have trouble removing the Big Nastie from the bag of holding after it dies.
If the Big Nastie can't fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4ft space, then the bag will rupture depositing the Big Nastie into the Astral Plane.
I would argue that a medium or smaller creature would fit into a 4 ft x 4ft x 4ft space, huge or gargantuan creatures would rupture the bag immediately. I suspect large size creatures would also rupture the bag, but would be willing to listen to other arguments on that one.
The relevant wording from the description of a bag of holding is below:
"This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions, roughly 2 feet in diameter at the mouth and 4 feet deep. The bag can hold up to 500 pounds, not exceeding a volume of 64 cubic feet. The bag weighs 15 pounds, regardless of its contents. Retrieving an item from the bag requires an action.
If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane. If the bag is turned inside out, its contents spill forth, unharmed, but the bag must be put right before it can be used again. Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to suffocate."
Thank you. Has this been put forth in official errata?
The turtle would die after 10 minutes in the bag. At that point, the turtle would turn back into the Big Nastie. What happens next depends on the size of the Big Nastie. If the Big Nastie can fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4 ft space, the Big Nastie will suffocate to death after 10 minutes. The bag of holding will still be in tact, but you may have trouble removing the Big Nastie from the bag of holding after it dies.
If the Big Nastie can't fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4ft space, then the bag will rupture depositing the Big Nastie into the Astral Plane.
I would argue that a medium or smaller creature would fit into a 4 ft x 4ft x 4ft space, huge or gargantuan creatures would rupture the bag immediately. I suspect large size creatures would also rupture the bag, but would be willing to listen to other arguments on that one.
The relevant wording from the description of a bag of holding is below:
"This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions, roughly 2 feet in diameter at the mouth and 4 feet deep. The bag can hold up to 500 pounds, not exceeding a volume of 64 cubic feet. The bag weighs 15 pounds, regardless of its contents. Retrieving an item from the bag requires an action.
If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane. If the bag is turned inside out, its contents spill forth, unharmed, but the bag must be put right before it can be used again. Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to suffocate."
Thank you. Has this been put forth in official errata?
All of that is in the spell description and the item description.
My apologies - I'm sure this has been addressed elsewhere.
I am told that if my Wizard / Sorceror / Bard casts Polymorph on the Big Nastie and turns him into a Turtle, and then i throw the Turtle in a Bag of Holding, the Bag of Holding will rip and be destroyed, and the Polymorph spell will end.
Has this ever been properly stated by the devs?
Thanks.
The turtle would die after 10 minutes in the bag. At that point, the turtle would turn back into the Big Nastie. What happens next depends on the size of the Big Nastie. If the Big Nastie can fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4 ft space, the Big Nastie will suffocate to death after 10 minutes. The bag of holding will still be in tact, but you may have trouble removing the Big Nastie from the bag of holding after it dies.
If the Big Nastie can't fit into a 4 ft x 4 ft x 4ft space, then the bag will rupture depositing the Big Nastie into the Astral Plane.
I would argue that a medium or smaller creature would fit into a 4 ft x 4ft x 4ft space, huge or gargantuan creatures would rupture the bag immediately. I suspect large size creatures would also rupture the bag, but would be willing to listen to other arguments on that one.
The relevant wording from the description of a bag of holding is below:
"This bag has an interior space considerably larger than its outside dimensions, roughly 2 feet in diameter at the mouth and 4 feet deep. The bag can hold up to 500 pounds, not exceeding a volume of 64 cubic feet. The bag weighs 15 pounds, regardless of its contents. Retrieving an item from the bag requires an action.
If the bag is overloaded, pierced, or torn, it ruptures and is destroyed, and its contents are scattered in the Astral Plane. If the bag is turned inside out, its contents spill forth, unharmed, but the bag must be put right before it can be used again. Breathing creatures inside the bag can survive up to a number of minutes equal to 10 divided by the number of creatures (minimum 1 minute), after which time they begin to suffocate."
Thank you. Has this been put forth in official errata?
All of that is in the spell description and the item description.
Finland GMT/UTC +2
If the big nastie weighs less than 500 pounds, its dead body will remain in the bag
PM me the word tomato