Prerequisite: 6th-level artificer Item: A shield (requires attunement)
A creature gains a +1 bonus to Armor Class while wielding this shield.
The shield has 4 charges. While holding it, the wielder can use a reaction immediately after being hit by a melee attack to expend 1 of the shield’s charges and push the attacker up to 15 feet away. The shield regains 1d4 expended charges daily at dawn.
Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure.
1. Choose a target. Pick a target within your attack's range: a creature, an object, or a location.
2. Determine modifiers. The DM determines whether the target has cover and whether you have advantage or disadvantage against the target. In addition, spells, special abilities, and other effects can apply penalties or bonuses to your attack roll.
3. Resolve the attack. You make the attack roll. On a hit, you roll damage, unless the particular attack has rules that specify otherwise. Some attacks cause special effects in addition to or instead of damage.
There is no step between "make the attack roll" and "roll damage," both are part of the single "resolve the attack" step. I would say that absent some very specific language specifically saying that Repulsion Shield occurs after being hit but before suffering damage, the term "after being hit" ordinarily means "after suffering damage."
Now that being said... Shield is an example of a reaction which specifically is fast enough to pop inbetween the attack roll and the damage roll.
An invisible barrier of magical force appears and protects you. Until the start of your next turn, you have a +5 bonus to AC, including against the triggering attack, and you take no damage from magic missile.
* - which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell
The fact that the spell goes out of the way to say that it improves your AC "including against the triggering attack" is sufficient for me to justify being hit->casting the spell with a reaction->re-examining whether you were actually hit->not taking damage.
Outside of language similar to that in Shield, I think by default "when you are hit" implies you have taken damage already before your reaction.
Thanks for the response! I guess I was just imagining captain America getting smacked with a shield and a wave of force coming out.
Some times wording is everything. Creature makes an attack ( cutting word), after taking damage ( hellish rebuke), and now hit ( combo of attack and damage).
The very set of rules shown above demonstrate that a "hit" is the same thing as a succesful attack roll, but it is a different thing than causing damage.
In the normal progression to resolve an attack, the damage roll comes right after a hit. However, the shield introduces an exception to this rule, describing it's effect to happen after the hit, and not after the attack is resolved. If this effect add a new element to the attack, being described to happen after the hit, this should come before damage is calculated.
I could be wrong still, but my interpretation comes from the fact that rolling for attack and rolling for damage where aways described in the rules as different steps, since previous editions that I played.
The argument about the shield spell doesn't apply. The description of the spell says that it triggers after being hit, and simply that. The effect makes it more clear that you should be unhit, but the very triggering effect doesn't depend on it, and yet it is expected to trigger before damage is rolled. The repulsion shield describes it's activation the same way the shield spell does, so it should also activate it's effect before damage is rolled
For the more precise definition, see the Attack Rolls part right inside the quoted rule "Making an Attack". This part clearly defines a "hit" as a d20 roll with modifiers that surpasses the AC value of the target, without ever tying it to damage.
Attack Rolls:
When you make an attack, your attack roll determines whether the attack hits or misses. To make an attack roll, roll a d20 and add the appropriate modifiers. If the total of the roll plus modifiers equals or exceeds the target’s Armor Class (AC), the attack hits. The AC of a character is determined at character creation, whereas the AC of a monster is in its stat block.
So the reaction to a hit would come right after the successful attack roll itself (the d20), not the damage roll.
Xanathat's Guide to Everything clarifies that a reaction occurs after it's trigger unless noted otherwise.
Reaction Timing: Certain game features let you take a s pecial action, called a reaction, in response to some event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of reactions . If you're unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here's the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger completes, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can't take a nother one until the s tart of your next turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I know that Reactions have been beaten to a pulp. But a discussion within my party has arisen with the Artificers Repulsion Shield.
Is it Enemy Hit > Damage > (player) React > Push
Or Enemy Hit > (Player) React > Push > (Enemy out of range)No damage?
A little clarification on order of events for this item is requested ><;
Thanks
P.s. Sorry if this is a noob question that has been handled. Did a Search on forum and could not find a post on this.
There is no step between "make the attack roll" and "roll damage," both are part of the single "resolve the attack" step. I would say that absent some very specific language specifically saying that Repulsion Shield occurs after being hit but before suffering damage, the term "after being hit" ordinarily means "after suffering damage."
Now that being said... Shield is an example of a reaction which specifically is fast enough to pop inbetween the attack roll and the damage roll.
The fact that the spell goes out of the way to say that it improves your AC "including against the triggering attack" is sufficient for me to justify being hit->casting the spell with a reaction->re-examining whether you were actually hit->not taking damage.
Outside of language similar to that in Shield, I think by default "when you are hit" implies you have taken damage already before your reaction.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Thanks for the response! I guess I was just imagining captain America getting smacked with a shield and a wave of force coming out.
Some times wording is everything. Creature makes an attack ( cutting word), after taking damage ( hellish rebuke), and now hit ( combo of attack and damage).
Thanks for the help.
I know I'm late, but I see things differently
The very set of rules shown above demonstrate that a "hit" is the same thing as a succesful attack roll, but it is a different thing than causing damage.
In the normal progression to resolve an attack, the damage roll comes right after a hit. However, the shield introduces an exception to this rule, describing it's effect to happen after the hit, and not after the attack is resolved. If this effect add a new element to the attack, being described to happen after the hit, this should come before damage is calculated.
I could be wrong still, but my interpretation comes from the fact that rolling for attack and rolling for damage where aways described in the rules as different steps, since previous editions that I played.
The argument about the shield spell doesn't apply. The description of the spell says that it triggers after being hit, and simply that. The effect makes it more clear that you should be unhit, but the very triggering effect doesn't depend on it, and yet it is expected to trigger before damage is rolled. The repulsion shield describes it's activation the same way the shield spell does, so it should also activate it's effect before damage is rolled
For the more precise definition, see the Attack Rolls part right inside the quoted rule "Making an Attack". This part clearly defines a "hit" as a d20 roll with modifiers that surpasses the AC value of the target, without ever tying it to damage.
So the reaction to a hit would come right after the successful attack roll itself (the d20), not the damage roll.
Xanathat's Guide to Everything clarifies that a reaction occurs after it's trigger unless noted otherwise.
Reaction Timing: Certain game features let you take a s pecial action, called a reaction, in response to some event. Making opportunity attacks and casting the shield spell are two typical uses of reactions . If you're unsure when a reaction occurs in relation to its trigger, here's the rule: the reaction happens after its trigger completes, unless the description of the reaction explicitly says otherwise. Once you take a reaction, you can't take a nother one until the s tart of your next turn.