If my Blood Hunter has Crimson Rite activated on a double-bladed scimitar would I add the rite damage to both attacks? If not, would the blades be counted as separate weapons like each end of a polearm?
Either way, treating them as separate weapons is a good way to ward off game-breaking minmax builds like the polearm master and divine smite combo so I might treat it like two weapon fighting by having to apply Crimson Rite to one side at a time.
I know I'm late to this topic, but I don't agree with everyone else here. Both Polearm Master and a Double-Bladed Scimitar let you make a bonus action attack with the same weapon. When you activate your Crimson Rite, rite damage is applied to all attacks made with that weapon. It doesn't matter if it's the opposite end of the weapon. I've heard people try to argue that the rite damage only applies to the part of the weapon you draw blood with, but that doesn't make sense if you apply that very same logic to ranged weapons.
Do you have to invoke your crimson rite on every arrow? Of course not, it applies to the bow, even though the bow isn't the damaging part of the weapon. At the end of the day it's a magical effect, and isn't bound by that kind of logic, that's why we have rules and how they're worded. A very similar, and honestly more powerful, kind of thing can be achieved by a Blood Hunter taking the Crossbow Expert feat, giving them a bonus action attack and the ability to use their Extra Attack with crossbows.
I have played with both a Blood Hunter who had a Double-Bladed Scimitar and the Revenant Blade feat with the Great Weapon Fighting style, and a Blood Hunter who had a Hand Crossbow and Crossbow Expert as well as Sharpshooter with the Archery fighting style. I would much rather deal with the one with the Double-Bladed Scimitar.
If the DM really can't handle the fact you're lighting up both ends of the weapon at the cost of one roll of your Hemocraft die, suggest that you roll two Hemocraft die of damage in order to light up both ends of the weapon. Still kind of ridiculous if you ask me, but hey, it's something.
If my Blood Hunter has Crimson Rite activated on a double-bladed scimitar would I add the rite damage to both attacks? If not, would the blades be counted as separate weapons like each end of a polearm?
I would go with it being similar to that of a Polearm since the bonus action attacks work virtually identical.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
Either way, treating them as separate weapons is a good way to ward off game-breaking minmax builds like the polearm master and divine smite combo so I might treat it like two weapon fighting by having to apply Crimson Rite to one side at a time.
Yeah, I would definitely treat it as the feature already treats polearms and staves, each end is separate.
I agree with what every one else agrees with.
I know I'm late to this topic, but I don't agree with everyone else here. Both Polearm Master and a Double-Bladed Scimitar let you make a bonus action attack with the same weapon. When you activate your Crimson Rite, rite damage is applied to all attacks made with that weapon. It doesn't matter if it's the opposite end of the weapon. I've heard people try to argue that the rite damage only applies to the part of the weapon you draw blood with, but that doesn't make sense if you apply that very same logic to ranged weapons.
Do you have to invoke your crimson rite on every arrow? Of course not, it applies to the bow, even though the bow isn't the damaging part of the weapon. At the end of the day it's a magical effect, and isn't bound by that kind of logic, that's why we have rules and how they're worded. A very similar, and honestly more powerful, kind of thing can be achieved by a Blood Hunter taking the Crossbow Expert feat, giving them a bonus action attack and the ability to use their Extra Attack with crossbows.
I have played with both a Blood Hunter who had a Double-Bladed Scimitar and the Revenant Blade feat with the Great Weapon Fighting style, and a Blood Hunter who had a Hand Crossbow and Crossbow Expert as well as Sharpshooter with the Archery fighting style. I would much rather deal with the one with the Double-Bladed Scimitar.
If the DM really can't handle the fact you're lighting up both ends of the weapon at the cost of one roll of your Hemocraft die, suggest that you roll two Hemocraft die of damage in order to light up both ends of the weapon. Still kind of ridiculous if you ask me, but hey, it's something.
You are, in fact, so late to the topic that the feature in question has been errata'd making all of the previously correct answers wrong.
Previously, crimson rite could/had to be applied to each end of polearms separately. Now it applies to the whole weapon.