The spells duration is instantaneous and focused on the caster, so once cast the magic is ended, and lingering effects (the extra turns) are no longer magical. Its a bit of a grey area, since no time passes from the activation of the spell to its closure (since time has stopped), but would be consistent with other spells with instantaneous duration.
Edit: I'm ok with either interpretation regarding the caster/target walking into the field (see gray area comment above and my post #9 below for how I would adjudicate either interpretation, though I would rule as i state above personally)
Time Stop being Range Self only means that by definition its primary target is the caster - it doesn't intrinsically mean the spell is "on" the caster. Leomund's Tiny Hut is range Self, but the manifested dome anchors itself in space, not to the caster. We have to read the spell text to answer questions about what the spell does. In fact, Wish is range Self too, and one of its explicitly listed effects is healing and restoring up to 20 creatures the caster can see.
RAW, Time Stop works by stopping time for other creatures, but the caster is targeted with immunity to this, allowing them to take actions - that is, by definition, Time Stop targets every creature in the plane the caster is on, and every creature except the caster has their time stopped.
So Iconarising is correct - if you move into an Antimagic Field while Time Stop is up, nothing special happens, because the spell is instantaneous - but also, Time Stop can't penetrate AMF, so when you cast it, creatures inside AMF are immune - the spell can't stop time for them, just as it can't for objects. So just as an Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon is intrinsically immune to Time Stop, so too is the Artillerist while inside an AMF. How the DM should handle this is probably undefined anywhere in the rules, so just houserule it. I would suggest having Time Stop deliver 1d4+1 rounds, not turns, and have all immune creatures act normally during those rounds, while no other creatures are allowed to. Since they're only immune while inside the AMF, I doubt you'll hit too many rules paradoxes, but have a rule ready for someone inside an AMF shooting someone outside an AMF with a ranged attack, since Time Stop doesn't stop objects.
The range of Time Stop is explicitly the caster per the rules. You comparison to Tiny Hut doesn’t really equate, because that spell is written like an AoE. Time Stop is not written as an AoE
Spell rules that back this up (emphasis mine):
Most spells have ranges expressed in feet. Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Other spells, such as the shield spell, affect only you. These spells have a range of self.
Spells that create cones or lines of effect that originate from you also have a range of self, indicating that the origin point of the spell's effect must be you (see “Areas of Effect” later in the this chapter).
I’d rule that based on this, An antimagic field would not allow creatures in it to perceive and act during the turns granted by Time Stop. The magic of that spell is not affecting other creatures or an area, it is affecting the target (the caster)
If Time Stop froze all other creatures while time acted normally I’d agree with your ruling, but as understood through its range and targeting it is rather allowing the target to act multiple times instantly
As Iconarising says Time Stop targets the caster, not all other beings on the planet. Also, as Iconarising elaborates on, a range of "Self" means the target of the spell is yourself, whereas a range of "Self (x)" means that Self is the Point of Origin of the spell, not the target, as seen in most AoE spells like Leomund's Tiny Hut.
With regards to the interaction betweenAntimagic Field and Time Stop, I'd say that the Antimagic Field does suppress the Time Stop effect should the caster move into the Antimagic Field. While the duration of Time Stop is written as "Instantaneous", it clearly lasts for a fixed duration, i.e. it's not really instantaneous, it just seems like it to other creatures. After all if the effect of Time Stop wasn't active when the caster moved into the Antimagic Field, he wouldn't have any extra turns. Likewise, if it was active when he walked in there, then it would be suppressed as per the "Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it" clause in the Antimagic Field description.
Flavor-wise, an Antimagic Field creates a field that is divorced from the weave, essentially a dead magic zone, and without the weave spells and effects that rely on it cease to function.
RAW, Time Stop works by stopping time for other creatures, but the caster is targeted with immunity to this, allowing them to take actions - that is, by definition, Time Stop targets every creature in the plane the caster is on, and every creature except the caster has their time stopped.
It can't work this way without creating a bunch of really dumb knock-on effects and narrative problems the spell isn't intended to have. The spell can't just affect other creatures - it has to affect the environment too. Otherwise if a wizard on the other side of the world happens to cast the spell while you're trying to get out of your burning house, you're in trouble. Everyone would be observably skipping ahead at random throughout their their day. And Time Stop would also have to freeze entire other planes as well to have its intended effect, because otherwise anyone that was under the effects of a spell as low level as Blink would be excluded while they're on the Ethereal Plane. We know spells don't normally let you target creatures on other planes and a spell that targets literally the entire multiverse except for you is comically far-fetched and unprecedented. Saying it only targets the wizard is a lot more straightforward and believable.
Regarding its duration, in my opinion it's inaccurate. The 5e designers tried to simplify it because it's normally instantaneous to any observer that might be interested in dispelling it. But it's clear the spell does have a duration that can end prematurely from the caster's perspective (which is arguably the one that matters) and previous editions correctly listed its duration as 1d4 + 1 rounds. So despite the RAW I would temporarily suppress Time Stop if the wizard wanders into an Antimagic Field.
yeah, even for a ninth level spell stopping time for every plane and other multiverse and AU is entirely inconceivable even for a god but it shouldn't stop entirely in an antimagic field, what i did was this, while in the antimagic field all other spells and abilities are suppressed, so if a time stopped wizard cast fire shield it wouldn't work, and if they wandered into an antimagic field while he spell was in effect, it would be suppressed per antimagic field
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Haben Iuram, the player of Carnage, the aberrational tiefling necromancer.
RAW, Time Stop works by stopping time for other creatures, but the caster is targeted with immunity to this, allowing them to take actions - that is, by definition, Time Stop targets every creature in the plane the caster is on, and every creature except the caster has their time stopped.
It can't work this way without creating a bunch of really dumb knock-on effects and narrative problems the spell isn't intended to have. The spell can't just affect other creatures - it has to affect the environment too. Otherwise if a wizard on the other side of the world happens to cast the spell while you're trying to get out of your burning house, you're in trouble. Everyone would be observably skipping ahead at random throughout their their day. And Time Stop would also have to freeze entire other planes as well to have its intended effect, because otherwise anyone that was under the effects of a spell as low level as Blink would be excluded while they're on the Ethereal Plane. We know spells don't normally let you target creatures on other planes and a spell that targets literally the entire multiverse except for you is comically far-fetched and unprecedented. Saying it only targets the wizard is a lot more straightforward and believable.
Regarding its duration, in my opinion it's inaccurate. The 5e designers tried to simplify it because it's normally instantaneous to any observer that might be interested in dispelling it. But it's clear the spell does have a duration that can end prematurely from the caster's perspective (which is arguably the one that matters) and previous editions correctly listed its duration as 1d4 + 1 rounds. So despite the RAW I would temporarily suppress Time Stop if the wizard wanders into an Antimagic Field.
I don't have a problem with either interpretation if the caster/target wanders into a field (the two being, it suppresses or doesn't suppress), but honestly, if you rule that Time Stop has a duration that is instantaneous but still contains actions, then antimagic field should effectively end the spell, because:
While an effect is suppressed, it doesn't function, but the time it spends suppressed counts against its duration
Technically, the field is suppressing Time Stop, but the duration of Time Stop is instant, so the spell naturally expires before the suppression could ever have a chance to end.
So, either the field does nothing to the extra turns (due to the fact the magic is gone once cast, if you hardline on the standard rules for instant spells), or the field ends the spell (because suppressing the spell for even an instant is enough to deplete the remaining duration, and using the possible interpretation that all of the granted actions happen in the instantaneous duration).
RAW, Time Stop works by stopping time for other creatures, but the caster is targeted with immunity to this, allowing them to take actions - that is, by definition, Time Stop targets every creature in the plane the caster is on, and every creature except the caster has their time stopped.
It can't work this way without creating a bunch of really dumb knock-on effects and narrative problems the spell isn't intended to have. The spell can't just affect other creatures - it has to affect the environment too. Otherwise if a wizard on the other side of the world happens to cast the spell while you're trying to get out of your burning house, you're in trouble. Everyone would be observably skipping ahead at random throughout their their day. And Time Stop would also have to freeze entire other planes as well to have its intended effect, because otherwise anyone that was under the effects of a spell as low level as Blink would be excluded while they're on the Ethereal Plane. We know spells don't normally let you target creatures on other planes and a spell that targets literally the entire multiverse except for you is comically far-fetched and unprecedented. Saying it only targets the wizard is a lot more straightforward and believable.
Regarding its duration, in my opinion it's inaccurate. The 5e designers tried to simplify it because it's normally instantaneous to any observer that might be interested in dispelling it. But it's clear the spell does have a duration that can end prematurely from the caster's perspective (which is arguably the one that matters) and previous editions correctly listed its duration as 1d4 + 1 rounds. So despite the RAW I would temporarily suppress Time Stop if the wizard wanders into an Antimagic Field.
I don't have a problem with either interpretation if the caster/target wanders into a field (the two being, it suppresses or doesn't suppress), but honestly, if you rule that Time Stop has a duration that is instantaneous but still contains actions, then antimagic field should effectively end the spell, because:
While an effect is suppressed, it doesn't function, but the time it spends suppressed counts against its duration
Technically, the field is suppressing Time Stop, but the duration of Time Stop is instant, so the spell naturally expires before the suppression could ever have a chance to end.
So, either the field does nothing to the extra turns (due to the fact the magic is gone once cast), or the field ends the spell (because suppressing the spell for even an instant is enough to deplete the remaining duration).
Yes, the spell would indeed end as the time it spends suppressed counts towards its duration. As soon as the caster ends his turn and the next creature in the initiative chain gets its turn, the whole duration of Time Stop has passed.
Does Antimagic Field suppress/end Time Stop? By which I mean if during Time Stop you walked into an Antimagic Field.
As written? Yes, I think it does. Time stop does target you (even though it effects literally everything except you).
DMs may rule differently on this. Either it doesn't stop things inside the field or it does but is suppressed when the caster enters it.
[Edit] I didn't read carefully enough. Icon (next post) is right.
The spells duration is instantaneous and focused on the caster, so once cast the magic is ended, and lingering effects (the extra turns) are no longer magical. Its a bit of a grey area, since no time passes from the activation of the spell to its closure (since time has stopped), but would be consistent with other spells with instantaneous duration.
Edit: I'm ok with either interpretation regarding the caster/target walking into the field (see gray area comment above and my post #9 below for how I would adjudicate either interpretation, though I would rule as i state above personally)
Time Stop being Range Self only means that by definition its primary target is the caster - it doesn't intrinsically mean the spell is "on" the caster. Leomund's Tiny Hut is range Self, but the manifested dome anchors itself in space, not to the caster. We have to read the spell text to answer questions about what the spell does. In fact, Wish is range Self too, and one of its explicitly listed effects is healing and restoring up to 20 creatures the caster can see.
RAW, Time Stop works by stopping time for other creatures, but the caster is targeted with immunity to this, allowing them to take actions - that is, by definition, Time Stop targets every creature in the plane the caster is on, and every creature except the caster has their time stopped.
So Iconarising is correct - if you move into an Antimagic Field while Time Stop is up, nothing special happens, because the spell is instantaneous - but also, Time Stop can't penetrate AMF, so when you cast it, creatures inside AMF are immune - the spell can't stop time for them, just as it can't for objects. So just as an Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon is intrinsically immune to Time Stop, so too is the Artillerist while inside an AMF. How the DM should handle this is probably undefined anywhere in the rules, so just houserule it. I would suggest having Time Stop deliver 1d4+1 rounds, not turns, and have all immune creatures act normally during those rounds, while no other creatures are allowed to. Since they're only immune while inside the AMF, I doubt you'll hit too many rules paradoxes, but have a rule ready for someone inside an AMF shooting someone outside an AMF with a ranged attack, since Time Stop doesn't stop objects.
The range of Time Stop is explicitly the caster per the rules. You comparison to Tiny Hut doesn’t really equate, because that spell is written like an AoE. Time Stop is not written as an AoE
Spell rules that back this up (emphasis mine):
Most spells have ranges expressed in feet. Some spells can target only a creature (including you) that you touch. Other spells, such as the shield spell, affect only you. These spells have a range of self.
Spells that create cones or lines of effect that originate from you also have a range of self, indicating that the origin point of the spell's effect must be you (see “Areas of Effect” later in the this chapter).
I’d rule that based on this, An antimagic field would not allow creatures in it to perceive and act during the turns granted by Time Stop. The magic of that spell is not affecting other creatures or an area, it is affecting the target (the caster)
If Time Stop froze all other creatures while time acted normally I’d agree with your ruling, but as understood through its range and targeting it is rather allowing the target to act multiple times instantly
As Iconarising says Time Stop targets the caster, not all other beings on the planet. Also, as Iconarising elaborates on, a range of "Self" means the target of the spell is yourself, whereas a range of "Self (x)" means that Self is the Point of Origin of the spell, not the target, as seen in most AoE spells like Leomund's Tiny Hut.
With regards to the interaction betweenAntimagic Field and Time Stop, I'd say that the Antimagic Field does suppress the Time Stop effect should the caster move into the Antimagic Field. While the duration of Time Stop is written as "Instantaneous", it clearly lasts for a fixed duration, i.e. it's not really instantaneous, it just seems like it to other creatures. After all if the effect of Time Stop wasn't active when the caster moved into the Antimagic Field, he wouldn't have any extra turns. Likewise, if it was active when he walked in there, then it would be suppressed as per the "Any active spell or other magical effect on a creature or an object in the sphere is suppressed while the creature or object is in it" clause in the Antimagic Field description.
Flavor-wise, an Antimagic Field creates a field that is divorced from the weave, essentially a dead magic zone, and without the weave spells and effects that rely on it cease to function.
It can't work this way without creating a bunch of really dumb knock-on effects and narrative problems the spell isn't intended to have. The spell can't just affect other creatures - it has to affect the environment too. Otherwise if a wizard on the other side of the world happens to cast the spell while you're trying to get out of your burning house, you're in trouble. Everyone would be observably skipping ahead at random throughout their their day. And Time Stop would also have to freeze entire other planes as well to have its intended effect, because otherwise anyone that was under the effects of a spell as low level as Blink would be excluded while they're on the Ethereal Plane. We know spells don't normally let you target creatures on other planes and a spell that targets literally the entire multiverse except for you is comically far-fetched and unprecedented. Saying it only targets the wizard is a lot more straightforward and believable.
Regarding its duration, in my opinion it's inaccurate. The 5e designers tried to simplify it because it's normally instantaneous to any observer that might be interested in dispelling it. But it's clear the spell does have a duration that can end prematurely from the caster's perspective (which is arguably the one that matters) and previous editions correctly listed its duration as 1d4 + 1 rounds. So despite the RAW I would temporarily suppress Time Stop if the wizard wanders into an Antimagic Field.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
yeah, even for a ninth level spell stopping time for every plane and other multiverse and AU is entirely inconceivable even for a god but it shouldn't stop entirely in an antimagic field, what i did was this, while in the antimagic field all other spells and abilities are suppressed, so if a time stopped wizard cast fire shield it wouldn't work, and if they wandered into an antimagic field while he spell was in effect, it would be suppressed per antimagic field
Haben Iuram, the player of Carnage, the aberrational tiefling necromancer.
I don't have a problem with either interpretation if the caster/target wanders into a field (the two being, it suppresses or doesn't suppress), but honestly, if you rule that Time Stop has a duration that is instantaneous but still contains actions, then antimagic field should effectively end the spell, because:
While an effect is suppressed, it doesn't function, but the time it spends suppressed counts against its duration
Technically, the field is suppressing Time Stop, but the duration of Time Stop is instant, so the spell naturally expires before the suppression could ever have a chance to end.
So, either the field does nothing to the extra turns (due to the fact the magic is gone once cast, if you hardline on the standard rules for instant spells), or the field ends the spell (because suppressing the spell for even an instant is enough to deplete the remaining duration, and using the possible interpretation that all of the granted actions happen in the instantaneous duration).
Yes, the spell would indeed end as the time it spends suppressed counts towards its duration. As soon as the caster ends his turn and the next creature in the initiative chain gets its turn, the whole duration of Time Stop has passed.