So my DM loves grappling us with creatures on attacks, especially with tentacles, it's pretty thematic and works for the way he builds encounters. I'm currently playing a tanky artificer and I've got a ton of forced movement, repulsion shield, telekinesis, lightning lure, and even the shield master shove.
So one of the things that's been a bit of an oddity with this character and we've ruled mostly on a case by case basis, if something hits me and has a grapple on its attack, what should happen when I activate Repulsion as a reaction. Does it:
Knock the enemy back separating us
Knock the enemy back, dragging me with it (physics say no, but rules aren't specific)
Knock my 2ft tall Kobold butt across the map (physics say yes, but rules don't corroborate)
In the same line, the mob picks up the paladin, I yank the paladin with telekinetic shove who chooses to willingly fail the save:
that's it, grapple over?
Mob gets save? (this is where we've settled mostly)
According to rules as written: only the targeted creature is moved, and it ends any grapples if they are no longer in reach.
DMs may house rule around this with large creatures dragging smaller ones with them. It is more interesting and realistic, but not in the books. Ask your DM to be consistent though, so you can get an idea of what your actions will do.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So my DM loves grappling us with creatures on attacks, especially with tentacles, it's pretty thematic and works for the way he builds encounters. I'm currently playing a tanky artificer and I've got a ton of forced movement, repulsion shield, telekinesis, lightning lure, and even the shield master shove.
So one of the things that's been a bit of an oddity with this character and we've ruled mostly on a case by case basis, if something hits me and has a grapple on its attack, what should happen when I activate Repulsion as a reaction. Does it:
In the same line, the mob picks up the paladin, I yank the paladin with telekinetic shove who chooses to willingly fail the save:
Thanks for your input.
According to rules as written: only the targeted creature is moved, and it ends any grapples if they are no longer in reach.
DMs may house rule around this with large creatures dragging smaller ones with them. It is more interesting and realistic, but not in the books. Ask your DM to be consistent though, so you can get an idea of what your actions will do.