At least one canon monster (the Rakshasa) has immunity to spells of 6th level or lower. Does this immunity work even if a higher level spell slot is used?
For instance: a wizard casts lightning bolt at a Rakshasa, but uses a 7th level spell slot. Does the lightning bolt affect the creature?
The only similar effect or rule I can think to apply is from the spell globe of invulnerability. The text of the spell explicitly says (emphasis mine):
Any spell of 5th level or lower cast from outside the barrier can't affect creatures or objects within it, even if the spell is cast using a higher level spell slot. Such a spell can target creatures and objects within the barrier, but the spell has no effect on them.
To me, this suggests that spell immunity is tied to the spell's "original" level, and not the slot used for casting it. What do y'all think?
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
Some spells, such as magic missile and cure wounds, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell's description.
This is considered to be the general rule. The Globe of Invulnerability spell has text which explains how it specifically works.
If anything else has similar text then follow those rules, otherwise consider a spell to be the level of the spell slot used to cast it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"A rightful place awaits you in the Realms Above, in the Land of the Great Light. Come in peace, and live beneath the sun again, where trees and flowers grow."
— The message of Eilistraee to all decent drow.
"Run thy sword across my chains, Silver Lady, that I may join your dance.”
As Brian pointed out. Spells become the level of the slot used to cast them.
If you find 2 similar effects, but one specifically says something extra, then you can be sure that the extra bit does not apply to the other effect (otherwise it would not need to say it in the first place).
Thanks, folks. I agree. It backs up what the PHB says in the beginning: the specific supersedes the general.
So in the case of globe of invulnerability, the specific rule - the original level of the spell is what counts, not the slot used - supersedes the general rule (a spell expands to fill the slot used).
No such caveat is provided for the Rakshasa so...a lightning bolt cast using a 7th level spell slot is a 7th level spell, not a 3rd level one.
At least one canon monster (the Rakshasa) has immunity to spells of 6th level or lower. Does this immunity work even if a higher level spell slot is used?
For instance: a wizard casts lightning bolt at a Rakshasa, but uses a 7th level spell slot. Does the lightning bolt affect the creature?
The only similar effect or rule I can think to apply is from the spell globe of invulnerability. The text of the spell explicitly says (emphasis mine):
To me, this suggests that spell immunity is tied to the spell's "original" level, and not the slot used for casting it. What do y'all think?
Casting a Spell at a Higher Level
When a spellcaster casts a spell using a slot that is of a higher level than the spell, the spell assumes the higher level for that casting. For instance, if Umara casts magic missile using one of her 2nd-level slots, that magic missile is 2nd level. Effectively, the spell expands to fill the slot it is put into.
Some spells, such as magic missile and cure wounds, have more powerful effects when cast at a higher level, as detailed in a spell's description.
This is considered to be the general rule. The Globe of Invulnerability spell has text which explains how it specifically works.
If anything else has similar text then follow those rules, otherwise consider a spell to be the level of the spell slot used to cast it.
As Brian pointed out. Spells become the level of the slot used to cast them.
If you find 2 similar effects, but one specifically says something extra, then you can be sure that the extra bit does not apply to the other effect (otherwise it would not need to say it in the first place).
Thanks, folks. I agree. It backs up what the PHB says in the beginning: the specific supersedes the general.
So in the case of globe of invulnerability, the specific rule - the original level of the spell is what counts, not the slot used - supersedes the general rule (a spell expands to fill the slot used).
No such caveat is provided for the Rakshasa so...a lightning bolt cast using a 7th level spell slot is a 7th level spell, not a 3rd level one.