I’m curious because it doesn’t seem to be clarified in the rules for mounted combat. Is a mounted creature considered to be in the same space or spaces as their mount?
Specific beats general is one of the core rules of D&D. Mounts are one of the few exceptions where two creatures can occupy the same space. The rider occupy the space in the middle of the mount’s space.
Specific beats general is one of the core rules of D&D. Mounts are one of the few exceptions where two creatures can occupy the same space. The rider occupy the space in the middle of the mount’s space.
How would that work with opportunity attacks and reach, etc.?
Specific beats general is one of the core rules of D&D. Mounts are one of the few exceptions where two creatures can occupy the same space. The rider occupy the space in the middle of the mount’s space.
How would that work with opportunity attacks and reach, etc.?
The way the mounted rules say they do:
if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you’re on it, the attacker can target you or the mount.
As for reach... It doesn't say, but since you would have to be sharing the space of a larger creature, you would treat its space as yours and your reach from that space stays what it was.
Specific beats general is one of the core rules of D&D. Mounts are one of the few exceptions where two creatures can occupy the same space. The rider occupy the space in the middle of the mount’s space.
How would that work with opportunity attacks and reach, etc.?
The way the mounted rules say they do:
if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you’re on it, the attacker can target you or the mount.
As for reach... It doesn't say, but since you would have to be sharing the space of a larger creature, you would treat its space as yours and your reach from that space stays what it was.
Specific beats general is one of the core rules of D&D. Mounts are one of the few exceptions where two creatures can occupy the same space. The rider occupy the space in the middle of the mount’s space.
How would that work with opportunity attacks and reach, etc.?
The way the mounted rules say they do:
if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you’re on it, the attacker can target you or the mount.
As for reach... It doesn't say, but since you would have to be sharing the space of a larger creature, you would treat its space as yours and your reach from that space stays what it was.
That doesn't completely answer it. Would a medium rider occupying a large creature be able to reach all the spaces adjacent to the mount? The rider is in the middle of the mount, so on the intersection point of the squares or hexes if playing on a grid. With 5 foot reach, can you reach across one of the 4 squares or 3 hexes occupied by the mount into the next space?
Common sense says yes, since it should be possible to hit someone on the ground with a longsword or scimitar from horseback. But the rules could be interpreted otherwise. But also the ruling that others can hit you with an opportunity attack suggests that you are within their melee range, so it would make sense for it to go both ways.
Specific beats general is one of the core rules of D&D. Mounts are one of the few exceptions where two creatures can occupy the same space. The rider occupy the space in the middle of the mount’s space.
How would that work with opportunity attacks and reach, etc.?
The way the mounted rules say they do:
if the mount provokes an opportunity attack while you’re on it, the attacker can target you or the mount.
As for reach... It doesn't say, but since you would have to be sharing the space of a larger creature, you would treat its space as yours and your reach from that space stays what it was.
That doesn't completely answer it. Would a medium rider occupying a large creature be able to reach all the spaces adjacent to the mount? The rider is in the middle of the mount, so on the intersection point of the squares or hexes if playing on a grid. With 5 foot reach, can you reach across one of the 4 squares or 3 hexes occupied by the mount into the next space?
Common sense says yes, since it should be possible to hit someone on the ground with a longsword or scimitar from horseback. But the rules could be interpreted otherwise. But also the ruling that others can hit you with an opportunity attack suggests that you are within their melee range, so it would make sense for it to go both ways.
I already completely answered all this (the rules don't, but I did). Treat the mount's space as yours.
If a large creature has a 5 foot reach, it threatens the 12 squares 5 feet from it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I’m curious because it doesn’t seem to be clarified in the rules for mounted combat. Is a mounted creature considered to be in the same space or spaces as their mount?
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
Specific beats general is one of the core rules of D&D. Mounts are one of the few exceptions where two creatures can occupy the same space. The rider occupy the space in the middle of the mount’s space.
How would that work with opportunity attacks and reach, etc.?
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
The way the mounted rules say they do:
As for reach... It doesn't say, but since you would have to be sharing the space of a larger creature, you would treat its space as yours and your reach from that space stays what it was.
Thank you!
Come participate in the Competition of the Finest Brews, Edition XXVIII?
My homebrew stuff:
Spells, Monsters, Magic Items, Feats, Subclasses.
I am an Archfey, but nobody seems to notice.
Extended Signature
That doesn't completely answer it. Would a medium rider occupying a large creature be able to reach all the spaces adjacent to the mount? The rider is in the middle of the mount, so on the intersection point of the squares or hexes if playing on a grid. With 5 foot reach, can you reach across one of the 4 squares or 3 hexes occupied by the mount into the next space?
Common sense says yes, since it should be possible to hit someone on the ground with a longsword or scimitar from horseback. But the rules could be interpreted otherwise. But also the ruling that others can hit you with an opportunity attack suggests that you are within their melee range, so it would make sense for it to go both ways.
I already completely answered all this (the rules don't, but I did). Treat the mount's space as yours.
If a large creature has a 5 foot reach, it threatens the 12 squares 5 feet from it.