I've read quite a lot of posts on readied actions but I can't find anything that specifically covers my scenrio, I'm hoping somebody can help.
If we have a situation where there are three people in a combat: Player1, Creature1, Creature2
Player1 and Creature1 are both hiding and Creature2 has been spotted by Player1.
Creature1 doesn't know where Player1 is exactly but knows he's about so Readies an Action to shoot him with his bow as soon as he spots him.
The next round starts and Player1 acts on initiative 12, shoots and kills Creature2. But Creature1 who went on Initiative 11 the previous round sees the player and fires back immediately, the initiative then moves to 11 and Creature2 shoots again on his turn with his standard action.
Is this possible? can you use a Ready Action to hold for the next round and attack twice in one round if the conditions are correct like in my example above?
OK thanks, so yes Creature1 didn't act on the first round and used two actions on the second round, one as readied on initiative 12 then a second action when his turn refreshed on initiative 11.
I wasn't sure if a readied action could be carried over and allow for the attack to be made on the same round as another attack.
OK thanks, so yes Creature1 didn't act on the first round and used two actions on the second round, one as readied on initiative 12 then a second action when his turn refreshed on initiative 11.
I wasn't sure if a readied action could be carried over and allow for the attack to be made on the same round as another attack.
Thanks for clarifying
Well creature 1 did act in round 1, since it took the Ready action. It didn't use two actions in round 2, it used a reaction and then it's action instead.
Essentially yes you can use your readied reaction before the start of your next turn, and then act normally on your next turn, even if it's the turn that immediatly follows.
OK thanks, so yes Creature1 didn't act on the first round and used two actions on the second round, one as readied on initiative 12 then a second action when his turn refreshed on initiative 11
No, that's not how it works. As Plaguescarred says, creature 1 did act on the first round; it used its action to ready an attack. It did not take two actions on the second round; it took one reaction (the readied attack) on count 11 and one action on its turn, on count 12.
I wasn't sure if a readied action could be carried over and allow for the attack to be made on the same round as another attack.
That is literally the entire point of the Ready action.
Thanks for clarifying
Happy to help, feel free to respond if my follow-up here prompted any more questions.
If you couldn't carry your readied action across rounds if you were last in initiative you wouldn't be able to ready an action at all. I actually can not think of anything that happens at the end of a "round" other than initiatve moves from the creature with lowest initiative to the highest, do the rules even refer to a round of combat at all? People refer to a "surprise round" but creatures are only surprised until the end of their first turn in combat. A creature is often said to have x legendary actions per round but in reality it regains its spent legendary actions at the start of its turn.
Rounds are pretty irrelevant. Once your initiative has been determined then most things work between the end of your current turn and the start of the your next turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey All,
I've read quite a lot of posts on readied actions but I can't find anything that specifically covers my scenrio, I'm hoping somebody can help.
If we have a situation where there are three people in a combat: Player1, Creature1, Creature2
Player1 and Creature1 are both hiding and Creature2 has been spotted by Player1.
Creature1 doesn't know where Player1 is exactly but knows he's about so Readies an Action to shoot him with his bow as soon as he spots him.
The next round starts and Player1 acts on initiative 12, shoots and kills Creature2. But Creature1 who went on Initiative 11 the previous round sees the player and fires back immediately, the initiative then moves to 11 and Creature2 shoots again on his turn with his standard action.
Is this possible? can you use a Ready Action to hold for the next round and attack twice in one round if the conditions are correct like in my example above?
Yes, that’s completely possible.
Creature 2 used its action on round 1 count 11 to ready its attack.
On round 2 count 12, it used its reaction to take the action it readied.
On round 2 count 11, it gets its reaction back and also has its normal allotment of on-turn actions.
Across two rounds, it used two actions and one reaction, which is completely normal.
OK thanks, so yes Creature1 didn't act on the first round and used two actions on the second round, one as readied on initiative 12 then a second action when his turn refreshed on initiative 11.
I wasn't sure if a readied action could be carried over and allow for the attack to be made on the same round as another attack.
Thanks for clarifying
Well creature 1 did act in round 1, since it took the Ready action. It didn't use two actions in round 2, it used a reaction and then it's action instead.
Essentially yes you can use your readied reaction before the start of your next turn, and then act normally on your next turn, even if it's the turn that immediatly follows.
No, that's not how it works. As Plaguescarred says, creature 1 did act on the first round; it used its action to ready an attack. It did not take two actions on the second round; it took one reaction (the readied attack) on count 11 and one action on its turn, on count 12.
That is literally the entire point of the Ready action.
Happy to help, feel free to respond if my follow-up here prompted any more questions.
Just a thought on this:
If you couldn't carry your readied action across rounds if you were last in initiative you wouldn't be able to ready an action at all. I actually can not think of anything that happens at the end of a "round" other than initiatve moves from the creature with lowest initiative to the highest, do the rules even refer to a round of combat at all? People refer to a "surprise round" but creatures are only surprised until the end of their first turn in combat. A creature is often said to have x legendary actions per round but in reality it regains its spent legendary actions at the start of its turn.
Rounds are pretty irrelevant. Once your initiative has been determined then most things work between the end of your current turn and the start of the your next turn.