At 14th level, the beast within you grows so powerful that you can spread its ferocity to others and gain resilience from them joining your hunt. When you enter your rage, you can choose a number of other willing creatures you can see within 30 feet of you equal to your Constitution modifier (minimum of one creature). You gain 5 temporary hit points for each creature that accepts this feature. Until the rage ends, the chosen creatures can use the following benefit once on each of their turns: when the creature hits a target with an attack roll and deals damage to it, the creature can roll a d6 and gain a bonus to the damage equal to the number rolled.
You can use this feature a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
Say if there are two PotB Barbarians in a group using this ability, would this mean the rest of the group would get to roll 2d6 extra damage? Or does the "once on each of their turns" account for all sources of the ability?
Usually multiple instances of the same "thing" don't stack. The stronger or more recent effect suppresses the other effect.
I haven't used this one but I can't see anything in the description that would have this work any differently. That said, any creature in range should be able to accept it several times (including the other barbarian) so that both barbarians could get the THP from it.
On its surface, its arguable whether one creature could accept two instances of the Call, letting them roll a single d6 for bonus damage on two different attacks. I would say no, because it isn't just exercising that ability which is the benefit, it is having the choice to exercise that ability which is the benefit, and you can only benefit from a single feature once even when it's available from two or more sources.
This is one of those rules that'd hard for a player to chase down in the PHB. PHB Chapter 11 has this to say about spells:
Combining Magical Effects
The effects of different spells add together while the durations of those spells overlap. The effects of the same spell cast multiple times don't combine, however. Instead, the most potent effect — such as the highest bonus — from those castings applies while their durations overlap, or the most recent effect applies if the castings are equally potent and their durations overlap.
For example, if two clerics cast bless on the same target, that character gains the spell's benefit only once; he or she doesn't get to roll two bonus dice.
But the DMG restates this rule more generally in DMG Chapter 8:
Combining Game Effects
Different game features can affect a target at the same time. But when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. For example, if a target is ignited by a fire elemental’s Fire Form trait, the ongoing fire damage doesn’t increase if the burning target is subjected to that trait again. Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items. See the related rule in the “Combining Magical Effects” section of chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.
The game feature "Call of the Hunt" is a named feature, and only one instance of it can affect a target at the same time. That effect is "the chosen creatures can use the following benefit once on each of their turns: when the creature hits a target with an attack roll and deals damage to it, the creature can roll a d6 and gain a bonus to the damage equal to the number rolled." That effect lasts "until the rage ends." So during that duration, there can only be one version of "Call of the Hunt" benefiting any individual party member.
Now, could a party member accept one "Call of the Hunt" (granting Barbarian A 5 THP), and then later that fight while Call A is still up, accept a new "Call of the Hunt" (Granting Barbarian B 5 THP), abandoning Call A and now carrying forward using Call B? I'd say no... Barbarian B's Call is no more or less powerful than Barbarian A's, so neither is the "most potent one." Call of the Hunt doesn't provide the beneficiary any ability to opt out of the Call once they're in it, just the choice accept or decline when first offered. After accepting Call A, Call B would not be an option for the party member to accept (if Call A is still up), so Barbarian B can't gain any THP from party members accepting.
Ok thanks for the input and finding those rulings, I couldn't find them for the life of me! Though is a shame it doesn't stack, but understandable why, though I am uncertain of the THP situation as that is more of an effect that is effecting the user over the people accepting the feature, but does require them to accept it, which if what you say is right, they can't.
I guess it depends on whether not being able to “benefit” from Call B prevents the character from “accepting” Call B (despite it then fizzling). If you or your DM felt that Barbarian B should still be able to get 5 THP from characters accepting a Call that can’t actually go into effect… I don’t think that would be an unreasonable ruling, just not one I would make myself.
You might also say, they can accept both, and both are in place, but only one (the first one or most potent one) is in effect to provide a benefit. If Call A’s rage ended, but Call B’s rage was still up… maybe the party would transition from A->B?
Its sort of like… if a creature was already subject a Hold Monster, and then a second caster cast the spell again… would they even make a saving throw vs Hold Monster 2? Would both spells be active, but only one doing the holding, so that if one ends the other is already in place to take up the slack? I’m not certain…
You might also say, they can accept both, and both are in place, but only one (the first one or most potent one) is in effect to provide a benefit. If Call A’s rage ended, but Call B’s rage was still up… maybe the party would transition from A->B?
As it says in the rules you quoted above it is most potent or most recent. So B's Call would be the one in effect and if he lost his rage then A's Call would go into effect (if his rage was still going).
Now, could a party member accept one "Call of the Hunt" (granting Barbarian A 5 THP), and then later that fight while Call A is still up, accept a new "Call of the Hunt" (Granting Barbarian B 5 THP), abandoning Call A and now carrying forward using Call B? I'd say no... Barbarian B's Call is no more or less powerful than Barbarian A's, so neither is the "most potent one." Call of the Hunt doesn't provide the beneficiary any ability to opt out of the Call once they're in it, just the choice accept or decline when first offered. After accepting Call A, Call B would not be an option for the party member to accept (if Call A is still up), so Barbarian B can't gain any THP from party members accepting.
Why would you need to opt out? Nothing in the feature specifies that you need to and nothing in the rules for game effects stops you from being a willing target of multiples of the same effect. I think you are being way to strict without any real reason.
Well, again, DMG Chapter 8 says that you can't "benefit" from both... but I will concede, when I first wrote that, I hadn't fully considered that you might be able to accept both but only "benefit" from one, letting both Barbarians get THP for you having accepted a Call, and keeping one Call accepted-but-not-in-effect until the other drops.
I may have been too strict conflating "benefit" with what you're calling "being a willing target."
Might be the term "accepted" that confuses the issue (as shown by you using it multiple times in your replies).
The feature targets "willing creatures" in the same way as many spells do. And the mechanic for being "willing" is that the player chooses if his character is willing or not each time. And as I see it if the player chooses to be willing then he (and thus his PC) have "accepted" whatever effect that was aimed at him. It's just that normally the "accepted" part isn't something that is mentioned because it is irrelevant, however here it matters.
When I read call of the hunt first, I saw “accepts” as being a synonym for “affected by,” which I then conflated with “benefits from.” You’re probably right.
Effect 1) Temp Hitpoints for the Barbarian: These aren't actually stacking in this scenario since each Barb is targeting themselves, so each Barb would get the Temp HP from their own ability with no issue
Effect 2) Extra Damage Bonus for surrounding creatures: Nothing in the general rules prevents a game effect from being applied to a creature more than once, but effects with the same name aren't additive (ie, they don't stack). So, I see nothing wrong with each creature accepting the call twice, but they would still only be getting the 1d6 damage bonus, not 2d6. Note if one Barb ended the rage earlier than the other, the creatures would still have that 1d6 bonus from the effect that remained active.
Having 2 Barbs with this ability is a good way for the Barbs to get the damage boost themselves, since they can't choose themselves with their own ability, but each Barb can choose the other to hear the call.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Call the Hunt
At 14th level, the beast within you grows so powerful that you can spread its ferocity to others and gain resilience from them joining your hunt. When you enter your rage, you can choose a number of other willing creatures you can see within 30 feet of you equal to your Constitution modifier (minimum of one creature). You gain 5 temporary hit points for each creature that accepts this feature. Until the rage ends, the chosen creatures can use the following benefit once on each of their turns: when the creature hits a target with an attack roll and deals damage to it, the creature can roll a d6 and gain a bonus to the damage equal to the number rolled.
You can use this feature a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
Say if there are two PotB Barbarians in a group using this ability, would this mean the rest of the group would get to roll 2d6 extra damage? Or does the "once on each of their turns" account for all sources of the ability?
Usually multiple instances of the same "thing" don't stack. The stronger or more recent effect suppresses the other effect.
I haven't used this one but I can't see anything in the description that would have this work any differently. That said, any creature in range should be able to accept it several times (including the other barbarian) so that both barbarians could get the THP from it.
On its surface, its arguable whether one creature could accept two instances of the Call, letting them roll a single d6 for bonus damage on two different attacks. I would say no, because it isn't just exercising that ability which is the benefit, it is having the choice to exercise that ability which is the benefit, and you can only benefit from a single feature once even when it's available from two or more sources.
This is one of those rules that'd hard for a player to chase down in the PHB. PHB Chapter 11 has this to say about spells:
But the DMG restates this rule more generally in DMG Chapter 8:
The game feature "Call of the Hunt" is a named feature, and only one instance of it can affect a target at the same time. That effect is "the chosen creatures can use the following benefit once on each of their turns: when the creature hits a target with an attack roll and deals damage to it, the creature can roll a d6 and gain a bonus to the damage equal to the number rolled." That effect lasts "until the rage ends." So during that duration, there can only be one version of "Call of the Hunt" benefiting any individual party member.
Now, could a party member accept one "Call of the Hunt" (granting Barbarian A 5 THP), and then later that fight while Call A is still up, accept a new "Call of the Hunt" (Granting Barbarian B 5 THP), abandoning Call A and now carrying forward using Call B? I'd say no... Barbarian B's Call is no more or less powerful than Barbarian A's, so neither is the "most potent one." Call of the Hunt doesn't provide the beneficiary any ability to opt out of the Call once they're in it, just the choice accept or decline when first offered. After accepting Call A, Call B would not be an option for the party member to accept (if Call A is still up), so Barbarian B can't gain any THP from party members accepting.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Ok thanks for the input and finding those rulings, I couldn't find them for the life of me! Though is a shame it doesn't stack, but understandable why, though I am uncertain of the THP situation as that is more of an effect that is effecting the user over the people accepting the feature, but does require them to accept it, which if what you say is right, they can't.
I guess it depends on whether not being able to “benefit” from Call B prevents the character from “accepting” Call B (despite it then fizzling). If you or your DM felt that Barbarian B should still be able to get 5 THP from characters accepting a Call that can’t actually go into effect… I don’t think that would be an unreasonable ruling, just not one I would make myself.
You might also say, they can accept both, and both are in place, but only one (the first one or most potent one) is in effect to provide a benefit. If Call A’s rage ended, but Call B’s rage was still up… maybe the party would transition from A->B?
Its sort of like… if a creature was already subject a Hold Monster, and then a second caster cast the spell again… would they even make a saving throw vs Hold Monster 2? Would both spells be active, but only one doing the holding, so that if one ends the other is already in place to take up the slack? I’m not certain…
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
As it says in the rules you quoted above it is most potent or most recent. So B's Call would be the one in effect and if he lost his rage then A's Call would go into effect (if his rage was still going).
Why would you need to opt out? Nothing in the feature specifies that you need to and nothing in the rules for game effects stops you from being a willing target of multiples of the same effect. I think you are being way to strict without any real reason.
Well, again, DMG Chapter 8 says that you can't "benefit" from both... but I will concede, when I first wrote that, I hadn't fully considered that you might be able to accept both but only "benefit" from one, letting both Barbarians get THP for you having accepted a Call, and keeping one Call accepted-but-not-in-effect until the other drops.
I may have been too strict conflating "benefit" with what you're calling "being a willing target."
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Might be the term "accepted" that confuses the issue (as shown by you using it multiple times in your replies).
The feature targets "willing creatures" in the same way as many spells do. And the mechanic for being "willing" is that the player chooses if his character is willing or not each time. And as I see it if the player chooses to be willing then he (and thus his PC) have "accepted" whatever effect that was aimed at him. It's just that normally the "accepted" part isn't something that is mentioned because it is irrelevant, however here it matters.
When I read call of the hunt first, I saw “accepts” as being a synonym for “affected by,” which I then conflated with “benefits from.” You’re probably right.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Combined Game effects do not stack per the DMG Monster Manual Errata Update? - General Discussion - D&D Beyond General - D&D Beyond Forums - D&D Beyond and that would apply to each target of the effect. Call of the Hunt has multiple targets and two different type of effects.
Effect 1) Temp Hitpoints for the Barbarian: These aren't actually stacking in this scenario since each Barb is targeting themselves, so each Barb would get the Temp HP from their own ability with no issue
Effect 2) Extra Damage Bonus for surrounding creatures: Nothing in the general rules prevents a game effect from being applied to a creature more than once, but effects with the same name aren't additive (ie, they don't stack). So, I see nothing wrong with each creature accepting the call twice, but they would still only be getting the 1d6 damage bonus, not 2d6. Note if one Barb ended the rage earlier than the other, the creatures would still have that 1d6 bonus from the effect that remained active.
Having 2 Barbs with this ability is a good way for the Barbs to get the damage boost themselves, since they can't choose themselves with their own ability, but each Barb can choose the other to hear the call.