I'm currently DMing a high-level campaign (all the PCs are level 17) and the group's Bard chose the College of Glamour. She uses the subclass power: Unbreakable Majesty. It reads as follows:
Unbreakable Majesty
At 14th level, your appearance permanently gains an otherworldly aspect that makes you look more lovely and fierce.
In addition, as a bonus action, you can assume a magically majestic presence for 1 minute or until you are incapacitated. For the duration, whenever any creature tries to attack you for the first time on a turn, the attacker must make a Charisma saving throw against your spell save DC. On a failed save, it can't attack you on this turn, and it must choose a new target for its attack or the attack is wasted. On a successful save, it can attack you on this turn, but it has disadvantage on any saving throw it makes against your spells on your next turn.
Once you assume this majestic presence, you can't do so again until you finish a short or long rest.
I made sure to reread the Player's Handbook section on what defines a "Turn" and a "Round." From the way Unbreakable Majesty reads, every single hostile NPC that attacks her on their turn must make this Charisma saving throw (which they usually fail because her spell save DC is 19). This means she's effectively untouchable for the entire combat unless the NPCs have a high Charisma saving throw (which they usually don't). Am I interpreting this rule correctly? How about in the case of multi-attacks: Let's say a hostile NPC attacks her, fails the first Charisma save, but still has another attack to make in their Multi-Attack - do they still get to make subsequent attacks as normal, or does failing the first Charisma save mean that NPC cannot attack her at all on their turn?
Basically, yes, every creature that attacks the PC should be making the saving throw per turn. Creatures with multi-attack would make the save on the first attack, and if they failed could not make any other attack against them that turn.
But this only applies to attacks, as in abilities where the creature makes an attack roll. The ability does nothing against creature abilities that requires saving throws. So for example, if a creature had a bonus action ability that made an attack (attack roll) and an action ability that forced a save, and they failed the CHA save on the attack, they could still target the Bard with the saving throw ability with no issue.
This is also a once/short rest ability. The average adventuring day might have 2-3 encounters per short rest, so there should be some encounters where they don't have this ability active. If you are allowing your PCs a short or long rest after every encounter, this ability is probably more powerful than intended.
Does this subclass ability count as a magical effect that can be dispelled with Counterspell or casting Dispel Magic? Or any other magic-disrupting ability?
It is magical (because it's description says it is a "magically majestic presence") but it is not a spell, so dispel magic or counterspell would not work on it. It would be suppressed and not work in an anti-magic field though, since that affects all magical effects, not just spells
Once it fails its save, an enemy can't attack the bard on his turn, wether with Extra Attack, Action Surge and other bonus action attack. On the bard's turn though, if it provoke an Opportunity Attack, the enemy could try to attack it again, requiring a save first. It's a very potent effect.
I'm currently DMing a high-level campaign (all the PCs are level 17) and the group's Bard chose the College of Glamour. She uses the subclass power: Unbreakable Majesty. It reads as follows:
I made sure to reread the Player's Handbook section on what defines a "Turn" and a "Round." From the way Unbreakable Majesty reads, every single hostile NPC that attacks her on their turn must make this Charisma saving throw (which they usually fail because her spell save DC is 19). This means she's effectively untouchable for the entire combat unless the NPCs have a high Charisma saving throw (which they usually don't). Am I interpreting this rule correctly? How about in the case of multi-attacks: Let's say a hostile NPC attacks her, fails the first Charisma save, but still has another attack to make in their Multi-Attack - do they still get to make subsequent attacks as normal, or does failing the first Charisma save mean that NPC cannot attack her at all on their turn?
Basically, yes, every creature that attacks the PC should be making the saving throw per turn. Creatures with multi-attack would make the save on the first attack, and if they failed could not make any other attack against them that turn.
But this only applies to attacks, as in abilities where the creature makes an attack roll. The ability does nothing against creature abilities that requires saving throws. So for example, if a creature had a bonus action ability that made an attack (attack roll) and an action ability that forced a save, and they failed the CHA save on the attack, they could still target the Bard with the saving throw ability with no issue.
This is also a once/short rest ability. The average adventuring day might have 2-3 encounters per short rest, so there should be some encounters where they don't have this ability active. If you are allowing your PCs a short or long rest after every encounter, this ability is probably more powerful than intended.
Thank you for your help!
Does this subclass ability count as a magical effect that can be dispelled with Counterspell or casting Dispel Magic? Or any other magic-disrupting ability?
It is magical (because it's description says it is a "magically majestic presence") but it is not a spell, so dispel magic or counterspell would not work on it. It would be suppressed and not work in an anti-magic field though, since that affects all magical effects, not just spells
Okay, I understand. Thanks again!
Once it fails its save, an enemy can't attack the bard on his turn, wether with Extra Attack, Action Surge and other bonus action attack. On the bard's turn though, if it provoke an Opportunity Attack, the enemy could try to attack it again, requiring a save first. It's a very potent effect.
As it should be. 17th level is crazy in general.
Hit em with a dragon's breath weapon, if you're that worried about it, lol.