Good afternoon. I have a question. If I cast contingency with Polimorph. And my contingency is as soon as I get to 15 hp I will turn to Gian ape.
What will happen if I have for example 30 HP. I'm attacked for 40 HP. Will I turn to giant ape as soon as I have left 15 Hp. And the rest of the damage goes to the giant ape? And if so the concentration will be for only the damage that passed after the Polimorph or for the complete amount of the damage?
Good afternoon. I have a question. If I cast contingency with Polimorph. And my contingency is as soon as I get to 15 hp I will turn to Gian ape.
What will happen if I have for example 30 HP. I'm attacked for 40 HP. Will I turn to giant ape as soon as I have left 15 Hp. And the rest of the damage goes to the giant ape? And if so the concentration will be for only the damage that passed after the Polimorph or for the complete amount of the damage?
Damage is instantaneous - there's no rule for you taking it 1 point at a time, only a rule for you taking all of it. What you can do is word the Contingency as being 15 hp or less, which will mean in this context you get hit for 40, drop to 0, then immediately Polymorph into a Giant Ape. The Giant Ape takes no damage from the blow that dealt 40. Likewise, no Concentration check - you were not Concentrating on the spell when you took the damage.
Ultimately this will be up to your DM on how to rule, but I see one of two ways this resolves:
Your DM allows HP reduction to stop after you hit 15, the contingency triggers, then the remaining damage goes to the Ape (not unlike how Polymorph would end).
Your DM causes the full damage to occur before the contingency triggers, you are at 0 HP, and either the contingency doesn't trigger or it does and fails because you are at 0 hitpoints and not a valid target of Polymorph.
If the DM goes with #1, I'd say the concentration check would be based on the total amount of damage, since it's still you that took it, just in different forms.
Good afternoon. I have a question. If I cast contingency with Polimorph. And my contingency is as soon as I get to 15 hp I will turn to Gian ape.
What will happen if I have for example 30 HP. I'm attacked for 40 HP. Will I turn to giant ape as soon as I have left 15 Hp. And the rest of the damage goes to the giant ape? And if so the concentration will be for only the damage that passed after the Polimorph or for the complete amount of the damage?
Damage is instantaneous - there's no rule for you taking it 1 point at a time, only a rule for you taking all of it. What you can do is word the Contingency as being 15 hp or less, which will mean in this context you get hit for 40, drop to 0, then immediately Polymorph into a Giant Ape. The Giant Ape takes no damage from the blow that dealt 40. Likewise, no Concentration check - you were not Concentrating on the spell when you took the damage.
Polymorph fails if it is cast on a creature with 0 hitpoints...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Good afternoon. I have a question. If I cast contingency with Polimorph. And my contingency is as soon as I get to 15 hp I will turn to Gian ape.
What will happen if I have for example 30 HP. I'm attacked for 40 HP. Will I turn to giant ape as soon as I have left 15 Hp. And the rest of the damage goes to the giant ape? And if so the concentration will be for only the damage that passed after the Polimorph or for the complete amount of the damage?
Damage is instantaneous - there's no rule for you taking it 1 point at a time, only a rule for you taking all of it. What you can do is word the Contingency as being 15 hp or less, which will mean in this context you get hit for 40, drop to 0, then immediately Polymorph into a Giant Ape. The Giant Ape takes no damage from the blow that dealt 40. Likewise, no Concentration check - you were not Concentrating on the spell when you took the damage.
Ultimately this will be up to your DM on how to rule, but I see one of two ways this resolves:
If the DM goes with #1, I'd say the concentration check would be based on the total amount of damage, since it's still you that took it, just in different forms.
Polymorph fails if it is cast on a creature with 0 hitpoints...