The use of the metamagic ability can be applied to objects that allow conjuring. Take for example a magic detect necklace, when using it, could I apply the metamagic "extended spell"?
Note: If that is possible, how many sorceri points need, or only as expected from the level of The spell indicated on the item.
The use of the metamagic ability can be applied to objects that allow conjuring. Take for example a magic detect necklace, when using it, could I apply the metamagic "extended spell"?
Note: If that is possible, how Many sorceri points need, or only as expected from the level of The spell indicated on the item.
Metamagic can be used any time you cast a spell, so if a magic item lets you cast a spell, such as a wand of web, you can apply metamagic to it normally. As a general rule, magic items have no rules for using your spell slots, so as a general rule, they can't be upcast, so they have to be cast at their standard spell level, in terms of calculating how many sorcery points the metamagic will cost.
Most of the metamagic options use the phrase "When you cast a spell…", so if the magic item allows you to cast a spell then you can apply metamagic to that spell.
For example, wand of fireballs says "While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the fireball spell…" You are casting the spell, so metamagic can be used.
For example, wand of fear does not use the term "cast" so metamagic cannot be used.
As a DM, I would rule that spells cast from magic items can be metamagiced. Not sure if that would be a house rule or not, but that is how I would play it.
Seems silly to do otherwise.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
The use of the metamagic ability can be applied to objects that allow conjuring. Take for example a magic detect necklace, when using it, could I apply the metamagic "extended spell"?
Note: If that is possible, how many sorceri points need, or only as expected from the level of The spell indicated on the item.
Metamagic can be used any time you cast a spell, so if a magic item lets you cast a spell, such as a wand of web, you can apply metamagic to it normally. As a general rule, magic items have no rules for using your spell slots, so as a general rule, they can't be upcast, so they have to be cast at their standard spell level, in terms of calculating how many sorcery points the metamagic will cost.
Most of the metamagic options use the phrase "When you cast a spell…", so if the magic item allows you to cast a spell then you can apply metamagic to that spell.
For example, wand of fireballs says "While holding it, you can use an action to expend 1 or more of its charges to cast the fireball spell…" You are casting the spell, so metamagic can be used.
For example, wand of fear does not use the term "cast" so metamagic cannot be used.
If you want confirmation from one of the game's authors, see this tweet from Jeremy Crawford.
As a DM, I would rule that spells cast from magic items can be metamagiced. Not sure if that would be a house rule or not, but that is how I would play it.
Seems silly to do otherwise.