The Ready Action by its very definition is conditional, you choose an a permissible action for your character ( Attack, Cast Spell, Dash, etc.) and a discernable trigger to cause that action to occur. So, yes, a PC can choose to ready an attack as part of their action to be triggered by, in your case, an uncooperative enemy; situations such as those are among the most common reasons to use a Ready Action.
You have until the start of your next turn to use your readied action or it's forfeit. In most cases this is insignificant, as they can simply take the ready action again on their turn with the same action and trigger; with casting leveled spells however, you do expend the spell slot at the time you ready it, so continuing to ready a leveled spell across multiple turns would burn through slots quickly. Additionally when readying a spell, it requires concentration, so there is a possibility that the spell could be lost if damage is taken or a condition applied that would cause them to loose concentration, before the spell is triggered.
Note that actually using your Ready(ed) Action requires you to use your Reaction.
So if you have already used your Reaction for something else (e.g. an opportunity attack, or casting a spell with a casting time of 1 Reaction), then you can no longer use your Readied Action.
(Obviously, when it gets to the start of your next turn, you can choose to Ready the same action again.)
Also note that Ready Action only uses up your Action on your turn - so you are still able to move and use bonus actions on your turn whilst holding the Ready action for some time later.
Also note that the Extra Attack feature only applies on your own turn so if you ready an Attack Action (as in the example) and executes it on someone else's turn then you'd only get to make one attack. Some DM's chooses to ignore this though.
I’m almost embarrassed to even ask this
But, then again… I don’t get embarrassed easily
Can a PC choose an Attack for their Ready action
I ran my second game (only) 😞 & one of my players said
He’d like to take a Ready Action (after I explained to him this choice since he has yet to read any of the PHB)
To shoot a foe with his cross bow if they didn’t give the group the information they asked for
Is this permissible as a “Ready” Action since it was conditional
Or would this be considered an “Attack” Action?
The Ready Action by its very definition is conditional, you choose an a permissible action for your character ( Attack, Cast Spell, Dash, etc.) and a discernable trigger to cause that action to occur. So, yes, a PC can choose to ready an attack as part of their action to be triggered by, in your case, an uncooperative enemy; situations such as those are among the most common reasons to use a Ready Action.
Thank you 🙏🏾
(Okay… Now I’m embarrassed) 😞
Would the trigger have to happen within the Round or at anytime during combat?
Is there an “expiration point” for the trigger is what I’m asking
You have until the start of your next turn to use your readied action or it's forfeit. In most cases this is insignificant, as they can simply take the ready action again on their turn with the same action and trigger; with casting leveled spells however, you do expend the spell slot at the time you ready it, so continuing to ready a leveled spell across multiple turns would burn through slots quickly. Additionally when readying a spell, it requires concentration, so there is a possibility that the spell could be lost if damage is taken or a condition applied that would cause them to loose concentration, before the spell is triggered.
You, my friend, have just earned yourself a “follow”
Thanks again 🙏🏾
Note that actually using your Ready(ed) Action requires you to use your Reaction.
So if you have already used your Reaction for something else (e.g. an opportunity attack, or casting a spell with a casting time of 1 Reaction), then you can no longer use your Readied Action.
(Obviously, when it gets to the start of your next turn, you can choose to Ready the same action again.)
Also note that Ready Action only uses up your Action on your turn - so you are still able to move and use bonus actions on your turn whilst holding the Ready action for some time later.
Also note that the Extra Attack feature only applies on your own turn so if you ready an Attack Action (as in the example) and executes it on someone else's turn then you'd only get to make one attack. Some DM's chooses to ignore this though.
Oh wow...
The nuances in this game is incredible
And I'm almost sure this is "basic" information
I look forward to building my experience with these rules & running the games
It's funny because I had a strong feeling that I wouldn't get to be a player w/my friends I'm pulling into this & dreaded being a DM
But now it's not s'bad 🤷🏾♂️ Thanks
This will not be ignored by me... trust!
Thanks for this 🙏🏾