I am trying to make a build that uses 15 Echo Knight/3 Barbarian/2 Paladin and I was curious if Echo Knight used the player's spell slots or if it has its own.
The echo is not a creature, nor a second PC, or anything like that; it's best of though of as a marker on the map. When you use any ability that lets you attack from the echoes space, it's always you attacking from the echoes space, never the echo itself attacking.
As a bonus action, you can teleport, magically swapping places with your echo...
..any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space...
...use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space...
To clarify some things I was just wondering if Echo Knight also had slots for Divine Smite because I'm multiclassing into Paladin, and since Barbarian CAN use Divine smite while raging I just wanted to fine out how much damage I can do on average turn one. Currently it's 183 but it would increase if Echo Knight does have slots. But from what I can assume from the first reply they don't get spell slots.
To clarify some things I was just wondering if Echo Knight also had slots for Divine Smite because I'm multiclassing into Paladin, and since Barbarian CAN use Divine smite while raging I just wanted to fine out how much damage I can do on average turn one. Currently it's 183 but it would increase if Echo Knight does have slots. But from what I can assume from the first reply they don't get spell slots.
The Echo Knight sub-class doesn't have any spell-casting feature and thus gains no slots. Any slots your character would have would come from your Paladin levels.
The "echo" feature that a Echo Knight have does not create a new or separate creature so that has no bearing at all on your spell slots either. I'd suggest that you re-read the rules for the Echo Knight sub-class as just by asking the question you seem to not have understood it well at all.
I think that is the most common confusion of the Echo Knight subclass...
The Echo that is created is not a new creature. It's more akin to a spell effect... it only has enough stats to make it a viable target for enemies to damage to get rid of it, but virtually everything it does is described as just treating it as though you were in its space.
On the plus side, this makes it easier to "empower" the echo, because if you get some form of bonus to your attack, then when you attack from the echo's space it's still just treated as you attacking. So if you've got a magic weapon, the attack from the echo's location gets all the benefits of whatever magic weapon you're wielding... it doesn't deal it's own unique damage or needs to be empowered separately by spells.
I am trying to make a build that uses 15 Echo Knight/3 Barbarian/2 Paladin and I was curious if Echo Knight used the player's spell slots or if it has its own.
The echo is not a creature, nor a second PC, or anything like that; it's best of though of as a marker on the map. When you use any ability that lets you attack from the echoes space, it's always you attacking from the echoes space, never the echo itself attacking.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
The Echo Knight subclass doesn't give any casting abilities, so it would not gain spell slots. Are you maybe thinking of Eldritch Knight?
I assumed they were talking about the spells they get as a Paladin, since they're planning to multiclass.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
My assumption was that they wanted more spell slots to smite.
To clarify some things I was just wondering if Echo Knight also had slots for Divine Smite because I'm multiclassing into Paladin, and since Barbarian CAN use Divine smite while raging I just wanted to fine out how much damage I can do on average turn one. Currently it's 183 but it would increase if Echo Knight does have slots. But from what I can assume from the first reply they don't get spell slots.
The Echo Knight sub-class doesn't have any spell-casting feature and thus gains no slots. Any slots your character would have would come from your Paladin levels.
The "echo" feature that a Echo Knight have does not create a new or separate creature so that has no bearing at all on your spell slots either. I'd suggest that you re-read the rules for the Echo Knight sub-class as just by asking the question you seem to not have understood it well at all.
I think that is the most common confusion of the Echo Knight subclass...
The Echo that is created is not a new creature. It's more akin to a spell effect... it only has enough stats to make it a viable target for enemies to damage to get rid of it, but virtually everything it does is described as just treating it as though you were in its space.
On the plus side, this makes it easier to "empower" the echo, because if you get some form of bonus to your attack, then when you attack from the echo's space it's still just treated as you attacking. So if you've got a magic weapon, the attack from the echo's location gets all the benefits of whatever magic weapon you're wielding... it doesn't deal it's own unique damage or needs to be empowered separately by spells.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium