Im new to DND (about 4ish months) and I need someone to break this down for me:
Lets say your playing a rouge who wants to use her bonus action to dash with cunning action. Does she move her normal speed, and do her attack and then dash, or does it just turn your movement into a dash and still let you attack?
If you have a bonus action to dash using cunning action you can double your movement without needing to take an action, Eg. you have 35 feet of movement you use cunning action dash your movement is doubled to 70. And its just that. It just turns your movement into a dash action but uses bonus action instead. No OA bonus, or attack bonus and such. just a dash action but as your bonus action
Dash, Disengage, and Hide are all Actions that a player can take on their turn. They are described in the Player's Handbook in Chapter 9: Combat under the Actions in Combat section.
The Rogue's Cunning Action feature allows them to perform these actions using their Bonus Action as well.
Movement in 5e is a bit more complicated than previous editions. You can use your movement at any point during your turn and you don't have to use it all at once. So a 2nd level Human Rogue could move 10ft, use their Attack Action to attack an enemy, use their Bonus Action to Disengage so their movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks, and then finally retreat 20ft. Also for classes like Fighter with Extra Attack, they can move between the individual attacks of their Attack Action.
Finally the Dash action increases your movement available for the turn by your speed after adding all modifiers. So that 2nd level Human Rogue can Dash with their Action to increase their available movement from 30ft to 60ft. Then they can use Cunning Action to Dash with their Bonus Action and increase their available movement from 60ft to 90ft.
You have four things you can do on your turn: Action, Movement, Free Action and Bonus Action. Each of these actions can be done at anytime on your turn in any order, they're separate from each other. You can attack, move and cunning action dash/hide/disengage in any order you want.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I love drow, rogues and Chinese weapons. I mean come on, rope darts are awesome.
My current character is a drow shadow monk, with a "unique" honor code (give him some time, he's working through some stuff). He also sucks on the socialization side of interacting with all other living creatures. which is very fun to RP.
Im new to DND (about 4ish months) and I need someone to break this down for me:
Lets say your playing a rouge who wants to use her bonus action to dash with cunning action. Does she move her normal speed, and do her attack and then dash, or does it just turn your movement into a dash and still let you attack?
Lolths-bane covered it succinctly, but I don't think anyone explained it using sample numbers. So suppose you're an intelligent shade of red that has access to bonus action dash, such as by being a Monk. Let's further suppose your speed is 30, you are holding a shortsword and a spoon and you have a second shortsword sheathed. It is your turn, and you have Extra Attack, so you get 2 attacks per Attack action.
1) You have 30 feet of movement available.
2) At any time during that movement, you can drop your spoon. This is not any kind of action. You could also drop your sword at the same time, because it's entirely free from the perspective of the action economy.
3) Provided you have a free hand - probably due to having dropped your spoon - you can draw your second sword at any time during your movement. This is your 1/turn Item Interaction. If you tried to draw a second sword, you would need to spend your Action doing so.
4) At any time, you can use your Action to attack. Since you get 2 attacks, you could move, attack, move, attack, and then move. Order simply does not matter.
5) At any time you can use your action to Dash, which will raise your total available movement for the turn by 30.
6) Provided you are holding 2 shortswords, once you have attacked with one of them - which is a prerequisite in the rules for two-weapon fighting - you can attack with the other one as a bonus action. Here, order matters because of the twf rule and for no other reason.
7) At any time you can use your bonus action to Dash, which will raise your total movement for the turn by 30.
So you could move 90 feet if you wanted, by Dashing twice (in any order). You could also combine moving, stabbing, and Dashing in any order you like - no matter what order you do them in, you will end up with 60 total feet of movement and, in our hypothetical, 2 stabs that can happenat any time during that 60 feet of movement.
Im new to DND (about 4ish months) and I need someone to break this down for me:
Lets say your playing a rouge who wants to use her bonus action to dash with cunning action. Does she move her normal speed, and do her attack and then dash, or does it just turn your movement into a dash and still let you attack?
If you have a bonus action to dash using cunning action you can double your movement without needing to take an action, Eg. you have 35 feet of movement you use cunning action dash your movement is doubled to 70. And its just that. It just turns your movement into a dash action but uses bonus action instead. No OA bonus, or attack bonus and such. just a dash action but as your bonus action
Dash, Disengage, and Hide are all Actions that a player can take on their turn. They are described in the Player's Handbook in Chapter 9: Combat under the Actions in Combat section.
The Rogue's Cunning Action feature allows them to perform these actions using their Bonus Action as well.
Movement in 5e is a bit more complicated than previous editions. You can use your movement at any point during your turn and you don't have to use it all at once. So a 2nd level Human Rogue could move 10ft, use their Attack Action to attack an enemy, use their Bonus Action to Disengage so their movement doesn't provoke Opportunity Attacks, and then finally retreat 20ft. Also for classes like Fighter with Extra Attack, they can move between the individual attacks of their Attack Action.
Finally the Dash action increases your movement available for the turn by your speed after adding all modifiers. So that 2nd level Human Rogue can Dash with their Action to increase their available movement from 30ft to 60ft. Then they can use Cunning Action to Dash with their Bonus Action and increase their available movement from 60ft to 90ft.
Hopefully this helped.
You have four things you can do on your turn: Action, Movement, Free Action and Bonus Action. Each of these actions can be done at anytime on your turn in any order, they're separate from each other. You can attack, move and cunning action dash/hide/disengage in any order you want.
I love drow, rogues and Chinese weapons. I mean come on, rope darts are awesome.
My current character is a drow shadow monk, with a "unique" honor code (give him some time, he's working through some stuff). He also sucks on the socialization side of interacting with all other living creatures. which is very fun to RP.
Quote from NeoOctronica >>
Lolths-bane covered it succinctly, but I don't think anyone explained it using sample numbers. So suppose you're an intelligent shade of red that has access to bonus action dash, such as by being a Monk. Let's further suppose your speed is 30, you are holding a shortsword and a spoon and you have a second shortsword sheathed. It is your turn, and you have Extra Attack, so you get 2 attacks per Attack action.
1) You have 30 feet of movement available.
2) At any time during that movement, you can drop your spoon. This is not any kind of action. You could also drop your sword at the same time, because it's entirely free from the perspective of the action economy.
3) Provided you have a free hand - probably due to having dropped your spoon - you can draw your second sword at any time during your movement. This is your 1/turn Item Interaction. If you tried to draw a second sword, you would need to spend your Action doing so.
4) At any time, you can use your Action to attack. Since you get 2 attacks, you could move, attack, move, attack, and then move. Order simply does not matter.
5) At any time you can use your action to Dash, which will raise your total available movement for the turn by 30.
6) Provided you are holding 2 shortswords, once you have attacked with one of them - which is a prerequisite in the rules for two-weapon fighting - you can attack with the other one as a bonus action. Here, order matters because of the twf rule and for no other reason.
7) At any time you can use your bonus action to Dash, which will raise your total movement for the turn by 30.
So you could move 90 feet if you wanted, by Dashing twice (in any order). You could also combine moving, stabbing, and Dashing in any order you like - no matter what order you do them in, you will end up with 60 total feet of movement and, in our hypothetical, 2 stabs that can happenat any time during that 60 feet of movement.