OK I'm playing a druid. I want to know what happens if I wild shape while I'm in either someone's mouth or throat. What happens to me and my target? Do I just explode out of them and they die. I need to know.
There isn't a rule that covers this, so it'll be up to your DM. Personally, I would let you kill something once like this (rule of cool). However, afterwards, I would have them barf you out and you fall prone next to them.
People love to assume that magic has infinite strength. Not in the spell. You are attempting to hurt them with your flesh, that is called an unarmed attack. I would rule you can get an attack against AC 10 (no armor, no dex bonus, etc.) A miss means you get spit out but on the plus side a natural 20 gives you a crit.
Basic rule of thumb: Spells and abilities that do not declare that they do damage never do more damage (or more easily) than effects of the same level.
Wild Shape and the rules in general don't offer any guidance for when the space you occupy is smaller than what you can Squeeze into so it will be up to the DM. Personally i may use rules for Improvising Damage (DMG 249) or System Shock (DMG 273) which may harm one or both creatures.
Completely DM dependent, so best to ask them. If you are looking for a tactical use, like changing into a fly, then flying down their throat and turning back to your natural form (takes a bonus action), then I would say you get ejected out of the creature into an adjacent space.
Completely DM dependent, so best to ask them. If you are looking for a tactical use, like changing into a fly, then flying down their throat and turning back to your natural form (takes a bonus action), then I would say you get ejected out of the creature into an adjacent space.
Also, you can only change into a beast with wild shape - and the tiny wild beasts are still quite sizable, such as a cat or crab.
Completely DM dependent, so best to ask them. If you are looking for a tactical use, like changing into a fly, then flying down their throat and turning back to your natural form (takes a bonus action), then I would say you get ejected out of the creature into an adjacent space.
Also, you can only change into a beast with wild shape - and the tiny wild beasts are still quite sizable, such as a cat or crab.
Tiny, the size category, is the smallest, and as such doesn't have a minimum size. A tiny crab could be very tiny indeed. Even the size of a fly, in theory. there are crabs this small irl, after all. A tiny hermit crab, for instance.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Alright but what if I'm swallowed and I wild shape can I just suffocate something while in there throat.
Alright but what if I'm swallowed and I wild shape can I just suffocate something while in their throat?
Yes, if that's how the DM rules it you getting suffocated while in a constricted area and inundated with saliva is also a possibility. As is getting swallowed whole and ending up in the digestive tract.
Just pointing out that "what if" hypotheses can go in a lot of different ways, and not all of them favourable for the player character.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Is this discussion all around a druid being swallowed by some type of creature with a swallow action? Because otherwise, many of these shenanigans are shut down by the general rule that “Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space.”
Or, at least, how does that rule impact the discussion here?
So what creature has swallowed you? Do you have one in mind that we could DM against?
Usually, Swallow-type actions put a creature under various conditions which may make it more of a challenge to do some form of damage from the inside.
Example: A Giant Frog has the following
Swallow. The frog makes one bite attack against a Small or smaller target it is grappling. If the attack hits, the target is swallowed, and the grapple ends. The swallowed target is blinded and restrained, it has total cover against attacks and other effects outside the frog, and it takes 5 (2d4) acid damage at the start of each of the frog's turns. The frog can have only one target swallowed at a time. If the frog dies, a swallowed creature is no longer restrained by it and can escape from the corpse using 5 feet of movement, exiting prone.
I’m just pointing out that ending movement inside another creature’s mouth necessitates ending movement inside another creature’s space, and generally that is not something you can choose to do. That should make this situation a lot more niche than it might seem initially.
I’m just pointing out that ending movement inside another creature’s mouth necessitates ending movement inside another creature’s space, and generally that is not something you can choose to do. That should make this situation a lot more niche than it might seem initially.
That’s a good point and one I hadn’t thought of. So the Druid couldn’t purposely move to get “swallowed” on their turn, then use their BA to return to normal size. But if the druid was already wildshaped and got swallowed by a creature they can use the BA on their turn to return to normal form.
But, again, the other creature would need a special way to do that. Creatures also don't generally have a way of getting a creature into their space (or mouths, for that matter) without something like a swallow ability.
RAW (pretty sure), if the creature is no longer a viable target for the swallow action/trait, the effect should end and you get spat into nearest space.
If I wanted to home brew it, I'd borrow from creatures that can pass through other spaces usually having a line that if they end in an occupied space, both creatures take force damage and the moving creature gers pushed to another space.
RAW (pretty sure), if the creature is no longer a viable target for the swallow action/trait, the effect should end and you get spat into nearest space.
If I wanted to home brew it, I'd borrow from creatures that can pass through other spaces usually having a line that if they end in an occupied space, both creatures take force damage and the moving creature gers pushed to another space.
That seems good, except that this would not deal force damage, as that is basically pure magic damage (me, my DM and some fellow pc's have all made this mistake) not force as in squeezing or pushing. This would be considered bludgeoning damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
RAW (pretty sure), if the creature is no longer a viable target for the swallow action/trait, the effect should end and you get spat into nearest space.
If I wanted to home brew it, I'd borrow from creatures that can pass through other spaces usually having a line that if they end in an occupied space, both creatures take force damage and the moving creature gers pushed to another space.
That seems good, except that this would not deal force damage, as that is basically pure magic damage (me, my DM and some fellow pc's have all made this mistake) not force as in squeezing or pushing. This would be considered bludgeoning damage.
I didn't make a mistake, I was referencing specific creatures. And force damage is often used in place of "true damage" in 5e.
Bludgeoning works. It isn't an attack, so very few creatures resist it.
But, again, the other creature would need a special way to do that. Creatures also don't generally have a way of getting a creature into their space (or mouths, for that matter) without something like a swallow ability.
A creature doesn't need a special trait to be capable of eating. There is a reason this game uses a DM.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I would rule that in the event that you are placed into a creature's mouth and don't have room to move (which differs from a Giant Frog, say) then I'd rule that you are incapacitated and therefore can't choose to turn back. However, if you were, say, a rat you'll take 1 point of damage from stomach acid if swallowed and die and would turn back.
I'd also rule that when turning back, the surroundings would prevent you from doing so and you would die instantly, the same way that if you had turned into a rat and your wildshape ended while you were inside a small crack in the wall, you'd be crushed to death by the wall.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
OK I'm playing a druid. I want to know what happens if I wild shape while I'm in either someone's mouth or throat. What happens to me and my target? Do I just explode out of them and they die. I need to know.
There isn't a rule that covers this, so it'll be up to your DM. Personally, I would let you kill something once like this (rule of cool). However, afterwards, I would have them barf you out and you fall prone next to them.
People love to assume that magic has infinite strength. Not in the spell. You are attempting to hurt them with your flesh, that is called an unarmed attack. I would rule you can get an attack against AC 10 (no armor, no dex bonus, etc.) A miss means you get spit out but on the plus side a natural 20 gives you a crit.
Basic rule of thumb: Spells and abilities that do not declare that they do damage never do more damage (or more easily) than effects of the same level.
Wild Shape and the rules in general don't offer any guidance for when the space you occupy is smaller than what you can Squeeze into so it will be up to the DM. Personally i may use rules for Improvising Damage (DMG 249) or System Shock (DMG 273) which may harm one or both creatures.
Alright but what if I'm swallowed and I wild shape can I just suffocate something while in there throat.
It could be a possibility for the DM to make such ruling yes
Completely DM dependent, so best to ask them. If you are looking for a tactical use, like changing into a fly, then flying down their throat and turning back to your natural form (takes a bonus action), then I would say you get ejected out of the creature into an adjacent space.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Also, you can only change into a beast with wild shape - and the tiny wild beasts are still quite sizable, such as a cat or crab.
Tiny, the size category, is the smallest, and as such doesn't have a minimum size. A tiny crab could be very tiny indeed. Even the size of a fly, in theory. there are crabs this small irl, after all. A tiny hermit crab, for instance.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Alright but what if I'm swallowed and I wild shape can I just suffocate
somethingwhile in their throat?Yes, if that's how the DM rules it you getting suffocated while in a constricted area and inundated with saliva is also a possibility. As is getting swallowed whole and ending up in the digestive tract.
Just pointing out that "what if" hypotheses can go in a lot of different ways, and not all of them favourable for the player character.
Want to start playing but don't have anyone to play with? You can try these options: [link].
Is this discussion all around a druid being swallowed by some type of creature with a swallow action? Because otherwise, many of these shenanigans are shut down by the general rule that “Whether a creature is a friend or an enemy, you can’t willingly end your move in its space.”
Or, at least, how does that rule impact the discussion here?
So what creature has swallowed you? Do you have one in mind that we could DM against?
Usually, Swallow-type actions put a creature under various conditions which may make it more of a challenge to do some form of damage from the inside.
Example: A Giant Frog has the following
I’m just pointing out that ending movement inside another creature’s mouth necessitates ending movement inside another creature’s space, and generally that is not something you can choose to do. That should make this situation a lot more niche than it might seem initially.
That’s a good point and one I hadn’t thought of. So the Druid couldn’t purposely move to get “swallowed” on their turn, then use their BA to return to normal size. But if the druid was already wildshaped and got swallowed by a creature they can use the BA on their turn to return to normal form.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
But, again, the other creature would need a special way to do that. Creatures also don't generally have a way of getting a creature into their space (or mouths, for that matter) without something like a swallow ability.
RAW (pretty sure), if the creature is no longer a viable target for the swallow action/trait, the effect should end and you get spat into nearest space.
If I wanted to home brew it, I'd borrow from creatures that can pass through other spaces usually having a line that if they end in an occupied space, both creatures take force damage and the moving creature gers pushed to another space.
That seems good, except that this would not deal force damage, as that is basically pure magic damage (me, my DM and some fellow pc's have all made this mistake) not force as in squeezing or pushing. This would be considered bludgeoning damage.
Hollow unbreakable arrows are the most OP common magic item, and my current method of coming up with insane combat shenanigans.
if you make a steel pipe with one end closed and a nozzle on the other, you can enlarge it, fill with any liquid, and then drop concentration, creating a high pressure squirt gun. (or a pipe bomb, depending if it holds)
I didn't make a mistake, I was referencing specific creatures. And force damage is often used in place of "true damage" in 5e.
Bludgeoning works. It isn't an attack, so very few creatures resist it.
A creature doesn't need a special trait to be capable of eating. There is a reason this game uses a DM.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
I would rule that in the event that you are placed into a creature's mouth and don't have room to move (which differs from a Giant Frog, say) then I'd rule that you are incapacitated and therefore can't choose to turn back. However, if you were, say, a rat you'll take 1 point of damage from stomach acid if swallowed and die and would turn back.
I'd also rule that when turning back, the surroundings would prevent you from doing so and you would die instantly, the same way that if you had turned into a rat and your wildshape ended while you were inside a small crack in the wall, you'd be crushed to death by the wall.