Can the spell Programmed Illusion be made in a object and carried in you pocket?
For example can I cast the spell in one coin, decide the condition, carry the coin with me and when it occurs the spell trigger? Or it as to be in a specific place and that cant be changed?
The spell targets a point of origin for an area (a 30 ft. cube, to be exact), and you create the illusion within that area. There is no wording to suggest that you could target an object.
I think a good comparison is the Darkness Spell, which has language that overtly calls out that it can be attached to an object, but can also simply target a point in space. If Programmed Illusion was able to do the same thing it would have that additional language as well.
The spell does not target anything. You create an illusion within range. The illusion cannot leave the area of the range at the time the spell was created.
It would take a major house ruling to change that. Huge.
The spell does not target anything. You create an illusion within range. The illusion cannot leave the area of the range at the time the spell was created.
It would take a major house ruling to change that. Huge.
Not that huge. "The coin is treated as the point of origin of the spell when the illusion activates." Boom, 1 sentence, not complicated, no loopholes.
Just requires permission.
How making perception checks with hearing or smell works is a bigger house rule.
Uhm, everything just requires permission. I can play an Ancient Dragon as a Level 1 character, it just requires permission.
What you did with that sentence is make the Range of the spell infinite, that is not a minor thing.
Sure, I guess using any creature's stat block instead of using a character sheet also just requires permission. Of course balancing encounters becomes a lot harder since CR uses character levels for reference and NPC stat blocks don't have a 1 to 1 conversion. So it requires a bit more than just permission after all.
Didn't realize every non instantaneous spell that targets a creature or movable object had effectively infinite range. I guess it isn't entirely untrue, but not helpful in a rules sense.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Simple question;
Can the spell Programmed Illusion be made in a object and carried in you pocket?
For example can I cast the spell in one coin, decide the condition, carry the coin with me and when it occurs the spell trigger?
Or it as to be in a specific place and that cant be changed?
The spell targets a point of origin for an area (a 30 ft. cube, to be exact), and you create the illusion within that area. There is no wording to suggest that you could target an object.
I think a good comparison is the Darkness Spell, which has language that overtly calls out that it can be attached to an object, but can also simply target a point in space. If Programmed Illusion was able to do the same thing it would have that additional language as well.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Yeah, programmed illusion targets an area.
Would need DM approved house ruling.
The spell does not target anything. You create an illusion within range. The illusion cannot leave the area of the range at the time the spell was created.
It would take a major house ruling to change that. Huge.
Not that huge. "The coin is treated as the point of origin of the spell when the illusion activates." Boom, 1 sentence, not complicated, no loopholes.
Just requires permission.
How making perception checks with hearing or smell works is a bigger house rule.
Uhm, everything just requires permission. I can play an Ancient Dragon as a Level 1 character, it just requires permission.
What you did with that sentence is make the Range of the spell infinite, that is not a minor thing.
Sure, I guess using any creature's stat block instead of using a character sheet also just requires permission. Of course balancing encounters becomes a lot harder since CR uses character levels for reference and NPC stat blocks don't have a 1 to 1 conversion. So it requires a bit more than just permission after all.
Didn't realize every non instantaneous spell that targets a creature or movable object had effectively infinite range. I guess it isn't entirely untrue, but not helpful in a rules sense.