Does a creature take damage from spike growth if something else moves it across the terrain? Such as repelling blast, thorn whip, or a monk's open hand shove?
Agreed. My question is, if the area is difficult terrain does a repelling blast move you 10 feet or 5 feet? Would matter as it’s damage per 5 feet moved.
Difficult terrain makes movement cost twice as much speed.
You move at half speed in difficult terrain--moving 1 foot in difficult terrain costs 2 feet of speed--so you can cover only half the normal distance in a minute, an hour, or a day.
Being moved does not use your speed. Repelling blast would still knock you back 10 feet.
Very powerful combo. This spell is clearly designed to be used with some form of forced movement.
Note there is no to hit or save to do the damage. You move, you get hurt. But the damage is relatively low and you can not upcast so it quickly ceases to be a useful spell.
I don't think this ceases to become useful as much as one would think. It is an AoE spell at heart. I always calculate this divided by how many creatures can be stuck in its effect and how many squares they each might move to compare it's usefulness. A level 11 fighter or a paladin using a long sword, maybe using action surge or a level 2 smite, does anywhere from 34.5 to 69 damage on one turn. Spike growth on 3 targets only needs them to move 2 or 5 squares! that's pretty doable. A 20' radius is a large area.
It's still a useful spell when you manage to apply its effects to a group of creatures with low hp. Riding horses, for instance have 13 hp on average. 2d8 damage would take the horse down to about 5 hp assuming the horse stop moving into the field of spikes.
Some spells make a distinction about willing movement or even movement under a creature's own power. Spike growth does not.
When a creature moves into or within the area, it takes 2d4 piercing damage for every 5 feet it travels.
If you move or are moved, you take damage. Consider the example of someone being dragged through the area. The spikes would still pierce them.
Doesn't the "moves" part of "When a creature moves into or within the area" suggest that the damage only applies to when a creature travels using their own movement?
The rules usually use "willingly move" to indicate movement that the creature intentionally initiates. All other movement is just movement. So, No, spike growth isn't limited in that way.
I would house rule that you move 1/2 as much even if you moved via Repelling blast. The power to do the damage comes from whatever moves you, reducing the movement.
Does a creature take damage from spike growth if something else moves it across the terrain? Such as repelling blast, thorn whip, or a monk's open hand shove?
Some spells make a distinction about willing movement or even movement under a creature's own power. Spike growth does not.
If you move or are moved, you take damage. Consider the example of someone being dragged through the area. The spikes would still pierce them.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Agreed. My question is, if the area is difficult terrain does a repelling blast move you 10 feet or 5 feet? Would matter as it’s damage per 5 feet moved.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Difficult terrain makes movement cost twice as much speed.
Being moved does not use your speed. Repelling blast would still knock you back 10 feet.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Very powerful combo. This spell is clearly designed to be used with some form of forced movement.
Note there is no to hit or save to do the damage. You move, you get hurt. But the damage is relatively low and you can not upcast so it quickly ceases to be a useful spell.
I don't think this ceases to become useful as much as one would think. It is an AoE spell at heart. I always calculate this divided by how many creatures can be stuck in its effect and how many squares they each might move to compare it's usefulness. A level 11 fighter or a paladin using a long sword, maybe using action surge or a level 2 smite, does anywhere from 34.5 to 69 damage on one turn. Spike growth on 3 targets only needs them to move 2 or 5 squares! that's pretty doable. A 20' radius is a large area.
It's still a useful spell when you manage to apply its effects to a group of creatures with low hp. Riding horses, for instance have 13 hp on average. 2d8 damage would take the horse down to about 5 hp assuming the horse stop moving into the field of spikes.
I know. Necro. But I have to ask this
Doesn't the "moves" part of "When a creature moves into or within the area" suggest that the damage only applies to when a creature travels using their own movement?
The rules usually use "willingly move" to indicate movement that the creature intentionally initiates. All other movement is just movement. So, No, spike growth isn't limited in that way.
I would house rule that you move 1/2 as much even if you moved via Repelling blast. The power to do the damage comes from whatever moves you, reducing the movement.