if a PC is part of a flanking formation against an enemy, and that PC casts gaseous form on themselves (but stay in the same position), would you say that the enemy is still considered as flanked?
Arguments for - can't see anything in the flanking description that would indicate that flanking rules do not still apply.
Arguments against - the gaseous form is incorporeal.
Totally works. The gaseous creature could drop out of gaseous form at any time and attack, so it still is a threat, and thus requires attention of the flanked enemy.
I would say being in gaseous form works even better than being corporeal because any creature seen taking gaseous form would be regarded as being worthy of attention. Also, if there is a gas cloud behind you, that means a creature can also come through the gas cloud to attack you.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey y'all,
if a PC is part of a flanking formation against an enemy, and that PC casts gaseous form on themselves (but stay in the same position), would you say that the enemy is still considered as flanked?
Arguments for - can't see anything in the flanking description that would indicate that flanking rules do not still apply.
Arguments against - the gaseous form is incorporeal.
Thoughts?
Totally works. The gaseous creature could drop out of gaseous form at any time and attack, so it still is a threat, and thus requires attention of the flanked enemy.
Being incorporeal doesn't prevent flanking.
I would say being in gaseous form works even better than being corporeal because any creature seen taking gaseous form would be regarded as being worthy of attention. Also, if there is a gas cloud behind you, that means a creature can also come through the gas cloud to attack you.