So let's say I make a creature into a longsword, it will become a non-magical longsword. Can I then get the longsword enchanted to be a magic longsword? And if that is the case, can it be dispelled, considering magic items cannot be dispelled unless there is a certain method in the DM's world to dispel the magic on an item?
I would rule that whatever you choose to do with a non-magical object after you polymorph a creature into it, when you cast dispel magic on that item, any spells on that object (including the polymorph) could be dispelled.
Also, none of the rules for creating magic items imply that you are simply enchanting a mundane object. That would be up to the DM's discretion.
And I think you just invented how the base component of magic items will be made in my campaigns from now on. Forget killing things to harvest rare components alone. Want to craft a flame tongue? First, True Polymorph a fire elemental into a sword.
I mean technically that can't happen since True Polymorph can only make non-magical objects XD but you can make it like a Bankai thing where if it stays with the user for a bit of time it just awakens as a flame tongue sword XD
The way I see it, "enchanting" objects isn't a thing in D&D 5th Edition. Magic Item crafting isn't really enchanting. When you create magic items you take components and consume/destroy/transform them into the desired object. It goes from being one object into being another and no longer able to return to being what it was before. Even in an antimagic field the magic is suppressed but the item would still be the new created item - it does not revert to the components, however similar in form those components were (a flame tongue longsword is still a flame tongue longsword even in an antimagic field - it just can't use the magical effects).. I would consider this to be sufficient at reducing the object to 0 hp, so if the object was a result of a true polymorph spell, then the process of trying to use it for a magic item, results in the spell breaking and the object returning back to the creature it was before.
However, there is no definitive ruling here so this is definitely reliant on the DM.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So let's say I make a creature into a longsword, it will become a non-magical longsword. Can I then get the longsword enchanted to be a magic longsword? And if that is the case, can it be dispelled, considering magic items cannot be dispelled unless there is a certain method in the DM's world to dispel the magic on an item?
I would rule that whatever you choose to do with a non-magical object after you polymorph a creature into it, when you cast dispel magic on that item, any spells on that object (including the polymorph) could be dispelled.
Also, none of the rules for creating magic items imply that you are simply enchanting a mundane object. That would be up to the DM's discretion.
And I think you just invented how the base component of magic items will be made in my campaigns from now on. Forget killing things to harvest rare components alone. Want to craft a flame tongue? First, True Polymorph a fire elemental into a sword.
I mean technically that can't happen since True Polymorph can only make non-magical objects XD but you can make it like a Bankai thing where if it stays with the user for a bit of time it just awakens as a flame tongue sword XD
Kinda in DM territory.
The way I see it, "enchanting" objects isn't a thing in D&D 5th Edition. Magic Item crafting isn't really enchanting. When you create magic items you take components and consume/destroy/transform them into the desired object. It goes from being one object into being another and no longer able to return to being what it was before. Even in an antimagic field the magic is suppressed but the item would still be the new created item - it does not revert to the components, however similar in form those components were (a flame tongue longsword is still a flame tongue longsword even in an antimagic field - it just can't use the magical effects).. I would consider this to be sufficient at reducing the object to 0 hp, so if the object was a result of a true polymorph spell, then the process of trying to use it for a magic item, results in the spell breaking and the object returning back to the creature it was before.
However, there is no definitive ruling here so this is definitely reliant on the DM.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.