Hello, I was wondering what the general consensus was for the interactions between the meta magic Twinned Spell and the spell Summon Fey.
Twinned spell stipulates, "When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip)." While Summon Fey indicates, "You call forth a fey spirit. It manifests in an unoccupied space that you can see within range.".
The question becomes, what is the target of Summon Fey? Is it the fey spirit which is summon in a space? Or, is the space where you summon a fey spirit? If the former, I would argue that Summon Fey could be twinned and if it's the latter, then the spell wouldn't be target a creature and thus become an invalid option for Twinned Spell.
"You call forth a fey spirit. It manifests in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. "
The target of summon fey is the unoccupied space that you can see within range. You aren't targeting a creature with the spell, you are summoning one to appear at the space you designate. So, no, it can't be twinned.
To further clarify, the reason the space is the target and not the creature is because the creature is not in range when the spell is cast. from the rules on spell range/targeting:
The target of a spell must be within the spell's range. For a spell like magic missile, the target is a creature. For a spell like fireball, the target is the point in space where the ball of fire erupts.
Spells like gate function similarly. the range of that spell is 60 feet, but the creature summoned can be anywhere in the multiverse, so the "target" by default is the space where the portal opens, not the creature that gets pulled through it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello,
I was wondering what the general consensus was for the interactions between the meta magic Twinned Spell and the spell Summon Fey.
Twinned spell stipulates, "When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn’t have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell’s level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip)." While Summon Fey indicates, "You call forth a fey spirit. It manifests in an unoccupied space that you can see within range.".
The question becomes, what is the target of Summon Fey? Is it the fey spirit which is summon in a space? Or, is the space where you summon a fey spirit?
If the former, I would argue that Summon Fey could be twinned and if it's the latter, then the spell wouldn't be target a creature and thus become an invalid option for Twinned Spell.
"You call forth a fey spirit. It manifests in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. "
The target of summon fey is the unoccupied space that you can see within range. You aren't targeting a creature with the spell, you are summoning one to appear at the space you designate. So, no, it can't be twinned.
To further clarify, the reason the space is the target and not the creature is because the creature is not in range when the spell is cast. from the rules on spell range/targeting:
Spells like gate function similarly. the range of that spell is 60 feet, but the creature summoned can be anywhere in the multiverse, so the "target" by default is the space where the portal opens, not the creature that gets pulled through it.