Hi I am trying to clarify how the rules for infusions work as my player and I are a little confused.
From reading the rules I take it as an artificer may cast a number of infusions as defined by their level each day, but infusions last until either the player dies or casts onto a new item. This means that if an artificer knows 4 infusions and is able to cast 2 a day after 2 days they can have all infusions running. My player understands it slightly differently believing that he may cast his infusions daily and this is it, so he can have 2 infusions running a day and then the next day he either casts the same 2 again or 2 different ones and that is it.
Can someone please clarify which of these approaches is RAW as the rules seem a little ambiguous.
(At 2nd level) an Artificer can "know" 4 infusions, but can only have 2 at a time. They can re-chose which 2 (of the 4) after a long rest.
That really seems to contradict the way the rules are written.
Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see the attunement rules in the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.
If an infusion ends on an item that contains other things, like a bag of holding, its contents harmlessly appear in and around its space.
What is the point of an infusion remaining indefinitely if you have to replace it daily? To my mind Artificer can cast infusions 1 and 2 today say on his axe and armour, then tomorrow infusions 1 and 2 are still in play but he can also cast 3 and 4 say on a party members equipment.
When in doubt always check the table. No text to understand there. There is a column that says Infused Items. That is the maximum number of infusions you can run at the same time.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
Your player is mostly right, he just doesn't have to recast the infusions. They simply last unless he uses any new infusions.
Think of infusions as spells in a spellbook. He might have 4, but can only prepare 2. He doesn't have to prepare new ones every day, or prepare them again, unless he wants to change.
What is the point of an infusion remaining indefinitely if you have to replace it daily? To my mind Artificer can cast infusions 1 and 2 today say on his axe and armour, then tomorrow infusions 1 and 2 are still in play but he can also cast 3 and 4 say on a party members equipment.
You do not need to replace it daily. You can, if you want to, say, change which ones you are using. However, they do not accumulate.
When in doubt always check the table. No text to understand there. There is a column that says Infused Items. That is the maximum number of infusions you can run at the same time.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
Your player is mostly right, he just doesn't have to recast the infusions. They simply last unless he uses any new infusions.
Think of infusions as spells in a spellbook. He might have 4, but can only prepare 2. He doesn't have to prepare new ones every day, or prepare them again, unless he wants to change.
Ok I was taking that as the number of infused items each day, this kind of makes all the other rules obsolete really and really seems to limit Artificers in the game so I think I will house rule this the way I understand it but let him know it is my house rule incase he plays Artificer for another DM.
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see the attunement rules in the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.
If an infusion ends on an item that contains other things, like a bag of holding, its contents harmlessly appear in and around its space.
There is a lot of information to sift through, but it is all there when you look close enough.
When in doubt always check the table. No text to understand there. There is a column that says Infused Items. That is the maximum number of infusions you can run at the same time.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
Your player is mostly right, he just doesn't have to recast the infusions. They simply last unless he uses any new infusions.
Think of infusions as spells in a spellbook. He might have 4, but can only prepare 2. He doesn't have to prepare new ones every day, or prepare them again, unless he wants to change.
Ok I was taking that as the number of infused items each day, this kind of makes all the other rules obsolete really and really seems to limit Artificers in the game so I think I will house rule this the way I understand it but let him know it is my house rule incase he plays Artificer for another DM.
It seems pretty limiting, but you'll be surprised just how major of an impact it can have on a party's viability to have 4 "free" magic items at level 2. Although I suppose it depends on how much of a min-maxer your Artificer is...
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see the attunement rules in the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.
If an infusion ends on an item that contains other things, like a bag of holding, its contents harmlessly appear in and around its space.
There is a lot of information to sift through, but it is all there when you look close enough.
Again you say that The maximum number of items you can infuse to me means that day, existing infusions keep running, I think in my head I have a way artificers should play which is slightly different to this, but you are right once you start to unpick it it does start to make a bit more sense.
When in doubt always check the table. No text to understand there. There is a column that says Infused Items. That is the maximum number of infusions you can run at the same time.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies.
Your player is mostly right, he just doesn't have to recast the infusions. They simply last unless he uses any new infusions.
Think of infusions as spells in a spellbook. He might have 4, but can only prepare 2. He doesn't have to prepare new ones every day, or prepare them again, unless he wants to change.
Ok I was taking that as the number of infused items each day, this kind of makes all the other rules obsolete really and really seems to limit Artificers in the game so I think I will house rule this the way I understand it but let him know it is my house rule incase he plays Artificer for another DM.
It seems pretty limiting, but you'll be surprised just how major of an impact it can have on a party's viability to have 4 "free" magic items at level 2. Although I suppose it depends on how much of a min-maxer your Artificer is...
I think, because my party is 8-9 players strong it actually becomes less of a benefit to the party as it will still only be 50% of the party. I might see how it runs with my houserule, the player will be fine with switching back if it gets a bit too over the top.
And its not a per day thing its a at a time. So 4 infusions known but you have only have 2 active infusions at anyone time. If you take a long rest and say make a third one then the first one stops working. And while it may not seem big now later it can be pretty big with the coping some magic items. This would coincide with the limit on attuned items too. So while at early lvls it seems harmless, its the higher lvls you need to worry about in the end. 6 attuned magic items, up to 6 free magic items that can be give out to the part for the most part. With the ability to swap out items on a long rest. This is a very versatile tool kit.....
* Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.
* Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day).
* You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table.
Please note, that the infused items column, SPECIFICALLY REFERS TO the maximum number of objects, which you can create at the end of a long rest. It stacks with previous items. However, you can only have 1 infusion on 1 item at a time, so no multiple bags of holding or boots of flying. This means that an Artificer can have a maximum of 12 infused items. This would also make it more in line with the warlocks invocations. a warlock gets 8 invocations, while an artificer has 12. BUT! the warlock gets acces to a 6-7-8-9th level spell as a tradeoff.
Having a max of 12 infused items also gives the oppertunity for the artificer to actually buff the party, without losing out on essential class features.
* Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.
* Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day).
* You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table.
Please note, that the infused items column, SPECIFICALLY REFERS TO the maximum number of objects, which you can create at the end of a long rest. It stacks with previous items. However, you can only have 1 infusion on 1 item at a time, so no multiple bags of holding or boots of flying. This means that an Artificer can have a maximum of 12 infused items. This would also make it more in line with the warlocks invocations. a warlock gets 8 invocations, while an artificer has 12. BUT! the warlock gets acces to a 6-7-8-9th level spell as a tradeoff.
Having a max of 12 infused items also gives the oppertunity for the artificer to actually buff the party, without losing out on essential class features.
You seem to have overlooked the rest of the paragraph you were quoting.
"the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table."
"If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies."
An artificer is limited to only the maximum number of infusions listed in the table which is not 12. If they try to infuse any more than the number listed in the table, the oldest infusion immediately ends.
* Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.
* Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day).
* You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table.
Please note, that the infused items column, SPECIFICALLY REFERS TO the maximum number of objects, which you can create at the end of a long rest. It stacks with previous items. However, you can only have 1 infusion on 1 item at a time, so no multiple bags of holding or boots of flying. This means that an Artificer can have a maximum of 12 infused items. This would also make it more in line with the warlocks invocations. a warlock gets 8 invocations, while an artificer has 12. BUT! the warlock gets acces to a 6-7-8-9th level spell as a tradeoff.
Having a max of 12 infused items also gives the oppertunity for the artificer to actually buff the party, without losing out on essential class features.
David42 is correct. It’s not maximum infusions per day, just maximum infusions. The long rest part is only for how you initially infuse and item or if you want to switch your infusions ( you have a bag of holding but you now would rather have a +1 on your armor for better AC) without resorting to killing yourself and having someone raise you from the dead days later.
The wording is quite complicated because you do not have to reinfuse an item each day. This is a bit better than a forge clerics blessing of the forge as it allows the Artificer to give an infused item to someone who will be away from him for a few days or if the Artificer dies the rest of the party can still use the infused items for a few days (for example while they take his body to a cleric to cast raise dead).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi I am trying to clarify how the rules for infusions work as my player and I are a little confused.
From reading the rules I take it as an artificer may cast a number of infusions as defined by their level each day, but infusions last until either the player dies or casts onto a new item. This means that if an artificer knows 4 infusions and is able to cast 2 a day after 2 days they can have all infusions running. My player understands it slightly differently believing that he may cast his infusions daily and this is it, so he can have 2 infusions running a day and then the next day he either casts the same 2 again or 2 different ones and that is it.
Can someone please clarify which of these approaches is RAW as the rules seem a little ambiguous.
(At 2nd level) an Artificer can "know" 4 infusions, but can only have 2 at a time. They can re-choose which 2 (of the 4) after a long rest.
That really seems to contradict the way the rules are written.
Infusing an Item
Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item. An infusion works on only certain kinds of objects, as specified in the infusion's description. If the item requires attunement, you can attune yourself to it the instant you infuse the item. If you decide to attune to the item later, you must do so using the normal process for attunement (see the attunement rules in the Dungeon Master's Guide).
Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day). The infusion also vanishes if you replace your knowledge of the infusion.
You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table. You must touch each of the objects, and each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time. Moreover, no object can bear more than one of your infusions at a time. If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion ends, and then the new infusion applies.
If an infusion ends on an item that contains other things, like a bag of holding, its contents harmlessly appear in and around its space.
What is the point of an infusion remaining indefinitely if you have to replace it daily? To my mind Artificer can cast infusions 1 and 2 today say on his axe and armour, then tomorrow infusions 1 and 2 are still in play but he can also cast 3 and 4 say on a party members equipment.
When in doubt always check the table. No text to understand there. There is a column that says Infused Items. That is the maximum number of infusions you can run at the same time.
Your player is mostly right, he just doesn't have to recast the infusions. They simply last unless he uses any new infusions.
Think of infusions as spells in a spellbook. He might have 4, but can only prepare 2. He doesn't have to prepare new ones every day, or prepare them again, unless he wants to change.
You do not need to replace it daily. You can, if you want to, say, change which ones you are using. However, they do not accumulate.
Ok I was taking that as the number of infused items each day, this kind of makes all the other rules obsolete really and really seems to limit Artificers in the game so I think I will house rule this the way I understand it but let him know it is my house rule incase he plays Artificer for another DM.
There is a lot of information to sift through, but it is all there when you look close enough.
It seems pretty limiting, but you'll be surprised just how major of an impact it can have on a party's viability to have 4 "free" magic items at level 2. Although I suppose it depends on how much of a min-maxer your Artificer is...
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Again you say that The maximum number of items you can infuse to me means that day, existing infusions keep running, I think in my head I have a way artificers should play which is slightly different to this, but you are right once you start to unpick it it does start to make a bit more sense.
I think, because my party is 8-9 players strong it actually becomes less of a benefit to the party as it will still only be 50% of the party. I might see how it runs with my houserule, the player will be fine with switching back if it gets a bit too over the top.
Oh, well, balancing is a nightmare for a 9-player party anyway, so the artificer having a few extra infusions is gonna be the least of your problem.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
And its not a per day thing its a at a time. So 4 infusions known but you have only have 2 active infusions at anyone time. If you take a long rest and say make a third one then the first one stops working. And while it may not seem big now later it can be pretty big with the coping some magic items. This would coincide with the limit on attuned items too. So while at early lvls it seems harmless, its the higher lvls you need to worry about in the end. 6 attuned magic items, up to 6 free magic items that can be give out to the part for the most part. With the ability to swap out items on a long rest. This is a very versatile tool kit.....
* Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.
* Your infusion remains in an item indefinitely, but when you die, the infusion vanishes after a number of days equal to your Intelligence modifier (minimum of 1 day).
* You can infuse more than one nonmagical object at the end of a long rest; the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table.
Please note, that the infused items column, SPECIFICALLY REFERS TO the maximum number of objects, which you can create at the end of a long rest. It stacks with previous items. However, you can only have 1 infusion on 1 item at a time, so no multiple bags of holding or boots of flying.
This means that an Artificer can have a maximum of 12 infused items. This would also make it more in line with the warlocks invocations. a warlock gets 8 invocations, while an artificer has 12. BUT! the warlock gets acces to a 6-7-8-9th level spell as a tradeoff.
Having a max of 12 infused items also gives the oppertunity for the artificer to actually buff the party, without losing out on essential class features.
You seem to have overlooked the rest of the paragraph you were quoting.
"the maximum number of objects appears in the Infused Items column of the Artificer table."
"If you try to exceed your maximum number of infusions, the oldest infusion immediately ends, and then the new infusion applies."
An artificer is limited to only the maximum number of infusions listed in the table which is not 12. If they try to infuse any more than the number listed in the table, the oldest infusion immediately ends.
David42 is correct. It’s not maximum infusions per day, just maximum infusions. The long rest part is only for how you initially infuse and item or if you want to switch your infusions ( you have a bag of holding but you now would rather have a +1 on your armor for better AC) without resorting to killing yourself and having someone raise you from the dead days later.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
The wording is quite complicated because you do not have to reinfuse an item each day. This is a bit better than a forge clerics blessing of the forge as it allows the Artificer to give an infused item to someone who will be away from him for a few days or if the Artificer dies the rest of the party can still use the infused items for a few days (for example while they take his body to a cleric to cast raise dead).