Say a wizard takes the Shadow-touched feat to increase his Wisdom (don't ask). He get free casts of Invisibility and Disguise Self (his chosen first-level spell) once per day using Wisdom as his spellcasting ability. He can also use his spell slots to cast these spells. Both spells are also on the wizard spell list. Do the spells provided by the feats count as being prepared? This would imply that if the wizard wants to cast Disguise Self using a spell slot, he could use his Intelligence instead of Wisdom to do so. Otherwise, I assume the spells would need to be prepared separately if the wizard wanted to cast them using his Intelligence.
In the "typical" case where a "Touched" feat is used to increase the caster's preferred casting ability, treating the bonus spells as prepared has no impact on game mechanics. However, in the scenario above, it makes a difference and leads to a somewhat cumbersome choice: either casting the spells with a lower DC (a non-issue for Invisibility and minor issue for Disguise Self) or inefficient spell preparation (as both spells get added to the wizard's prepared list just so he can cast them using Intelligence).
No, the spells do not count as prepared in the ways that interact with prepared spells from a class or subclass. They are simply Known... similar to spells gained from a Race. The best workaround I can think of is, once you know a spell, you can create a spell scroll, then transcribe that spell scroll into your spellbook and then it will be a known spell in that way, and would still allow for the single free casting that the feat grants.
Spell slots are a character resource, not a class resource. So when a feat like Fey Touched says you can cast a spell using your spell slots you simply can. When you do, you use the spell casting modifier specified by the feature that gives you access to the spell.
As a wizard you have the option add new wizard spells to your spellbook. So if the spells you chose are on the wizard spell list you could scribe a scroll using the rules from Xanathar's Guide to Everything and then copy the spell from the scroll into your spellbook. Once in your spellbook you would then have to prepare it if you wanted to cast the spell using your intelligence modifier.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I think I know the answer to this one...
Say a wizard takes the Shadow-touched feat to increase his Wisdom (don't ask). He get free casts of Invisibility and Disguise Self (his chosen first-level spell) once per day using Wisdom as his spellcasting ability. He can also use his spell slots to cast these spells. Both spells are also on the wizard spell list. Do the spells provided by the feats count as being prepared? This would imply that if the wizard wants to cast Disguise Self using a spell slot, he could use his Intelligence instead of Wisdom to do so. Otherwise, I assume the spells would need to be prepared separately if the wizard wanted to cast them using his Intelligence.
In the "typical" case where a "Touched" feat is used to increase the caster's preferred casting ability, treating the bonus spells as prepared has no impact on game mechanics. However, in the scenario above, it makes a difference and leads to a somewhat cumbersome choice: either casting the spells with a lower DC (a non-issue for Invisibility and minor issue for Disguise Self) or inefficient spell preparation (as both spells get added to the wizard's prepared list just so he can cast them using Intelligence).
No, the spells do not count as prepared in the ways that interact with prepared spells from a class or subclass. They are simply Known... similar to spells gained from a Race. The best workaround I can think of is, once you know a spell, you can create a spell scroll, then transcribe that spell scroll into your spellbook and then it will be a known spell in that way, and would still allow for the single free casting that the feat grants.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Thanks. That is what I interpreted.
Spells granted by feats and races count as spells known, not prepared - https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/sac/sage-advice-compendium#SA019
Spell slots are a character resource, not a class resource. So when a feat like Fey Touched says you can cast a spell using your spell slots you simply can. When you do, you use the spell casting modifier specified by the feature that gives you access to the spell.
As a wizard you have the option add new wizard spells to your spellbook. So if the spells you chose are on the wizard spell list you could scribe a scroll using the rules from Xanathar's Guide to Everything and then copy the spell from the scroll into your spellbook. Once in your spellbook you would then have to prepare it if you wanted to cast the spell using your intelligence modifier.