Kinda newbie to 5e and having difficulty finding guidance on how this “that you can see” requirement works. Apologies in advance. Spells I have with this requirement include spirit guardians. Do I have to be able to simultaneously see all of my allies for them to be safe in the AoE, or can I just look around and be aware of them? Do they have to be in the AoE when initially cast or can I designate someone outside the AoE and they are safe when they later enter it? Do I have to continually see them during the spell’s duration so they get targeted if I’m later blinded or if they hide or take cover? For other spells or features, like healing, can I see myself, as in look at my hands etc? These are questions.
Verbiage like "that you can see" implies that if your character is able to "see" the target at the moment of casting then the effects of the spell can be placed. So you can't cast an area of effect spell on the other side of a barrier or target an invisible creature or if you are under the blinded condition.
In your example, if you can reasonable see all your companions while you are casting a spell (so looking around for 6 seconds) then you can designate them as being protected. However, if a character was invisible the DM may rule you cannot designate them.
"When you cast this spell, you can designate any number of creatures you can see to be unaffected by it."
You only need to see then when you cast the spell, this part is not restricted by the area of the spell so for example if one of your allies is 60ft away as long as you can see them you can still exclude them so they are not affected if they later enter the spells area. 5e doesn't have facing rules it assumes you can see 360 degrees all the time so if one friend is north of you and another is south of you that is not a problem. However if one of your friends is behind full cover (for example they are round a corner or dehind a large rock you would not be able designate them to be unaffected by the spell.
Do they have to be in the AoE when initially cast or can I designate someone outside the AoE and they are safe when they later enter it?
There is no range associated with 'that you can see' unless it specifically says so, like Healing Word or Blindness/Deafness, which says 'that you can see within range.' The only limit is your sight, which may be hampered by the things already listed, someone with a high stealth, or lack of/range of darkvision.
There is no facing in D&D, so "that you can see" includes people behind you as well as in front of you (assuming there's no other reason you wouldn't be able to see them, such as darkness or behind cover).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Kinda newbie to 5e and having difficulty finding guidance on how this “that you can see” requirement works. Apologies in advance. Spells I have with this requirement include spirit guardians. Do I have to be able to simultaneously see all of my allies for them to be safe in the AoE, or can I just look around and be aware of them? Do they have to be in the AoE when initially cast or can I designate someone outside the AoE and they are safe when they later enter it? Do I have to continually see them during the spell’s duration so they get targeted if I’m later blinded or if they hide or take cover? For other spells or features, like healing, can I see myself, as in look at my hands etc? These are questions.
Verbiage like "that you can see" implies that if your character is able to "see" the target at the moment of casting then the effects of the spell can be placed. So you can't cast an area of effect spell on the other side of a barrier or target an invisible creature or if you are under the blinded condition.
In your example, if you can reasonable see all your companions while you are casting a spell (so looking around for 6 seconds) then you can designate them as being protected. However, if a character was invisible the DM may rule you cannot designate them.
"When you cast this spell, you can designate any number of creatures you can see to be unaffected by it."
You only need to see then when you cast the spell, this part is not restricted by the area of the spell so for example if one of your allies is 60ft away as long as you can see them you can still exclude them so they are not affected if they later enter the spells area. 5e doesn't have facing rules it assumes you can see 360 degrees all the time so if one friend is north of you and another is south of you that is not a problem. However if one of your friends is behind full cover (for example they are round a corner or dehind a large rock you would not be able designate them to be unaffected by the spell.
There is no range associated with 'that you can see' unless it specifically says so, like Healing Word or Blindness/Deafness, which says 'that you can see within range.' The only limit is your sight, which may be hampered by the things already listed, someone with a high stealth, or lack of/range of darkvision.
Yes, you can pretty much always see and touch yourself. Excepting maybe if you're invisible.
Birgit | Shifter | Sorcerer | Dragonlords
Shayone | Hobgoblin | Sorcerer | Netherdeep
There is no facing in D&D, so "that you can see" includes people behind you as well as in front of you (assuming there's no other reason you wouldn't be able to see them, such as darkness or behind cover).