"You can avoid provoking an opportunity Attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an opportunity Attackwhen you Teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your Movement, action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if gravity causes you to fall past an enemy." (https://roll20.net/compendium/dnd5e/Combat#toc_40)
No. To quote from roll20 (as it was the easiest resource to check quickly):
"You also don’t provoke an opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your Movement, action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if gravity causes you to fall past an enemy."
Nope. However, you can telekinetically shove a creature into a Wall of Fire, Hunger of Hadar, or even off a cliff. DM may give the enemy a save to fall prone or hang on; up to the DM.
It will not. There are better answers above, but think of it this way: Imagine that you get blasted back by a thunder wave. Are you going to be trying to attack the person who was 5 feet in front of you, or are you more concerned about trying to not fall back due to the blast?
1. If you move yourself then you can provoke an opportunity attack.
2. If someone or something else moves you, you cannot provoke an opportunity attack.
This also means an ally can pull your prone body away from an enemy. Depending on positioning they may provoke an opportunity attack, but your body does not. Not RAW anyways.
...unless you move yourself via Telekinetic Shove...because it's moving you via Bonus Action, not Action, Reaction or Movement.
1. If you move yourself then you can provoke an opportunity attack.
2. If someone or something else moves you, you cannot provoke an opportunity attack.
This also means an ally can pull your prone body away from an enemy. Depending on positioning they may provoke an opportunity attack, but your body does not. Not RAW anyways.
...unless you move yourself via Telekinetic Shove...because it's moving you via Bonus Action, not Action, Reaction or Movement.
What gave you the false impression that moving with a bonus action is different than with an action or reaction?
Telekinetic Shoving yourself is indeed moving yourself “without using your Movement, action, or Reaction.” What makes you think that’s not true?
Exactly. Movement, Action, and Reaction are all specific game/combat mechanics. Bonus action is as well, and is not listed. If you were using Dash as a bonus action (as in Expeditious Retreat), that'd still trigger AoOs as it uses your movement to do so. Telekinetic Shove does not use your movement, and it falls nowhere within the AoO language. So RAW, it works unless there's some other nugget elsewhere suggesting it wouldn't.
Now, I don't think it should as far as RAI. It's good enough without it and that'd basically be a free disengage. But that's how it's written at the moment.
You can’t move yourself with the telekinetic shove. The movement has to be either toward you or away from you, neither of which is possible to do when the target is you.
I think targeting yourself is fine; there’s just nowhere you can move that satisfies the effect, so no movement is possible.
You can’t move yourself with the telekinetic shove. The movement has to be either toward you or away from you, neither of which is possible to do when the target is you.
I think targeting yourself is fine; there’s just nowhere you can move that satisfies the effect, so no movement is possible.
Telekinetic Shoving yourself is indeed moving yourself “without using your Movement, action, or Reaction.” What makes you think that’s not true?
Exactly. Movement, Action, and Reaction are all specific game/combat mechanics. Bonus action is as well, and is not listed. If you were using Dash as a bonus action (as in Expeditious Retreat), that'd still trigger AoOs as it uses your movement to do so. Telekinetic Shove does not use your movement, and it falls nowhere within the AoO language. So RAW, it works unless there's some other nugget elsewhere suggesting it wouldn't.
Now, I don't think it should as far as RAI. It's good enough without it and that'd basically be a free disengage. But that's how it's written at the moment.
I'm noticing that the wording on that is very, very specific. Movement is capitalized. So is Reaction. But "action" is not. To me, that suggests it means ANY type of action, of which there are two: Action and Bonus Action. And it is more efficient to write it that way, rather than, "your Movement, Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction."
You are indeed using "an action"--specifically, your Bonus Action--when you shove yourself with Telekinetic. (And that's presuming your DM even lets you do that in the first place.)
If the intent was to make “action” represent all types of actions then why include reaction as another example of an action?
I think it’s more likely they forgot to capitalize the A in action than to somehow make the uncapitalized word “action” represent all actions while also unnecessarily adding reaction afterward, since a reaction is also an action.
If the intent was to make “action” represent all types of actions then why include reaction as another example of an action?
I think it’s more likely they forgot to capitalize the A in action than to somehow make the uncapitalized word “action” represent all actions while also unnecessarily adding reaction afterward, since a reaction is also an action.
Counterpoint: this question in the SAC:
Does using a bonus action break invisibility from a warlock’s One with Shadows invocation?
If the intent was to make “action” represent all types of actions then why include reaction as another example of an action?
I think it’s more likely they forgot to capitalize the A in action than to somehow make the uncapitalized word “action” represent all actions while also unnecessarily adding reaction afterward, since a reaction is also an action.
To add to the counterpoint above, for them to have forgotten, they would have also forgotten to add a link. But didn't forget the other links. That, to me, makes it seem far less likely that they just slipped up.
As written, the rules would allow you to move yourself with Telekinesis. I wouldn't allow it. It opens up the door to all sorts of odd movement shenanigans.
If you did get to move yourself around, and you moved back out of reach of an opponents, they would most certainly get an Attack Of Opportunity. I'd guess that shoving someone else away from an opponent would not give anyone a free shot.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
<Insert clever signature here>
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
See question
Short Answer: No, it does not.
Long Answer: No, it does not because -
"You can avoid provoking an opportunity Attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don’t provoke an opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your Movement, action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if gravity causes you to fall past an enemy." (https://roll20.net/compendium/dnd5e/Combat#toc_40)
Shortest answer: No.
See answer above
I would say no because it happens to fast.
No. To quote from roll20 (as it was the easiest resource to check quickly):
"You also don’t provoke an opportunity Attack when you Teleport or when someone or something moves you without using your Movement, action, or Reaction. For example, you don’t provoke an opportunity Attack if an explosion hurls you out of a foe’s reach or if gravity causes you to fall past an enemy."
Nope. However, you can telekinetically shove a creature into a Wall of Fire, Hunger of Hadar, or even off a cliff. DM may give the enemy a save to fall prone or hang on; up to the DM.
It will not. There are better answers above, but think of it this way: Imagine that you get blasted back by a thunder wave. Are you going to be trying to attack the person who was 5 feet in front of you, or are you more concerned about trying to not fall back due to the blast?
...unless you move yourself via Telekinetic Shove...because it's moving you via Bonus Action, not Action, Reaction or Movement.
What gave you the false impression that moving with a bonus action is different than with an action or reaction?
Telekinetic Shoving yourself is indeed moving yourself “without using your Movement, action, or Reaction.” What makes you think that’s not true?
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Exactly. Movement, Action, and Reaction are all specific game/combat mechanics. Bonus action is as well, and is not listed. If you were using Dash as a bonus action (as in Expeditious Retreat), that'd still trigger AoOs as it uses your movement to do so. Telekinetic Shove does not use your movement, and it falls nowhere within the AoO language. So RAW, it works unless there's some other nugget elsewhere suggesting it wouldn't.
Now, I don't think it should as far as RAI. It's good enough without it and that'd basically be a free disengage. But that's how it's written at the moment.
You can’t move yourself with the telekinetic shove. The movement has to be either toward you or away from you, neither of which is possible to do when the target is you.
I think targeting yourself is fine; there’s just nowhere you can move that satisfies the effect, so no movement is possible.
True... I was confusing it with Crusher, which is 5 in any direction.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Ahhhh good catch. There we go.
I'm noticing that the wording on that is very, very specific. Movement is capitalized. So is Reaction. But "action" is not. To me, that suggests it means ANY type of action, of which there are two: Action and Bonus Action. And it is more efficient to write it that way, rather than, "your Movement, Action, Bonus Action, or Reaction."
You are indeed using "an action"--specifically, your Bonus Action--when you shove yourself with Telekinetic. (And that's presuming your DM even lets you do that in the first place.)
Sterling - V. Human Bard 3 (College of Art) - [Pic] - [Traits] - in Bards: Dragon Heist (w/ Mansion) - Jasper's [Pic] - Sterling's [Sigil]
Tooltips Post (2024 PHB updates) - incl. General Rules
>> New FOW threat & treasure tables: fow-advanced-threat-tables.pdf fow-advanced-treasure-table.pdf
If the intent was to make “action” represent all types of actions then why include reaction as another example of an action?
I think it’s more likely they forgot to capitalize the A in action than to somehow make the uncapitalized word “action” represent all actions while also unnecessarily adding reaction afterward, since a reaction is also an action.
Counterpoint: this question in the SAC:
Here's the wording of One with Shadows, for reference:
To add to the counterpoint above, for them to have forgotten, they would have also forgotten to add a link. But didn't forget the other links. That, to me, makes it seem far less likely that they just slipped up.
Sterling - V. Human Bard 3 (College of Art) - [Pic] - [Traits] - in Bards: Dragon Heist (w/ Mansion) - Jasper's [Pic] - Sterling's [Sigil]
Tooltips Post (2024 PHB updates) - incl. General Rules
>> New FOW threat & treasure tables: fow-advanced-threat-tables.pdf fow-advanced-treasure-table.pdf
As written, the rules would allow you to move yourself with Telekinesis. I wouldn't allow it. It opens up the door to all sorts of odd movement shenanigans.
If you did get to move yourself around, and you moved back out of reach of an opponents, they would most certainly get an Attack Of Opportunity. I'd guess that shoving someone else away from an opponent would not give anyone a free shot.
<Insert clever signature here>