I am confused by the 7th level Barbarian feature Instinctive Pounce. It states "As part of the bonus action you take to enter your rage, you can move up to half your speed." Does this mean you have extra movement during that turn or does it use half of your movement?
I am confused by the 7th level Barbarian feature Instinctive Pounce. It states "As part of the bonus action you take to enter your rage, you can move up to half your speed." Does this mean you have extra movement during that turn or does it use half of your movement?
Extra movement. You can already move up to your full movement in addition to making a bonus action (plus an action) on your turn, so a feature that allowed to you to use half of it wouldn't actually be doing anything for you.
I would like to add an adjoining question in regards to Instinctive Pounce.
If an effect would happen as you go into Rage, such as the Wild Surge of the Wild Magic Barbarian, can you choose the order of the Rage?
Such as choosing to roll for the Wild Surge before using your Pounce movement or vice versa.
If two or more things happen at the same time on a character or monster’s turn, the person at the game table — whether player or DM — who controls that creature decides the order in which those things happen.
Another question that I can't for the life of me find an answer to. If a character with 25ft movement uses instinctive pounce, do you round down or up when calculating half of that character's movement?
Another question that I can't for the life of me find an answer to. If a character with 25ft movement uses instinctive pounce, do you round down or up when calculating half of that character's movement?
Is it 15ft or 10ft
From the Player's Handbook, under "How to Play":
"There’s one more general rule you need to know at the outset. Whenever you divide a number in the game, round down if you end up with a fraction, even if the fraction is one-half or greater."
There are only a couple of exceptions, like rounding up average HP when levelling up.
Another question that I can't for the life of me find an answer to. If a character with 25ft movement uses instinctive pounce, do you round down or up when calculating half of that character's movement?
Is it 15ft or 10ft
You don't round by 5's. You would have 12.5 ft of movement which then rounds down to 12, and since that is lower than 15 you would in most cases effectively have 10 ft. Sorry if this seems like a pointless distinction, but I wanted to outline the full process of determining your new movement.
I'd like to point out that by the time a barbarian character gets Instinctive Pounce, they've already gained Fast Movement so if their racial base movement was 25, their movement rate would have gone up to 35 and thus they'd get 15ft of movement from Instinctive Pounce.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
In this case you do, because movement is in increments of 5
As far as I know this is not a general rule for movement. At best, this is something that only comes into play when using grid-based play, if at all.
This is the actual answer. The rounding is done specifically for playing on a grid, but if not using a grid (which the rules work just as well for), any rounding would only be to the nearest foot.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am confused by the 7th level Barbarian feature Instinctive Pounce. It states "As part of the bonus action you take to enter your rage, you can move up to half your speed." Does this mean you have extra movement during that turn or does it use half of your movement?
It's extra movement that round.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
I would like to add an adjoining question in regards to Instinctive Pounce.
If an effect would happen as you go into Rage, such as the Wild Surge of the Wild Magic Barbarian, can you choose the order of the Rage?
Such as choosing to roll for the Wild Surge before using your Pounce movement or vice versa.
Extra movement. You can already move up to your full movement in addition to making a bonus action (plus an action) on your turn, so a feature that allowed to you to use half of it wouldn't actually be doing anything for you.
So, yeah, you can choose the order.
Another question that I can't for the life of me find an answer to. If a character with 25ft movement uses instinctive pounce, do you round down or up when calculating half of that character's movement?
Is it 15ft or 10ft
From the Player's Handbook, under "How to Play":
"There’s one more general rule you need to know at the outset. Whenever you divide a number in the game, round down if you end up with a fraction, even if the fraction is one-half or greater."
There are only a couple of exceptions, like rounding up average HP when levelling up.
You don't round by 5's. You would have 12.5 ft of movement which then rounds down to 12, and since that is lower than 15 you would in most cases effectively have 10 ft. Sorry if this seems like a pointless distinction, but I wanted to outline the full process of determining your new movement.
I'd like to point out that by the time a barbarian character gets Instinctive Pounce, they've already gained Fast Movement so if their racial base movement was 25, their movement rate would have gone up to 35 and thus they'd get 15ft of movement from Instinctive Pounce.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
"You don't round by 5's. "
In this case you do, because movement is in increments of 5
As far as I know this is not a general rule for movement. At best, this is something that only comes into play when using grid-based play, if at all.
This is the actual answer. The rounding is done specifically for playing on a grid, but if not using a grid (which the rules work just as well for), any rounding would only be to the nearest foot.