If I spend a Superiority Die and use a Disarming Attack..
Does the attack do damage if I successfully hit? It seems confusing. I add the d8 to the damage roll on the superiority die. Do I hit and also disarm?
Also on page 73 of the PHB I'm assuming the save they would have to roll is 8 + my proficiency + my str or dex modifier. A fail means they drop their weapon.
Also, as a level 5 fighter can I attack twice - use the disarming attack twice on a single turn?
Also, as a level 5 fighter can I attack twice - use the disarming attack twice on a single turn?
You can only do one maneuver per attack but it doesn't restrict you more than that. So if you have extra attack or can make a bonus action attack or an attack as a reaction or have one of the ones that triggers of something other than making an attack then you can use one each time a trigger comes up. Can potentially burn through the superiority dies quite quick.
I'm not so sure about that. I think that a lot of DMs would rule that picking up a weapon costs you your item interaction. Plus, when you disarm and enemy, YOU could then use your item interaction to pick up that weapon so that it is no longer available for the enemy to pick up on their turn. Or and ally could do this. Or, you could use your item interaction to kick the weapon away from the area or whatever.
But not having a weapon does mean that there are no attacks of opportunity with said weapon, and no reaction attacks by said weapon. And of course one as has been stated, one can also snatch up the weapon or kick it away, or stand on it, etc. (Hey, thanks for this magic sword!)
Other Activity on Your Turn
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.
You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If I spend a Superiority Die and use a Disarming Attack..
Does the attack do damage if I successfully hit? It seems confusing. I add the d8 to the damage roll on the superiority die. Do I hit and also disarm?
Also on page 73 of the PHB I'm assuming the save they would have to roll is 8 + my proficiency + my str or dex modifier. A fail means they drop their weapon.
Also, as a level 5 fighter can I attack twice - use the disarming attack twice on a single turn?
The attack hits and deals damage as normal (+ the superiority die). The disarming is an additional effect, not instead of.
You can only do one maneuver per attack but it doesn't restrict you more than that. So if you have extra attack or can make a bonus action attack or an attack as a reaction or have one of the ones that triggers of something other than making an attack then you can use one each time a trigger comes up. Can potentially burn through the superiority dies quite quick.
RAW disarming doesn't do anything special. According to the rules, picking up your weapon from the ground and attacking with it is no problem.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
I'm not so sure about that. I think that a lot of DMs would rule that picking up a weapon costs you your item interaction. Plus, when you disarm and enemy, YOU could then use your item interaction to pick up that weapon so that it is no longer available for the enemy to pick up on their turn. Or and ally could do this. Or, you could use your item interaction to kick the weapon away from the area or whatever.
If the Fighter pick it up right after then it's no longer an option for the enemy.
Picking up a weapon is situational, and might be a free action or might require something more... See https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat#OtherActivityonYourTurn
But not having a weapon does mean that there are no attacks of opportunity with said weapon, and no reaction attacks by said weapon. And of course one as has been stated, one can also snatch up the weapon or kick it away, or stand on it, etc. (Hey, thanks for this magic sword!)
Other Activity on Your Turn
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.
You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge.
Remember there are Rules as Written (RAW), Rules as Intended (RAI), and Rules as Fun (RAF). There's some great RAW, RAI, and RAF here... please check in with your DM to determine how they want to adjudicate the RAW/RAI/RAF for your game.