I am a first time DnD 5e player and I have some rudimentary understanding of gameplay due to Baldurs Gate 3 and watching “professional” games. The question boils down to does it cost an action to use a main hand/2-handed weapon, then next turn to draw and use a crossbow/bow that my character has? Pointing me to a place to read the official ruling would be very helpful so that I may share it with my table and a clearly worded summary.
Situation:
As a fighter, I attack one turn with a 2-Handed weapon.
Next turn, I want to use a ranged weapon that is listed under my immediate equipment.
Do I need to sheath my weapon, then draw my ranged weapon costing an action, then attacking with the offhand ranged weapon a turn later?
Or is it a free action to draw my ranged weapon, and using an action to then attack? Effectively removing the wasted turn swapping to my offhand ranged weapon.
Lastly, going back to my 2-handed weapon costing an action to put down my offhand ranged weapon, only to use another action to draw my 2-handed weapon?
It’s rather confusing seeing baldur’s gate and “professional” games not require the action but in my home game our DM has the understanding that this swap costs an action.
If you sheathe an held weapon, drawing another weapon on the same turn will require an action. You can only interact with one object for free during your movement or action.
On a turn you can attack with a two-handed weapon you hold then sheathe it. and on your next turn draw a crossbow and attack with it. On the next turn you would need sheathe your crossbow and draw your two-handed weapon as an action.
But there's a way around if you want to draw it and attack on the same turn, you can let go of an held weapon for free rather than sheathe it, thus droping on the ground, then draw another weapon with your free object interaction, leaving your action to attack if you want. Some DMs don't like such work-around but the Dev said the intent was that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort.
There's no off hand weapon property per se. You can hold any weapon in each of your hands, but if attacking with a weapon requires two hands specifically, then you must use both with it, meaning it must be free to do so.
Other Activities On Your Turn: You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack. If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
Interacting With Objects Around You: Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action: draw or sheathe a sword
Two-Handed: This weapon requires two hands when you attack with it.
Side note about using dropping the weapon to get around this: While it takes no effort to drop the item, it's only an item interaction for another creature (including an enemy) to pick it up. There's a weakness if done at the wrong time.
Side note about using dropping the weapon to get around this: While it takes no effort to drop the item, it's only an item interaction for another creature (including an enemy) to pick it up. There's a weakness if done at the wrong time.
This exactly. You drop your greatsword, enemy might eun over to you, pick up the weapon, and attack you with your own blade.
While a monster can pick-up a greatsword within reach, it may not necessarily be proficient with it. Assume that a creature is proficient with its weapons but DM must decide whether the creature is proficient new equipment.
While a monster can pick-up a greatsword within reach, it may not necessarily be proficient with it. Assume that a creature is proficient with its weapons but DM must decide whether the creature is proficient new equipment.
Definitely. It becomes a matter of determining whether or not to actually drop the weapon, and there may be cases where you choose not to.
Alternately, the enemy can just kick your bow off that nearby cliff and punch you in the face.
Hello all!
I am a first time DnD 5e player and I have some rudimentary understanding of gameplay due to Baldurs Gate 3 and watching “professional” games. The question boils down to does it cost an action to use a main hand/2-handed weapon, then next turn to draw and use a crossbow/bow that my character has? Pointing me to a place to read the official ruling would be very helpful so that I may share it with my table and a clearly worded summary.
Situation:
As a fighter, I attack one turn with a 2-Handed weapon.
Next turn, I want to use a ranged weapon that is listed under my immediate equipment.
Do I need to sheath my weapon, then draw my ranged weapon costing an action, then attacking with the offhand ranged weapon a turn later?
Or is it a free action to draw my ranged weapon, and using an action to then attack? Effectively removing the wasted turn swapping to my offhand ranged weapon.
Lastly, going back to my 2-handed weapon costing an action to put down my offhand ranged weapon, only to use another action to draw my 2-handed weapon?
It’s rather confusing seeing baldur’s gate and “professional” games not require the action but in my home game our DM has the understanding that this swap costs an action.
Thank you all for the help in my confusion.
If you sheathe an held weapon, drawing another weapon on the same turn will require an action. You can only interact with one object for free during your movement or action.
On a turn you can attack with a two-handed weapon you hold then sheathe it. and on your next turn draw a crossbow and attack with it. On the next turn you would need sheathe your crossbow and draw your two-handed weapon as an action.
But there's a way around if you want to draw it and attack on the same turn, you can let go of an held weapon for free rather than sheathe it, thus droping on the ground, then draw another weapon with your free object interaction, leaving your action to attack if you want. Some DMs don't like such work-around but the Dev said the intent was that letting go of something requires no appreciable effort.
There's no off hand weapon property per se. You can hold any weapon in each of your hands, but if attacking with a weapon requires two hands specifically, then you must use both with it, meaning it must be free to do so.
Side note about using dropping the weapon to get around this: While it takes no effort to drop the item, it's only an item interaction for another creature (including an enemy) to pick it up. There's a weakness if done at the wrong time.
This exactly. You drop your greatsword, enemy might eun over to you, pick up the weapon, and attack you with your own blade.
While a monster can pick-up a greatsword within reach, it may not necessarily be proficient with it. Assume that a creature is proficient with its weapons but DM must decide whether the creature is proficient new equipment.
Definitely. It becomes a matter of determining whether or not to actually drop the weapon, and there may be cases where you choose not to.
Alternately, the enemy can just kick your bow off that nearby cliff and punch you in the face.
I really appreciate the help in this. I got a solid understanding of this now. Hopefully I’ll have the eloquence to convey this at the table.