I was recently thinking about whether you would automatically fail certain saving throws if your character was lethargic as imposed by the "Haste" spell.
As the spell states (When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.), so would this mean you would auto fail something like a DEX saving throw or other saving throws?
Or could this be something that is up to your DM to rule, as I can also see the argument for rules a Written it doesn't mention anything about saving throws. Unlike the "Stunned and Paralyzed" conditions, which do specifically mention strength and dexterity saving throws.
A DM might impose harsher penalties, but if the spell doesn't say it causes effects like failing saves, then that would indeed be a house rule. The spell only prevents movement and actions (so, action, bonus action, and reaction); a saving throw is none of those.
Edit: even though a reaction is introduced in the rules as "a special action called a reaction" most agree that you can still take a reaction. I'm not sure why, but that seems to be the consensus.
The lethargy caused by Haste actually does not cause you to lose the ability to use reactions either. The rules for reactions do not have that clause that the rules for bonus actions have when it comes to this.
Compare with the incapacitated condition which explicitly prevents reactions or the surprised mechanic which explicitly handles reactions separately from actions and bonus actions.
The lethargy caused by Haste actually does not cause you to lose the ability to use reactions either. The rules for reactions do not have that clause that the rules for bonus actions have when it comes to this.
Compare with the incapacitated condition which explicitly prevents reactions or the surprised mechanic which explicitly handles reactions separately from actions and bonus actions.
I think this is true. Actions and reactions are different.
I guess the rule mentioned by @up2ng is this one (emphasis mine) from the PHB, p. 189:
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take.
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.
You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
I was recently thinking about whether you would automatically fail certain saving throws if your character was lethargic as imposed by the "Haste" spell.
As the spell states (When the spell ends, the target can't move or take actions until after its next turn, as a wave of lethargy sweeps over it.), so would this mean you would auto fail something like a DEX saving throw or other saving throws?
Or could this be something that is up to your DM to rule, as I can also see the argument for rules a Written it doesn't mention anything about saving throws. Unlike the "Stunned and Paralyzed" conditions, which do specifically mention strength and dexterity saving throws.
A DM might impose harsher penalties, but if the spell doesn't say it causes effects like failing saves, then that would indeed be a house rule. The spell only prevents movement and actions (so, action, bonus action,
and reaction); a saving throw is none of those.Edit: even though a reaction is introduced in the rules as "a special action called a reaction" most agree that you can still take a reaction. I'm not sure why, but that seems to be the consensus.
The lethargy caused by Haste actually does not cause you to lose the ability to use reactions either. The rules for reactions do not have that clause that the rules for bonus actions have when it comes to this.
Compare with the incapacitated condition which explicitly prevents reactions or the surprised mechanic which explicitly handles reactions separately from actions and bonus actions.
I think this is true. Actions and reactions are different.
I guess the rule mentioned by @up2ng is this one (emphasis mine) from the PHB, p. 189:
Related post: When haste drops... what can I do?