Title says it all really. Some example will hopefully help:
Wizard has previoulsy cast Expeditious Retreat on themselves. On Wizard's turn in initative they choose to Ready, and says 'if something comes around the corner I am going to magic missile it'. Something more dangerous than expected comes around the corner, so the wizard says rather than doing the action they are going to do their movement instead and get the hell out of the way. Can the wizard include their bonus action Dash from their Expeditious Retreat in their movement?
Fighter uses Ready action and states they will attack anyone running through the door. When someone runs through the door, they triggers the attack action. Fighter also has Dual Wielder feat that allows them anohter attack as a bonus action. Can they use that as well when they attack?
If a fighter Readies an Attack action and also has an Extra Attack because of their level, can they use that Extra Attack as part of their triggered action?
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a Bonus Action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a Rogue to take a Bonus Action. You can take a Bonus Action only when a special ability, a spell, or another feature of the game states that you can do something as a Bonus Action. You otherwise don’t have a Bonus Action to take.
You can take only one Bonus Action on your turn, so you must choose which Bonus Action to use if you have more than one available.
You choose when to take a Bonus Action during your turn unless the Bonus Action’s timing is specified. Anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a Bonus Action.
[...] If a fighter Readies an Attack action and also has an Extra Attack because of their level, can they use that Extra Attack as part of their triggered action?
Sorry, I forgot about this...
Level 5: Extra Attack You can attack twice instead of once whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.
So the Extra Attack is also "on your turn", and the Reactions you're describing happen on another creature's turn.
Could it be argued that when you do a Ready Action, you are actually taking your 'turn' when you trigger the action i.e. Ready action is really just delaying your turn's action, so you have your turn later?
Could it be argued that when you do a Ready Action, you are actually taking your 'turn' when you trigger the action i.e. Ready action is really just delaying your turn's action, so you have your turn later?
Not really, because if you take the Ready Action, you will consume your Reaction at some point:
Ready [Action]
You take the Ready action to wait for a particular circumstance before you act. To do so, you take this action on your turn, which lets you act by taking a Reaction before the start of your next turn.
That said, it's true you could define the Ready Action trigger to happen on your own turn.
On Wizard's turn in initative they choose to Ready, and says 'if something comes around the corner I am going to magic missile it'. Something more dangerous than expected comes around the corner, so the wizard says rather than doing the action they are going to do their movement instead and get the hell out of the way.
While many DMs will let such things go it should be noted that technically you really cannot change your mind about what you will do in response to the trigger. The action that you will take in response to the trigger is defined in advance and if the trigger occurs your options are either to perform the predefined action or to ignore the trigger. Deciding to do something else isn't one of the options.
Also remember that if you Ready a spell such as Magic Missile and do not end up releasing the spell in response to a trigger before the start of your next turn then that spell dissipates and you lose the spell slot and whatever other resources were used to cast that spell.
The Ready action was deliberately designed to be quite limited in scope. Older editions had rules to delay your entire turn and it often led to gameplay slowing down significantly since players had to consider not just all the things they could do right now, but also all the other alternative turn orders they could create by delaying their turn.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
The Forum Infestation (TM)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Title says it all really. Some example will hopefully help:
Wizard has previoulsy cast Expeditious Retreat on themselves. On Wizard's turn in initative they choose to Ready, and says 'if something comes around the corner I am going to magic missile it'. Something more dangerous than expected comes around the corner, so the wizard says rather than doing the action they are going to do their movement instead and get the hell out of the way. Can the wizard include their bonus action Dash from their Expeditious Retreat in their movement?
Fighter uses Ready action and states they will attack anyone running through the door. When someone runs through the door, they triggers the attack action. Fighter also has Dual Wielder feat that allows them anohter attack as a bonus action. Can they use that as well when they attack?
If a fighter Readies an Attack action and also has an Extra Attack because of their level, can they use that Extra Attack as part of their triggered action?
A Bonus Action happens on your turn (emphasis mine):
Also, from the Sage Advice Compendium:
Sorry, I forgot about this...
So the Extra Attack is also "on your turn", and the Reactions you're describing happen on another creature's turn.
Ok. Thanks.
Could it be argued that when you do a Ready Action, you are actually taking your 'turn' when you trigger the action i.e. Ready action is really just delaying your turn's action, so you have your turn later?
You're welcome!
Not really, because if you take the Ready Action, you will consume your Reaction at some point:
That said, it's true you could define the Ready Action trigger to happen on your own turn.
While many DMs will let such things go it should be noted that technically you really cannot change your mind about what you will do in response to the trigger. The action that you will take in response to the trigger is defined in advance and if the trigger occurs your options are either to perform the predefined action or to ignore the trigger. Deciding to do something else isn't one of the options.
Also remember that if you Ready a spell such as Magic Missile and do not end up releasing the spell in response to a trigger before the start of your next turn then that spell dissipates and you lose the spell slot and whatever other resources were used to cast that spell.
The Ready action was deliberately designed to be quite limited in scope. Older editions had rules to delay your entire turn and it often led to gameplay slowing down significantly since players had to consider not just all the things they could do right now, but also all the other alternative turn orders they could create by delaying their turn.
The Forum Infestation (TM)