Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
Do the new rules now allow for having a whip on your person which would then give you an Attack of Opportunity range of 10ft should you choose to equip the Whip as part of the attack? Or does it just not trigger until the enemy is within your current effective range?
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
Do the new rules now allow for having a whip on your person which would then give you an Attack of Opportunity range of 10ft should you choose to equip the Whip as part of the attack?
The rule you quote is part of the Attack Action and thus it won't help you equip a weapon you need for an AoO.
I'd like to add that you wouldn't even be able to draw the weapon using the free object interaction off-turn if we consider the intent is to do it only on your turn (blue color is mine):
Your Turn
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your Speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. [...]
Interacting with Things. You can interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe.
Time-Limited Object Interactions
When time is short, such as in combat, interactions with objects are limited: one free interaction per turn. That interaction must occur during a creature’s movement or action. Any additional interactions require the Utilize action, as explained in “Combat” later in this chapter.
Apologies if I'm intruding, but seeing this topic answering the question I had was very helpful. And from what I'm seeing here, the answer I'm looking for is 'no'.
But I'd like to bounce this idea off, in case it somehow works in this scenario. Let's say a BattleMaster Fighter that specializes in Two-Weapon Fighting has the Feat, Dual Wielder. This feat allows you to draw & stow 2 weapons at once.
My idea was to use the draw & stow part of the Feat to swap around the primary weapon so I can utilize a different Mastery Property (e.g. Start of Turn: take Atk action to draw a -Longsword for Sap -Quarterstaff for Topple -Whip for Slow Then, end the Atk action by stowing such weapon and repeat the cycle.
Though if we look at the BattleMaster's maneuver, Riposte, "if a target misses you with a melee atk, you can take a reaction to make a melee atk against them". Looking at this thread, I've found my answer for the question: 'can you draw a weapon on an Opportunity Atk?' and the answer is no.
But now I have a new question: Does this work? Starting my turn with an empty hand, drawing a weapon, then stowing that same weapon with Dual Wielder?
But now I have a new question: Does this work? Starting my turn with an empty hand, drawing a weapon, then stowing that same weapon with Dual Wielder?
You might need to be a bit more clear on what exactly you are asking. But if what you mean to do is "draw a weapon -> make an attack -> stow a weapon" then no, that should not be allowed.
Attack action allows you to equip or unequip one weapon before or after an attack. And Dual Wielder allows you to draw or stow two weapons when you normally could do just one of one. But what you are trying to do is to draw one and then at a later point stow it again and that's something different.
Equipping and Unequipping Weapons. You can either equip or unequip one weapon when you make an attack as part of this action. You do so either before or after the attack. If you equip a weapon before an attack, you don’t need to use it for that attack. Equipping a weapon includes drawing it from a sheath or picking it up. Unequipping a weapon includes sheathing, stowing, or dropping it.
Quick Draw. You can draw or stow two weapons that lack the Two-Handed property when you would normally be able to draw or stow only one.
One more thing to note that has changed in the 2024 rules, two-weapon fighting doesn't really exist any more (from a rules perspective). And what little of it that does remain requires an attack with a Light weapon to activate (even with Dual Wielder) and none of the weapons on your list have that property (nor do they have the Nick property). So I'm not sure how much of two-weapon fighting you'll actually do and/or if you have any use for the Dual Wielder feat.
Using/swapping between multiple weapons can be a fun and valid character concept but I'm not sure that thinking of it as dual-wielding or spending resources on the Dual Wielder feat is a good thing.
But now I have a new question: Does this work? Starting my turn with an empty hand, drawing a weapon, then stowing that same weapon with Dual Wielder?
You might need to be a bit more clear on what exactly you are asking. But if what you mean to do is "draw a weapon -> make an attack -> stow a weapon" then no, that should not be allowed.
Attack action allows you to equip or unequip one weapon before or after an attack. And Dual Wielder allows you to draw or stow two weapons when you normally could do just one of one. But what you are trying to do is to draw one and then at a later point stow it again and that's something different. [...]
If I understand you correctly @Scrub_StartedJan2020, the Dual Wielder shouldn’t be necessary for that.
Quick Draw lets you draw two weapons or stow two weapons, not one of each. You can do this whether you're using the Attack Action or Free Object Interaction.
With or without Quick Draw, the character could equip a weapon (thanks to the Attack Action) and, after the attack, unequip a weapon (Free Object Interaction)
Oh yeah, I didn't review my wording. You basically got it right. Though I did see that @TarodNet gave me a new solution to my strategy. Which would be to
- take the Attack action, which would draw your weapon to you open hand automatically, - make the melee attack with that weapon, - then use the Free Object Interaction (which is using the Free Action) to stow that weapon, leaving your hand open.
Repeating this cycle would allow me to choose what weapon I would like to use each turn. Need to apply CC to the enemy? Get out the Quarterstaff and attack with Topple. Need the enemy to miss? Get out the Longsword for Sap. And why I'd like Dual Wielder in this scenario is to use a Light Weapon with Vex (like the Handaxe), to get advantage while still having two attacks with the desired weapon.
Thanks for clearing it up with your knowledge, I've been educated!
Oh yeah! This is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you!
I was overcomplicating this by trying to utilize the Dual Wielder's Quick Draw (that is used for two separate weapons, not give the ability of two stow/draws.
The Free Object Interaction now makes this possible, Thank you, TarodNet!
Oh yeah, I didn't review my wording. You basically got it right. Though I did see that @TarodNet gave me a new solution to my strategy. Which would be to
- take the Attack action, which would draw your weapon to you open hand automatically, - make the melee attack with that weapon, - then use the Free Object Interaction (which is using the Free Action) to stow that weapon, leaving your hand open.
Repeating this cycle would allow me to choose what weapon I would like to use each turn. Need to apply CC to the enemy? Get out the Quarterstaff and attack with Topple. Need the enemy to miss? Get out the Longsword for Sap. And why I'd like Dual Wielder in this scenario is to use a Light Weapon with Vex (like the Handaxe), to get advantage while still having two attacks with the desired weapon.
Thanks for clearing it up with your knowledge, I've been educated!
You can also Free Object Interaction - Stow a weapon and then take the Attack Action and draw a weapon before making an attack. That way you aren't left making opportunity attacks (if you want to) with an unarmed strike. Or are you trying to model an Iaijutsu practitioner?
Oh yeah! This is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you!
I was overcomplicating this by trying to utilize the Dual Wielder's Quick Draw (that is used for two separate weapons, not give the ability of two stow/draws.
The Free Object Interaction now makes this possible, Thank you, TarodNet!
Oh, nice to know I could help you :) You're welcome!
In this thread there are wonderful people like @Thezzaruz and @SmiteMakesRight_3_5Follow their leads as well, they rival Elminster's knowledge ;)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Do the new rules now allow for having a whip on your person which would then give you an Attack of Opportunity range of 10ft should you choose to equip the Whip as part of the attack? Or does it just not trigger until the enemy is within your current effective range?
The rule you quote is part of the Attack Action and thus it won't help you equip a weapon you need for an AoO.
Only weapon(s) you are currently wielding are relevant for determining your reach for triggering the AoO. So the stowed Whip would not count.
I'd like to add that you wouldn't even be able to draw the weapon using the free object interaction off-turn if we consider the intent is to do it only on your turn (blue color is mine):
Great answers and thank you for the additional clarity. :)
Very lucky I found this thread as fresh as it is.
Apologies if I'm intruding, but seeing this topic answering the question I had was very helpful. And from what I'm seeing here, the answer I'm looking for is 'no'.
But I'd like to bounce this idea off, in case it somehow works in this scenario.
Let's say a BattleMaster Fighter that specializes in Two-Weapon Fighting has the Feat, Dual Wielder. This feat allows you to draw & stow 2 weapons at once.
My idea was to use the draw & stow part of the Feat to swap around the primary weapon so I can utilize a different Mastery Property (e.g. Start of Turn: take Atk action to draw a
-Longsword for Sap
-Quarterstaff for Topple
-Whip for Slow
Then, end the Atk action by stowing such weapon and repeat the cycle.
Though if we look at the BattleMaster's maneuver, Riposte, "if a target misses you with a melee atk, you can take a reaction to make a melee atk against them".
Looking at this thread, I've found my answer for the question: 'can you draw a weapon on an Opportunity Atk?' and the answer is no.
But now I have a new question: Does this work?
Starting my turn with an empty hand, drawing a weapon, then stowing that same weapon with Dual Wielder?
You might need to be a bit more clear on what exactly you are asking. But if what you mean to do is "draw a weapon -> make an attack -> stow a weapon" then no, that should not be allowed.
Attack action allows you to equip or unequip one weapon before or after an attack. And Dual Wielder allows you to draw or stow two weapons when you normally could do just one of one. But what you are trying to do is to draw one and then at a later point stow it again and that's something different.
One more thing to note that has changed in the 2024 rules, two-weapon fighting doesn't really exist any more (from a rules perspective). And what little of it that does remain requires an attack with a Light weapon to activate (even with Dual Wielder) and none of the weapons on your list have that property (nor do they have the Nick property). So I'm not sure how much of two-weapon fighting you'll actually do and/or if you have any use for the Dual Wielder feat.
Using/swapping between multiple weapons can be a fun and valid character concept but I'm not sure that thinking of it as dual-wielding or spending resources on the Dual Wielder feat is a good thing.
If I understand you correctly @Scrub_StartedJan2020, the Dual Wielder shouldn’t be necessary for that.
Is something like that what you want, @Scrub_StartedJan2020?
EDIT: this specific interaction was recently debated here.
Oh yeah, I didn't review my wording. You basically got it right. Though I did see that @TarodNet gave me a new solution to my strategy. Which would be to
- take the Attack action, which would draw your weapon to you open hand automatically,
- make the melee attack with that weapon,
- then use the Free Object Interaction (which is using the Free Action) to stow that weapon, leaving your hand open.
Repeating this cycle would allow me to choose what weapon I would like to use each turn. Need to apply CC to the enemy? Get out the Quarterstaff and attack with Topple. Need the enemy to miss? Get out the Longsword for Sap. And why I'd like Dual Wielder in this scenario is to use a Light Weapon with Vex (like the Handaxe), to get advantage while still having two attacks with the desired weapon.
Thanks for clearing it up with your knowledge, I've been educated!
Oh yeah! This is exactly what I was looking for! Thank you!
I was overcomplicating this by trying to utilize the Dual Wielder's Quick Draw (that is used for two separate weapons, not give the ability of two stow/draws.
The Free Object Interaction now makes this possible, Thank you, TarodNet!
You can also Free Object Interaction - Stow a weapon and then take the Attack Action and draw a weapon before making an attack. That way you aren't left making opportunity attacks (if you want to) with an unarmed strike. Or are you trying to model an Iaijutsu practitioner?
How to add Tooltips.
My houserulings.
Oh, nice to know I could help you :) You're welcome!
In this thread there are wonderful people like @Thezzaruz and @SmiteMakesRight_3_5 Follow their leads as well, they rival Elminster's knowledge ;)