lets say a creature dies that i wanted to bind. what are the rules around that. Could i potentially cast a planar binding on it and THEN Resurrection it? or would that not work
As a rule a corpse is not treated as a creature and can't be targeted by spells that target a creature, particularly spells like this. Plus the common lore is that most things you'd target for Planar Binding either reform on their home plane or die for good- at least as far as that particular instance of a discrete being is concerned- so you won't necessarily be able to bring them back.
I agree with The_Ace_of_Rogues, RAW this would not work because the corpse of a creature is an object and no longer a creature. That said, many DM's might allow this under the Rule of Cool, so you should talk to your DM as they will always get the final say.
While I could agree with the proposed ruling by The_Ace_of_Rogues and Sequilonis (and I swear by Oghma, god of knowledge, that I don't want to antagonize anyone here or anywhere else) just for the sake of completion, some people think dead creatures are still creatures (e.g. Question about Scrying on a dead person - Rules & Game Mechanics) because of the following rules:
Object
An object is a nonliving, distinct thing. Composite things, like buildings, comprise more than one object. See also “Breaking Objects.”
Creature
Any being in the game, including a player’s character, is a creature. See also “Creature Type.”
Dead
A dead creature has no Hit Points and can’t regain them unless it is first revived by magic such as the Raise Dead or Revivify spell. When such a spell is cast, the spirit knows who is casting it and can refuse. The spirit of a dead creature has left the body and departed for the Outer Planes, and reviving the creature requires calling the spirit back. [...]
So, in this hypothetical, not so hypothetical situation could i argue that a Duke of Hell killed in his home layer of hell, i could bind his body and then recall his spirit to his bound body and henceforth control him without a charisma save? That seems like like it technically follows the rules of a dead thing........
So, first things first: trying to use forum agreement to "win" a "not so hypothetical situation" is a non-starter. Rule 0 is "what the DM says goes", and digging up a few people on the internet who agree with you doesn't trump that, particularly for stuff like this.
That "without a save" bit is gonna be a big flag for most DMs. And no, you're not really "following the rules of a dead thing" here; you're attempting to exploit a grey area of what hasn't been explicitly spelled out. And rules-wise, don't forget the bit about creatures needing to consent to being revived- they know who's calling them up, so the DM can just say they refuse to be raised by you. Additionally, one could argue that Planar Binding cannot work if the target can't make a CHA save.
And, on the lore side of things, when fiends bite it for good, there's nothing to call back. That being simply ceases to exist outside of the scope of any reliable player-facing option.
Basically, there's a very wide array of options to form the basis for a DM to tell you "no" to this proposition.
So, first things first: trying to use forum agreement to "win" a "not so hypothetical situation" is a non-starter. Rule 0 is "what the DM says goes", and digging up a few people on the internet who agree with you doesn't trump that, particularly for stuff like this.
That "without a save" bit is gonna be a big flag for most DMs. And no, you're not really "following the rules of a dead thing" here; you're attempting to exploit a grey area of what hasn't been explicitly spelled out. And rules-wise, don't forget the bit about creatures needing to consent to being revived- they know who's calling them up, so the DM can just say they refuse to be raised by you. Additionally, one could argue that Planar Binding cannot work if the target can't make a CHA save.
And, on the lore side of things, when fiends bite it for good, there's nothing to call back. That being simply ceases to exist outside of the scope of any reliable player-facing option.
Basically, there's a very wide array of options to form the basis for a DM to tell you "no" to this proposition.
we could do without the insulting tone or judgmental accusations. What do you suppose this forum exists for? certainly not for people to get help or advice around these "grey areas". And who ever said i was trying to undermine my DM? Are you policing how people have fun in their own games? Do you know what my DMs attitude is towards players challenging him? He'll say no if it's too much of a stretch, and we're all okay with that.
We're not all as educated about this fictional game as you. So even though you didn't ask, no i wasn't aware about fiends on that particular topic. I'm surprised that you've made so many posts and you've still got such an attitude towards people just trying to get some help and advice.
lets say a creature dies that i wanted to bind. what are the rules around that. Could i potentially cast a planar binding on it and THEN Resurrection it? or would that not work
As a rule a corpse is not treated as a creature and can't be targeted by spells that target a creature, particularly spells like this. Plus the common lore is that most things you'd target for Planar Binding either reform on their home plane or die for good- at least as far as that particular instance of a discrete being is concerned- so you won't necessarily be able to bring them back.
I agree with The_Ace_of_Rogues, RAW this would not work because the corpse of a creature is an object and no longer a creature. That said, many DM's might allow this under the Rule of Cool, so you should talk to your DM as they will always get the final say.
While I could agree with the proposed ruling by The_Ace_of_Rogues and Sequilonis (and I swear by Oghma, god of knowledge, that I don't want to antagonize anyone here or anywhere else) just for the sake of completion, some people think dead creatures are still creatures (e.g. Question about Scrying on a dead person - Rules & Game Mechanics) because of the following rules:
So, in this hypothetical, not so hypothetical situation could i argue that a Duke of Hell killed in his home layer of hell, i could bind his body and then recall his spirit to his bound body and henceforth control him without a charisma save? That seems like like it technically follows the rules of a dead thing........
we could do without the insulting tone or judgmental accusations. What do you suppose this forum exists for? certainly not for people to get help or advice around these "grey areas". And who ever said i was trying to undermine my DM? Are you policing how people have fun in their own games? Do you know what my DMs attitude is towards players challenging him? He'll say no if it's too much of a stretch, and we're all okay with that.
We're not all as educated about this fictional game as you. So even though you didn't ask, no i wasn't aware about fiends on that particular topic. I'm surprised that you've made so many posts and you've still got such an attitude towards people just trying to get some help and advice.