So according to the one spell slot a turn rule, a player can not use two spell slots in the same turn. The example given in the PHB is that a player can't use a spell slot in both Action and Bonus Action. According the new Sage Advice, if a Reaction is used during your own turn, you must follow the one spell slot per turn rule. But what about when you don't do this? For instance, can you cast Counterspell using a spell slot in your Reaction when during your Action you used a spell slot to cast Fireball?
It's fairly rare for Reactions to occur during your turn. I suppose if you Fireball'd someone, they Absorb'd Elements and then you tried to Counterspell the Absorb Elements, you'd run afoul of the rule. However, in most cases Reactions don't occur on your turn.
Note that the Ready Action still involves casting the spell on your turn (and is thus subject to the one-spell-slot-per-turn rule). It's just the final release of the spell that's delayed.
So according to the one spell slot a turn rule, a player can not use two spell slots in the same turn. The example given in the PHB is that a player can't use a spell slot in both Action and Bonus Action. According the new Sage Advice, if a Reaction is used during your own turn, you must follow the one spell slot per turn rule. But what about when you don't do this? For instance, can you cast Counterspell using a spell slot in your Reaction when during your Action you used a spell slot to cast Fireball?
If you use your Reaction on your turn (which is relatively rare, but does happen) then it counts as being on your turn. So no, you can't use a spell slot to cast Counterspell on the same turn that you used a spell slot to cast Fireball.
Just for future reference, this is the answer from the SAC:
Can you cast a Reaction spell on your turn? Yes, but you must abide by the rule of expending only one spell slot to cast a spell on your turn. For example, if you take a Magic action to cast Fireball using a spell slot and an enemy casts Counterspell, you can’t also then expend a spell slot to cast Counterspell targeting that enemy.
Also, as a suggestion for the OP, you could cast more than one leveled spell using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, and/or Reaction on your turn if those spells come from traits/features/feats that let characters cast them without using a spell slot, or from magic items. For example, a Spell Scroll of Counterspell for this scenario.
So according to the one spell slot a turn rule, a player can not use two spell slots in the same turn. The example given in the PHB is that a player can't use a spell slot in both Action and Bonus Action. According the new Sage Advice, if a Reaction is used during your own turn, you must follow the one spell slot per turn rule. But what about when you don't do this? For instance, can you cast Counterspell using a spell slot in your Reaction when during your Action you used a spell slot to cast Fireball?
This is perfectly acceptable.
Just remember that in this game any feature or effect that occurs or is restricted to "once per turn" does not actually mean once per round, nor does it mean once per turn only on your own turn. "Once per turn" means once per anyone's turn. So, you can cast one spell with a spell slot on your turn. Then, as soon as it becomes someone else's turn you can again cast one spell with a spell slot on that turn, and then as soon as it becomes a third creature's turn you can again cast one spell with a spell slot on that turn, and so on.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So according to the one spell slot a turn rule, a player can not use two spell slots in the same turn. The example given in the PHB is that a player can't use a spell slot in both Action and Bonus Action. According the new Sage Advice, if a Reaction is used during your own turn, you must follow the one spell slot per turn rule. But what about when you don't do this? For instance, can you cast Counterspell using a spell slot in your Reaction when during your Action you used a spell slot to cast Fireball?
It's fairly rare for Reactions to occur during your turn. I suppose if you Fireball'd someone, they Absorb'd Elements and then you tried to Counterspell the Absorb Elements, you'd run afoul of the rule. However, in most cases Reactions don't occur on your turn.
Note that the Ready Action still involves casting the spell on your turn (and is thus subject to the one-spell-slot-per-turn rule). It's just the final release of the spell that's delayed.
If you use your Reaction on your turn (which is relatively rare, but does happen) then it counts as being on your turn. So no, you can't use a spell slot to cast Counterspell on the same turn that you used a spell slot to cast Fireball.
pronouns: he/she/they
Yes, as long as it isn't on your turn.
Just for future reference, this is the answer from the SAC:
Also, as a suggestion for the OP, you could cast more than one leveled spell using your Magic Action, Bonus Action, and/or Reaction on your turn if those spells come from traits/features/feats that let characters cast them without using a spell slot, or from magic items. For example, a Spell Scroll of Counterspell for this scenario.
This is perfectly acceptable.
Just remember that in this game any feature or effect that occurs or is restricted to "once per turn" does not actually mean once per round, nor does it mean once per turn only on your own turn. "Once per turn" means once per anyone's turn. So, you can cast one spell with a spell slot on your turn. Then, as soon as it becomes someone else's turn you can again cast one spell with a spell slot on that turn, and then as soon as it becomes a third creature's turn you can again cast one spell with a spell slot on that turn, and so on.