If my dual wielder swings with primary weapon then uses bonus action to swing off hand weapon would I be able to use both weapons again with action surge? Would it be the same when additional action is gained at level 5?
Bonus actions aren't refreshed upon action surging just action. You only get one additional action. Extra attack is part of a single action so it would apply. Level 2. Attack, bonus action attack, action surge; attack level 5 Attack, Attack, bonus action, action surge; attack attack And so on forth.
If my dual wielder swings with primary weapon then uses bonus action to swing off hand weapon would I be able to use both weapons again with action surge? Would it be the same when additional action is gained at level 5?
As mentioned above Action Surge only gives you another Action (to use the Attack, Dash, Disengage, Cast a Spell, etc, Action). You only ever get one Bonus Action and it does not refresh until your next turn and is unaffected by Action Surge. And for clarification at 5th level you don’t gain an “additional action” you get Extra Attack that allows you to “attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.” so it is still only the one action, you just get to attack twice when you take the Attack Action.
Thanks, that confirms my suspicion about action surge, and dismisses my worry that dual wielding is nerfed after gaining second attack. What about opportunity attacks? Sorry, I am switching from 3.5.
Dual wielding isn’t as good as it was in 3.5, just fyi. You’ll often have something else to do with that bonus action, so it doesn’t work quite as well. Opportunity attack use your reaction. You only get one of those per round (re-sets on your turn), so if you use it on the first enemy that leaves your reach, the second one leaves without risking the OA. There are a few other things which use your reaction, too, so be aware of that.
Thanks, that confirms my suspicion about action surge, and dismisses my worry that dual wielding is nerfed after gaining second attack. What about opportunity attacks? Sorry, I am switching from 3.5.
It kind of is needed, seeing as you can't benefit from it twice with action surge. This is one of my favorite changes in 1D&D playtest (the second weapon attack is part of the action leaving the bonus action free).
Reactions are unaffected by two weapon fighting or action surge.
If my dual wielder swings with primary weapon then uses bonus action to swing off hand weapon would I be able to use both weapons again with action surge? Would it be the same when additional action is gained at level 5?
Bonus actions aren't refreshed upon action surging just action. You only get one additional action. Extra attack is part of a single action so it would apply.
Level 2. Attack, bonus action attack, action surge; attack
level 5 Attack, Attack, bonus action, action surge; attack attack
And so on forth.
Actions are not bonus actions, and bonus actions are not actions.
[REDACTED]
As mentioned above Action Surge only gives you another Action (to use the Attack, Dash, Disengage, Cast a Spell, etc, Action). You only ever get one Bonus Action and it does not refresh until your next turn and is unaffected by Action Surge. And for clarification at 5th level you don’t gain an “additional action” you get Extra Attack that allows you to “attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.” so it is still only the one action, you just get to attack twice when you take the Attack Action.
EZD6 by DM Scotty
https://www.drivethrurpg.com/en/product/397599/EZD6-Core-Rulebook?
Thanks, that confirms my suspicion about action surge, and dismisses my worry that dual wielding is nerfed after gaining second attack. What about opportunity attacks? Sorry, I am switching from 3.5.
Dual wielding isn’t as good as it was in 3.5, just fyi. You’ll often have something else to do with that bonus action, so it doesn’t work quite as well.
Opportunity attack use your reaction. You only get one of those per round (re-sets on your turn), so if you use it on the first enemy that leaves your reach, the second one leaves without risking the OA. There are a few other things which use your reaction, too, so be aware of that.
It kind of is needed, seeing as you can't benefit from it twice with action surge. This is one of my favorite changes in 1D&D playtest (the second weapon attack is part of the action leaving the bonus action free).
Reactions are unaffected by two weapon fighting or action surge.
Gone are the days of using Action Surge to cast another spell -le sigh-