I have a question about the Nalfeshnee's Pursuit ability in D&D 2024.
The ability reads:
Pursuit.Trigger: Another creature the nalfeshnee can see ends its move within 120 feet of the nalfeshnee. Response: The nalfeshnee uses Teleport, but its destination space must be within 10 feet of the triggering creature.
Since Teleport is capitalized, I assume it refers to the Teleport ability, which states:
Teleport. The nalfeshnee teleports up to 120 feet to an unoccupied space it can see.
Our DM argues that, because Pursuit only specifies that the destination must be within 10 feet of the triggering creature, the Nalfeshnee could teleport to the other side of a wall or closed door — as long as it's within 10 feet of that creature, even if the Nalfeshnee can’t see that space.
However, I believe that the Nalfeshnee must be able to see the destination space, since Teleport explicitly says so. To me, Pursuit adds an extra restriction (must be within 10 feet of the target), but doesn't remove the original requirement that the space must be visible.
Could anyone help clarify this? Are we missing something in the rules interpretation?
Thanks in advance, and wishing you all great games!
I think you're correct. If it were not meant to use the Teleport action in its stat block (along with its built-in restrictions) it would say something like "The nalfeshnee teleports to a space within 10 feet of the triggering creature".
When evaluating an interpretation of the rules, you always want to ask: if this interpretation is the intended one, is this how they would've written it?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello everyone,
I have a question about the Nalfeshnee's Pursuit ability in D&D 2024.
The ability reads:
Pursuit. Trigger: Another creature the nalfeshnee can see ends its move within 120 feet of the nalfeshnee.
Response: The nalfeshnee uses Teleport, but its destination space must be within 10 feet of the triggering creature.
Since Teleport is capitalized, I assume it refers to the Teleport ability, which states:
Teleport. The nalfeshnee teleports up to 120 feet to an unoccupied space it can see.
Our DM argues that, because Pursuit only specifies that the destination must be within 10 feet of the triggering creature, the Nalfeshnee could teleport to the other side of a wall or closed door — as long as it's within 10 feet of that creature, even if the Nalfeshnee can’t see that space.
However, I believe that the Nalfeshnee must be able to see the destination space, since Teleport explicitly says so. To me, Pursuit adds an extra restriction (must be within 10 feet of the target), but doesn't remove the original requirement that the space must be visible.
Could anyone help clarify this? Are we missing something in the rules interpretation?
Thanks in advance, and wishing you all great games!
My reading is the same as yours, so Pursuit is referring to the Teleport description under the Actions section of the statblock.
I think you're correct. If it were not meant to use the Teleport action in its stat block (along with its built-in restrictions) it would say something like "The nalfeshnee teleports to a space within 10 feet of the triggering creature".
When evaluating an interpretation of the rules, you always want to ask: if this interpretation is the intended one, is this how they would've written it?
pronouns: he/she/they