I don't think the "combo" ever worked. Both the 2014 and 2024 versions of sanctuary end when the warded creature deals damage. I must be missing something.
Ah, I was under the impression that there as favourable interaction previously.
There is a video by DND Shorts that explains the interaction.
Both versions of Sanctuary end if the affected character deals damage, so that combination does not work.
I may be mistaken, but I believe this stipulation about dealing damage was the result of an official errata from way back when, added due to broken combos like the one you suggested.
The character is not dealing the damage, the spirit guardians are. Therefore sanctuary would work with spirit guardians. Why would the spell be called "Spirit Guardians" if they are not the ones dealing damage? The spell description specifically states that the warded creature is the one that has to deal damage for sanctuary to end, not your summons.
The character is not dealing the damage, the spirit guardians are. Therefore sanctuary would work with spirit guardians. Why would the spell be called "Spirit Guardians" if they are not the ones dealing damage? The spell description specifically states that the warded creature is the one that has to deal damage for sanctuary to end, not your summons.
So, yes, if you cast spirit guardians then sanctuary you can move around and let the spirit guardians deal damage.
That tweet is from before the 2018 PHB errata changed the 2014 Sanctuary spell:
Sanctuary (p. 273). The final sentence now reads, “If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends.”
(previously, before the errata: "If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.")
So even in the 2014 version of the spell, it ends as soon as the warded creature deals damage. If you cast Spirit Guardians, you're the one dealing damage through your spell.
I'd say it's like when you throw a vial of Acid. You don't make an attack roll, but you're still the one dealing the damage, and not just the acid.
Does this combo still work or does the new Sanctuary prohibit this?
Prohibits it.
I don't think the "combo" ever worked. Both the 2014 and 2024 versions of sanctuary end when the warded creature deals damage. I must be missing something.
Ah, I was under the impression that there as favourable interaction previously.
There is a video by DND Shorts that explains the interaction.
Both versions of Sanctuary end if the affected character deals damage, so that combination does not work.
I may be mistaken, but I believe this stipulation about dealing damage was the result of an official errata from way back when, added due to broken combos like the one you suggested.
Understood, I appreciate the clarification.
The character is not dealing the damage, the spirit guardians are. Therefore sanctuary would work with spirit guardians. Why would the spell be called "Spirit Guardians" if they are not the ones dealing damage? The spell description specifically states that the warded creature is the one that has to deal damage for sanctuary to end, not your summons.
Jeremy Crawford clarified this 6+ years ago - https://x.com/JeremyECrawford/status/758738791293001729?lang=en
So, yes, if you cast spirit guardians then sanctuary you can move around and let the spirit guardians deal damage.
That tweet is from before the 2018 PHB errata changed the 2014 Sanctuary spell:
(previously, before the errata: "If the warded creature makes an attack or casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, this spell ends.")
So even in the 2014 version of the spell, it ends as soon as the warded creature deals damage. If you cast Spirit Guardians, you're the one dealing damage through your spell.
I'd say it's like when you throw a vial of Acid. You don't make an attack roll, but you're still the one dealing the damage, and not just the acid.