Two people are standing next to each other and one of them has Sentinel. He uses his reaction to stop the creatures movement as it tries to move away. Do I still get my attack of opportunity even though it didn't move away?
Public Mod Note
(MellieDM):
Moved from Bugs & Support.
Say it's a Goblin facing a player Fighter, who has the Sentinel Feat. The Goblins is gonna lose here, and out of fear, tries to run away. It attempts to do so, declaring it's movement path and triggering the Opportunity Attack from the Fighter. Given their difference in stats, it's no surprise that the Fighter hits with the attack. Because the hit successfully landed, Sentinel triggers, reducing the Goblin's movement to zero, and preventing it from moving out of the Fighter's zone of control.
I'm assuming that you're talking about two PCs next to each other, one has the sentinel feat, and an enemy NPC moves away triggering the AoO for the PC with sentinel. As such, as long as an AoO would normally have been triggered for you as well, then yes. The trigger happened before the movement stopped.
Yes, you get an opportunity attack. The text of the feat says so.
When you hit a creature with an opportunity attack, the creature’s speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn.
The creature attempts to move away. You use your reaction on an opportunity attack. You hit. The creature's movement becomes 0 and it remains where it was, having never moved out of your reach.
If an enemy tries to move out of the reach of two players simultaneously - both players get an AoO simultaneously. It just so happens that if one of them has Sentinel and hits - the enemy doesn't move. Sentinel triggers basically after all the AoO's have taken place.
The idea is that the enemy turned to run leaving themselves open to an easy attack. Regardless of whether the enemy managed to get away - they still left themselves open.
Creatures within 5 feet of you provoke opportunity attacks from you even if they take the Disengage action before leaving your reach.
A creature attempting to move away triggers an opportunity attack. If that attack hits the creatures then becomes 0 for the rest of the turn.
It is important to note that it is not the Sentinel feat, per se, that stops the creature's movement. It is hitting with an opportunity attack that stops the movement. If the Sentinel misses with the opportunity attack the creature can move away normally.
Creatures within 5 feet of you provoke opportunity attacks from you even if they take the Disengage action before leaving your reach.
A creature attempting to move away triggers an opportunity attack. If that attack hits the creatures then becomes 0 for the rest of the turn.
It is important to note that it is not the Sentinel feat, per se, that stops the creature's movement. It is hitting with an opportunity attack that stops the movement. If the Sentinel misses with the opportunity attack the creature can move away normally.
If the NPC uses disengage, then the PC without sentinel wouldn't get an AoO, as per the rule quoted in DavetheLost's post regarding sentinel getting AoOs even against creatures using disengage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Two people are standing next to each other and one of them has Sentinel. He uses his reaction to stop the creatures movement as it tries to move away. Do I still get my attack of opportunity even though it didn't move away?
The order works a little different than that.
Say it's a Goblin facing a player Fighter, who has the Sentinel Feat. The Goblins is gonna lose here, and out of fear, tries to run away. It attempts to do so, declaring it's movement path and triggering the Opportunity Attack from the Fighter. Given their difference in stats, it's no surprise that the Fighter hits with the attack. Because the hit successfully landed, Sentinel triggers, reducing the Goblin's movement to zero, and preventing it from moving out of the Fighter's zone of control.
I'm assuming that you're talking about two PCs next to each other, one has the sentinel feat, and an enemy NPC moves away triggering the AoO for the PC with sentinel. As such, as long as an AoO would normally have been triggered for you as well, then yes. The trigger happened before the movement stopped.
Yes, you get an opportunity attack. The text of the feat says so.
The creature attempts to move away. You use your reaction on an opportunity attack. You hit. The creature's movement becomes 0 and it remains where it was, having never moved out of your reach.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Jhfffan has it right here.
If an enemy tries to move out of the reach of two players simultaneously - both players get an AoO simultaneously. It just so happens that if one of them has Sentinel and hits - the enemy doesn't move. Sentinel triggers basically after all the AoO's have taken place.
The idea is that the enemy turned to run leaving themselves open to an easy attack. Regardless of whether the enemy managed to get away - they still left themselves open.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
A creature attempting to move away triggers an opportunity attack. If that attack hits the creatures then becomes 0 for the rest of the turn.
It is important to note that it is not the Sentinel feat, per se, that stops the creature's movement. It is hitting with an opportunity attack that stops the movement. If the Sentinel misses with the opportunity attack the creature can move away normally.
If the NPC uses disengage, then the PC without sentinel wouldn't get an AoO, as per the rule quoted in DavetheLost's post regarding sentinel getting AoOs even against creatures using disengage.