He has a shield on his left arm and ever only attacks with his right arm.
He has 1 extra attack from his class (Paladin), so 2 attacks in a single attack action.
My understanding of the rules is correct he should be able to do this:
With the following weapons:
- 2 handaxes (Handaxe A and Handaxe B)
- 1 scimitar.
His turn would be
ATTACK ACTION
- Attack: swings handaxe A (Light, Thrown, Vex) with his right hand, then sheathes it.
- Nick Attack: draws the scimitar (Light, Nick) then swings it with his right hand (with Advantage from Vex).
- Extra Attack: swing the scimitar (Light, Nick) with his right hand and sheathes it.
BONUS ACTION (from Dual Wielder) :
- Draws handaxeB (Light, Thrown, Vex) and swings it with his right hand.
And then do the same in the next round but inverting the handaxes.
This should work.. with the major drawback that if you ever would need to drink a healing potion (1 bonus action) you would find yourself wielding a scimitar at the beginning of round 2 breaking the cycle.
So in that case where you need a bonus action I was wondering if it would be possible to use the 1 free object interaction to draw handaxe A again.
Like this
ATTACK ACTION
- Attack: swings handaxe A (Light, Thrown, Vex) with his right hand, then sheathes it.
- Nick Attack: draws the scimitar (Light, Nick) then swings it with his right hand (with Advantage from Vex).
- Extra Attack: swing the scimitar (Light, Nick) with his right hand and sheathes it.
FREE OBJECT INTERACTION:
- Draws handaxe A.
It is not clear to me after reading the PHB multiple times, if
- dose the multiple drawing and sheatheing of the weapons allowed during the attack action constitutes the Free Object Interaction, meaning that after doing that you can not interact with anything else for free?
- is it something completing independent from the drawing/sheatheing and that can be done separately?
- is the Free Object Interaction not applicable to drawing sheatheing weapons as is that something relegated to the attack action and the attack action only?
It stands to reason that a character that does not attack in its turn should be able to draw a weapon as its free object interaction, meaning that the free object interaction does also includes sheatheing/drawing a weapon.
However it also stands to reason that after you sheathed and drawn weapon constantly for the whole attack round that might have exhausted the "1 free object interaction" as intended.
What do you folks think?
In case of the worst scenario I thought of an alternative with 1 shield and 2 scimitars.
With the following weapons:
- 2 scimitar.
His turn would be
ATTACK ACTION
- Attack: swings scimitar A (Light, Nick) with his right hand, then sheathes it.
- Nick Attack: draws scimitar B (Light, Nick) then swings it with his right hand.
- Extra Attack: swing the scimitar B (Light, Nick) with his right hand.
BONUS ACTION (from Dual Wielder) :
- Swing the scimitar B (Light, Nick) with his right hand.
And then do the same in the next round but inverting the scimitars.
In case he needs the Bonus Action free for a potion
His turn would instead be
ATTACK ACTION
- Attack: swings scimitar A (Light, Nick) with his right hand, then sheathes it.
- Nick Attack: draws scimitar B (Light, Nick) then swings it with his right hand.
- Extra Attack: swing the scimitar B (Light, Nick) with his right hand.
And then do the same in the next round but inverting the scimitars.
This should work just fine, the only issue is that you never have any chance to use any other weapon property except Nick which is a bit boring.
Doesn't the dual in dual wielding means "2 weapons", more then "2 hands"? After all they call it "two weapons fighting style" not "two hands fighting style":D
I am being cheeky, I know I know ;)
but you could explain it with the light weapons being so light they allow to attack more often.
You can split semantic hairs, but the intent of TWF is to be an alternative to using your off hand for a shield or using a two-handed weapon. Unfortunately, the RAW of 2024 failed to make this an explicit restriction, but as stated almost no DM is going to humor this attempt to exploit RAW at the expense of RAI.
Thanks Plaguescarred, I understand :) It was a thought experiment after all.
Independently from the character, my original doubt remains however.. I wonder what is the community opinion on that:
It is not clear to me after reading the PHB multiple times, if
- dose the multiple drawing and sheatheing of the weapons allowed during the attack action constitutes the Free Object Interaction, meaning that after doing that you can not interact with anything else for free?
- is it something completing independent from the drawing/sheathing and that can be done separately?
It stands to reason that a character that does not attack in its turn should be able to draw a weapon as its free object interaction, meaning that the free object interaction does also includes sheatheing/drawing a weapon.
However it also stands to reason that after you sheathed and drawn weapon constantly for the whole attack round that might have exhausted the "1 free object interaction" as intended.
- is the Free Object Interaction not applicable to drawing sheatheing weapons as is that something relegated to the attack action and the attack action only?
dose the multiple drawing and sheatheing of the weapons allowed during the attack action constitutes the Free Object Interaction, meaning that after doing that you can not interact with anything else for free?
The interactions of the Attack action do not "consume" the one free object interaction.
However, Bonus Action attacks attacks don't get the draw-or-stow-one interaction, so you generally need to use the one-free-object-interaction do draw/stow there.
is the Free Object Interaction not applicable to drawing sheatheing weapons as is that something relegated to the attack action and the attack action only?
Yeah, it can be used to sheath something. Or pick something up off the ground, etc. (And worth noting, "drop weapon" is not a free action; it counts as stowing.)
In your example, you're Equiping or Unequipping weapons using your Bonus Action. That's not right RAW, as kenclary said.
Equipping and Unequipping weapons can be done as part of the Attack action, in addition to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule.
Also, drawing Ammunition or a Thrown weapon isn't necessarily part of the Attack action, so for those cases, it can also happen when making an attack as a Bonus Action or a Reaction.
In your example, you're Equiping or Unequipping weapons using your Bonus Action. That's not right RAW, as kenclary said.
Equipping and Unequipping weapons can be done as part of the Attack action, in addition to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule.
Also, drawing Ammunition or a Thrown weapon isn't necessarily part of the Attack action, so for those cases, it can also happen when making an attack as a Bonus Action or a Reaction.
I'd also add that in this scenario you're better off using a dagger instead of a scimitar for Nick. That would decrease your damage die sure but it would make all of your attacks potentially thrown giving you a ranged option. If you don't mind throwing the dagger for the nick attack you can draw the second handaxe as part of the nick attack freeing up your object interaction. You just need to have a lot of daggers.
Hi all.
So I have this paladin character in mind with
- Dual Wielder
- Two Weapons Fighting
He has a shield on his left arm and ever only attacks with his right arm.
He has 1 extra attack from his class (Paladin), so 2 attacks in a single attack action.
My understanding of the rules is correct he should be able to do this:
This should work.. with the major drawback that if you ever would need to drink a healing potion (1 bonus action) you would find yourself wielding a scimitar at the beginning of round 2 breaking the cycle.
So in that case where you need a bonus action I was wondering if it would be possible to use the 1 free object interaction to draw handaxe A again.
Like this
It is not clear to me after reading the PHB multiple times, if
- dose the multiple drawing and sheatheing of the weapons allowed during the attack action constitutes the Free Object Interaction, meaning that after doing that you can not interact with anything else for free?
- is it something completing independent from the drawing/sheatheing and that can be done separately?
- is the Free Object Interaction not applicable to drawing sheatheing weapons as is that something relegated to the attack action and the attack action only?
It stands to reason that a character that does not attack in its turn should be able to draw a weapon as its free object interaction, meaning that the free object interaction does also includes sheatheing/drawing a weapon.
However it also stands to reason that after you sheathed and drawn weapon constantly for the whole attack round that might have exhausted the "1 free object interaction" as intended.
What do you folks think?
In case of the worst scenario I thought of an alternative with 1 shield and 2 scimitars.
This should work just fine, the only issue is that you never have any chance to use any other weapon property except Nick which is a bit boring.
So if the first scenario is doable I'd prefer.
It might be technically RAW, but if I were DM, I’d rule you can’t dual wield with one hand. Dual is right in the name.
Doesn't the dual in dual wielding means "2 weapons", more then "2 hands"? After all they call it "two weapons fighting style" not "two hands fighting style":D
I am being cheeky, I know I know ;)
but you could explain it with the light weapons being so light they allow to attack more often.
You can split semantic hairs, but the intent of TWF is to be an alternative to using your off hand for a shield or using a two-handed weapon. Unfortunately, the RAW of 2024 failed to make this an explicit restriction, but as stated almost no DM is going to humor this attempt to exploit RAW at the expense of RAI.
This seems all conform to rules as written, but in practice YMMV as it will depend highly on DMs application of it all.
Thanks Plaguescarred, I understand :) It was a thought experiment after all.
Independently from the character, my original doubt remains however.. I wonder what is the community opinion on that:
The interactions of the Attack action do not "consume" the one free object interaction.
However, Bonus Action attacks attacks don't get the draw-or-stow-one interaction, so you generally need to use the one-free-object-interaction do draw/stow there.
Yeah, it can be used to sheath something. Or pick something up off the ground, etc. (And worth noting, "drop weapon" is not a free action; it counts as stowing.)
In your example, you're Equiping or Unequipping weapons using your Bonus Action. That's not right RAW, as kenclary said.
Equipping and Unequipping weapons can be done as part of the Attack action, in addition to the Time-Limited Object Interactions rule.
Also, drawing Ammunition or a Thrown weapon isn't necessarily part of the Attack action, so for those cases, it can also happen when making an attack as a Bonus Action or a Reaction.
Thanks @TarodNet and @Kenclary
Yeah you are 100% right, in example one, with the 2 Axes and 1 scimitar.. That is a problem true.
As @Kenclary said, for that example you are forced to use the free object interaction at every round then I think.
In Example 2 (with the 2 scimitars) there is no drawing or sheathing in the bonus action though, that seems valid. :)
You can draw a Handaxe as part of a Bonus Action if you're throwing it.
I'd also add that in this scenario you're better off using a dagger instead of a scimitar for Nick. That would decrease your damage die sure but it would make all of your attacks potentially thrown giving you a ranged option. If you don't mind throwing the dagger for the nick attack you can draw the second handaxe as part of the nick attack freeing up your object interaction. You just need to have a lot of daggers.
In regards to my previous post the sequence would look like this.
Take the attack action to draw handaxe A and attack
Extra attack of the attack action with handaxe A and stow handaxe A
With the nick attack in the attack action draw the dagger via thrown property and throw it, then draw handaxe B via the attack action.
Bonus action attack with handaxe B.
This sets you up with a handaxe in your hand even if you have to use your bonus action for something else. Just grab multiple daggers and handaxe.