To paraphrase: the spell Dragon's Breath allows you to cast it on another creature. While the spell lasts, that creature can use a Magic action to exhale a cone that does damage. If creatures hit by the cone succeed on a DEX saving throw, they take half damage, and full damage on failure.
Now, here's the question: How is the DC for the saving throw calculated?
Is it based on the ability scores of the character that cast Dragon's Breath (i.e. Charisma if cast by a Sorcerer)? Or is the DC calculated based on the ability scores of the creature that exhaled the cone (the original target of the Dragon's Breath spell)? And, if it's based on the ability scores of the creature that exhales the cone, what ability score is used??
Here's an example: Let's say I'm a Sorlock with Dragon's Breath taken as a sorcerer, and Pact of the Chain taken as a Warlock. I cast Find Familiar to get an Imp familiar, and then cast Dragon's Breath on the Imp. How is the DC for the cone created by Dragon's Breath calculated when the Imp takes the Magic action to exhale the cone? Is it my Charisma? Is it the Imp's? Is it some other stat? How is the DC for the DEX saving throw calculated?
I think, because I'm the one who cast Dragon's Breath, that it uses my Charisma for the same reason that the Imp would use my spell attack modifier when delivering a touch spell I cast that requires an attack roll. My DM says, no. If the Imp used my save DC, then Investment of the Chain Master would lose one of its uses: namely to have the familiar use my save DC when it forces a save.
Of course, the DM gets to set the rules so, technically my DM is right. But, what's the answer according to the rules?
It's just the DC of the caster, like when you cast thru your familiar. The chain master saves are for the sleep/poison/etc. conditions the fancy familiars can give which would otherwise be cased on their low proficiency bonus.
To paraphrase: the spell Dragon's Breath allows you to cast it on another creature. While the spell lasts, that creature can use a Magic action to exhale a cone that does damage. If creatures hit by the cone succeed on a DEX saving throw, they take half damage, and full damage on failure.
Now, here's the question: How is the DC for the saving throw calculated?
Is it based on the ability scores of the character that cast Dragon's Breath (i.e. Charisma if cast by a Sorcerer)? Or is the DC calculated based on the ability scores of the creature that exhaled the cone (the original target of the Dragon's Breath spell)? And, if it's based on the ability scores of the creature that exhales the cone, what ability score is used??
Here's an example: Let's say I'm a Sorlock with Dragon's Breath taken as a sorcerer, and Pact of the Chain taken as a Warlock. I cast Find Familiar to get an Imp familiar, and then cast Dragon's Breath on the Imp. How is the DC for the cone created by Dragon's Breath calculated when the Imp takes the Magic action to exhale the cone? Is it my Charisma? Is it the Imp's? Is it some other stat? How is the DC for the DEX saving throw calculated?
I think, because I'm the one who cast Dragon's Breath, that it uses my Charisma for the same reason that the Imp would use my spell attack modifier when delivering a touch spell I cast that requires an attack roll. My DM says, no. If the Imp used my save DC, then Investment of the Chain Master would lose one of its uses: namely to have the familiar use my save DC when it forces a save.
Of course, the DM gets to set the rules so, technically my DM is right. But, what's the answer according to the rules?
Your DM is incorrect as to how the rules work in this case.
If a spell requires a saving throw, it uses the caster's spell save DC unless the spell explicitly says otherwise. This spell doesn't explicitly override that, so it uses your spell save DC, which (since you're a Sorcerer) is based on your Charisma modifier.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
pronouns: he/she/they
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
To paraphrase: the spell Dragon's Breath allows you to cast it on another creature. While the spell lasts, that creature can use a Magic action to exhale a cone that does damage. If creatures hit by the cone succeed on a DEX saving throw, they take half damage, and full damage on failure.
Now, here's the question:
How is the DC for the saving throw calculated?
Is it based on the ability scores of the character that cast Dragon's Breath (i.e. Charisma if cast by a Sorcerer)? Or is the DC calculated based on the ability scores of the creature that exhaled the cone (the original target of the Dragon's Breath spell)? And, if it's based on the ability scores of the creature that exhales the cone, what ability score is used??
Here's an example:
Let's say I'm a Sorlock with Dragon's Breath taken as a sorcerer, and Pact of the Chain taken as a Warlock. I cast Find Familiar to get an Imp familiar, and then cast Dragon's Breath on the Imp. How is the DC for the cone created by Dragon's Breath calculated when the Imp takes the Magic action to exhale the cone? Is it my Charisma? Is it the Imp's? Is it some other stat? How is the DC for the DEX saving throw calculated?
I think, because I'm the one who cast Dragon's Breath, that it uses my Charisma for the same reason that the Imp would use my spell attack modifier when delivering a touch spell I cast that requires an attack roll. My DM says, no. If the Imp used my save DC, then Investment of the Chain Master would lose one of its uses: namely to have the familiar use my save DC when it forces a save.
Of course, the DM gets to set the rules so, technically my DM is right. But, what's the answer according to the rules?
It's just the DC of the caster, like when you cast thru your familiar. The chain master saves are for the sleep/poison/etc. conditions the fancy familiars can give which would otherwise be cased on their low proficiency bonus.
Your DM is incorrect as to how the rules work in this case.
If a spell requires a saving throw, it uses the caster's spell save DC unless the spell explicitly says otherwise. This spell doesn't explicitly override that, so it uses your spell save DC, which (since you're a Sorcerer) is based on your Charisma modifier.
pronouns: he/she/they