Grasping Hand. The hand attempts to grapple a Huge or smaller creature within 5 feet of it. The target must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw, or the target has the Grappled condition, with an escape DC equal to your spell save DC. While the hand grapples the target, you can take a Bonus Action to cause the hand to crush it, dealing Bludgeoning damage to the target equal to 4d6 plus your spellcasting ability modifier.
But the Ring of Free Action says this:
While you wear this ring, Difficult Terrain doesn’t cost you extra movement. In addition, magic can neither reduce any of your Speeds nor cause you to have the Paralyzed or Restrained condition.
On the one hand, the Ring prevents the wearer's speed from being reduced, which the grappling condition does, but on the other hand, the Ring does not give immunity to the grappled condition, only to restrained and paralyzed.
So what happens if you get grappled by the spell with that ring on? You're grappled, and the ring doesn't let you change that. So do you just drag the hand along as you move?
Freedom of Movement gives an extra bonus:
You touch a willing creature. For the duration, the target’s movement is unaffected by Difficult Terrain, and spells and other magical effects can neither reduce the target’s Speed nor cause the target to have the Paralyzed or Restrained conditions. The target also has a Swim Speed equal to its Speed.
In addition, the target can spend 5 feet of movement to automatically escape from nonmagical restraints, such as manacles or a creature imposing the Grappled condition on it.
But even that bonus against the grappled condition only applies to nonmagical restraints...
So what happens if you get grappled by the spell with that ring on? You're grappled, and the ring doesn't let you change that. So do you just drag the hand along as you move?
That's probably how I'd rule it, both on the grounds of logic and on the grounds of that seems fun.
If your movement isn't reduced to zero, you can simply walk away from the grapple and break the grapple. The hand does not follow because it only moves on your turn (and it isn't 'dragged'). This is little different from how teleporting out of a grapple works.
If the Grappled creature's Speed isn't 0, upon moving when the distance between the Grappled target and the grappler exceeds the grapple’s range. the condition will end.
I think we must differentiate between "your speed is reduced by X" and "your speed is 0", and/or the ability only applies to direct reductions of speed, not to those from conditions. (But I don't know if the second is necessary nor sufficient, so I go with the first.)
"Your speed is 0" is the game-mechanical way of saying "you cannot move".
If it prevents the 0 speed from Grappled, it also prevents it from Petrified, Unconscious, and perhaps some number of bespoke conditions from monster abilities where that would completely not work.
In practice, with freedom of movement, you can clearly spend 5 move to escape from a normal grapple, and I'd just extend it to the hand and similar as well. With just the ring, you're stuck.
Bigby's Hand includes this ability:
But the Ring of Free Action says this:
On the one hand, the Ring prevents the wearer's speed from being reduced, which the grappling condition does, but on the other hand, the Ring does not give immunity to the grappled condition, only to restrained and paralyzed.
So what happens if you get grappled by the spell with that ring on? You're grappled, and the ring doesn't let you change that. So do you just drag the hand along as you move?
Freedom of Movement gives an extra bonus:
But even that bonus against the grappled condition only applies to nonmagical restraints...
That's probably how I'd rule it, both on the grounds of logic and on the grounds of that seems fun.
pronouns: he/she/they
If your movement isn't reduced to zero, you can simply walk away from the grapple and break the grapple. The hand does not follow because it only moves on your turn (and it isn't 'dragged'). This is little different from how teleporting out of a grapple works.
That would be the equivalent of giving you what Freedom of Movement does. Which it doesn't. If it was meant to neutralize grappling, it would say so.
If the Grappled creature's Speed isn't 0, upon moving when the distance between the Grappled target and the grappler exceeds the grapple’s range. the condition will end.
I think we must differentiate between "your speed is reduced by X" and "your speed is 0", and/or the ability only applies to direct reductions of speed, not to those from conditions. (But I don't know if the second is necessary nor sufficient, so I go with the first.)
"Your speed is 0" is the game-mechanical way of saying "you cannot move".
If it prevents the 0 speed from Grappled, it also prevents it from Petrified, Unconscious, and perhaps some number of bespoke conditions from monster abilities where that would completely not work.
In practice, with freedom of movement, you can clearly spend 5 move to escape from a normal grapple, and I'd just extend it to the hand and similar as well. With just the ring, you're stuck.