So I have a question. I am playing a Tabaxi Horizon Walker Ranger and I would like to know if using Feline Agility and then not using any movement but still moving using spell or by using Distant Strike would reset it or would you not have to move at all.
I wasn't able to find an official ruling on it, but I would say no. I don't think that teleportation via misty step type spells would count as movement as defined in PHB 181-182.
If its a teleport, you should be good unless your GM rules that a teleport based spell exerts a body as much as if you travelled that distance. (and if it was actually teleport that could kill you so your safe) I'm a little less certain you could recharge if your rest turn was interrupted by involuntary movement or if you were grappled. (in the grapple case i would assume you are resisting and not going limp as a wet noodle but that's an interpretation, by RAW you could be knocked unconscious on your rest round and if healed wake up 'refreshed' by the trauma, that doesn't seem right.)
At my table, I'd say no since it feels like 0 movement for one round is the price you pay in exchange for the burst of feline agility. Getting around it through a loophole doesn't satisfy me.
That being said, I'm no voice of authority and anyone who feels the opposite is just as entitled to their own opinion.
My interpretation would be that as long as you don’t use any of your movement you would be fine. If the “movement” came from a spell or an ability that doesn’t use your movement speed or if someone was to carry or push you then you would be fine. If something forces you to use your movement then you wouldn’t have used zero movement so it wouldn’t reset. I tend to take the literal approach when DMing.
Personally, I would interpret it the following way.
In a turn your character gets the following things they can do.
Action
Bonus Action
Move
Options for both Action and Bonus Action include Dash which is defined as moving.
However, Misty Step is a cast a spell action that just happens to change the location of the character so I'd allow it as long as the character did not actually spend any of their actions to physically move from one location to another.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I have a question. I am playing a Tabaxi Horizon Walker Ranger and I would like to know if using Feline Agility and then not using any movement but still moving using spell or by using Distant Strike would reset it or would you not have to move at all.
I wasn't able to find an official ruling on it, but I would say no. I don't think that teleportation via misty step type spells would count as movement as defined in PHB 181-182.
If its a teleport, you should be good unless your GM rules that a teleport based spell exerts a body as much as if you travelled that distance. (and if it was actually teleport that could kill you so your safe) I'm a little less certain you could recharge if your rest turn was interrupted by involuntary movement or if you were grappled. (in the grapple case i would assume you are resisting and not going limp as a wet noodle but that's an interpretation, by RAW you could be knocked unconscious on your rest round and if healed wake up 'refreshed' by the trauma, that doesn't seem right.)
At my table, I'd say no since it feels like 0 movement for one round is the price you pay in exchange for the burst of feline agility. Getting around it through a loophole doesn't satisfy me.
That being said, I'm no voice of authority and anyone who feels the opposite is just as entitled to their own opinion.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
My interpretation would be that as long as you don’t use any of your movement you would be fine. If the “movement” came from a spell or an ability that doesn’t use your movement speed or if someone was to carry or push you then you would be fine. If something forces you to use your movement then you wouldn’t have used zero movement so it wouldn’t reset. I tend to take the literal approach when DMing.
Personally, I would interpret it the following way.
In a turn your character gets the following things they can do.
Action
Bonus Action
Move
Options for both Action and Bonus Action include Dash which is defined as moving.
However, Misty Step is a cast a spell action that just happens to change the location of the character so I'd allow it as long as the character did not actually spend any of their actions to physically move from one location to another.